Curse of the Kat – ch 76

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 76 – The cat is crazy

Ugh…
I hear noises similar to voices.
My vision is completely blurred.
My entire body is in pain.

I’ve really done it now, haven’t I?
I thought I was smart, compensating the mana loss by getting it back from my sword…
But who would have thought something like this would happen…?

Well, the good news is, I’m in great pain.
Which must mean that I’m still alive.
Amazing.

And also nonsensical.
My senses are so messed up, I can’t even tell whether I’m sitting, lying down or being carried!
So…
How am I still conscious?!
Ugh…
Why does this always happen…?
Every time I try a new cat soul variant, I end up regretting it.
Sure, they were originally curses, but come on!
The drawbacks keep getting worse!
I wouldn’t be surprised if the next one just outright killed me and sent me straight to hell!

Alright, calm down.
I’m getting used to the pain.
Is there something I can do?
What about looking at my status…?
… uhm, nope.
Can’t even read any of that.
What the hell?
I thought status is something in my mind.
Why does my actual eyesight matter…?
Ugh…
I guess my mind is in chaos as well.
But really.
What should I do?
How long am I gonna be left in this state?
Out there, they will have to duel with the pirate king!
And if he has the copy ability, that means he can use his goon’s teleport, and might be able to copy Mable’s destructive skills as well!
That sounds like a disaster…

But…
Then there’s me.
What would happen if he copied my skills?
Would he get the nine lives…?
That sounds like a bad idea.
Well, I still don’t know what it does…
But no villain should have access to immortality or a way to revive themselves.
That just spells trouble.
Argh…
But thinking about all of this is pointless since I’m in this state!
When is this gonna end?!

 

 

I think I’m going crazy.
Ain’t that right, Nina?

Indeed, Nina.
I’ve lost sense of time.
It could have been an hour, or it might have been years.
There’s no way to tell.

Hmm.
Well, at least you have someone to talk to.

Right.
But you are still me, aren’t you…?
In other words, it doesn’t help at all!
I’m stuck in limbo and the only one I can talk to is you!

Hey, calm down!
I’m stuck here with you as well, you know?!

Sorry…
I’m just getting impatient.

Ugh…
What should we do?

Hmm…
Oh, oh, I have an idea!
Since we are in this weird spiritual state, maybe it allows us to talk to Kat?

… that came out of nowhere.
I mean, what makes you think that?

Well, you know the cliches, right?
This kind of state is what allows the protagonist to talk to ghosts and spirits and whatnot.

Are you saying Kat is a ghost?
Well, he’s equally annoying and mysterious, so…

Eh, sure.
So, how do we go about doing that?

I dunno…
Something like focus and try to call out to him?

That’s really vague, but I guess we can try.

Kaaaaat!
Are you here, you prick?!

Nothing.
Let’s try to put more oomph into it.
KAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

Hmm, I guess that was just wishful think-

“… you called?”


O-oh…?
It connected!

Wait, it connected?!
Is that really Kat?!

“It’s me alright… do you need something?”

Hey, he’s being weirdly cautious compared to when I last heard him.
Is it really Kat?

“… hahaha, what are you talking about, honey? I’m still the same cheery Kat we all know and love!”

Oh, there we go…
Anyway!
I’ve got a ton of questions for you!

“My, how adorable! My little girl came to mama to ask questions!”

You shut your-!
Huh?
Mama?

“Hmm? Something wrong?”

… hah!
You just called yourself mama, idiot!

“And what about it…? Oh, I get it! You thought I’m male, didn’t you?”

What?!
You aren’t?!

“Ah, I guess I never showed you my appearance, did I? Well, let me remedy that!”

Huh?!
The blue box with text dropped down to the floor and transformed into… a human?
No…
It’s a woman, but she has cat ears.
And two tails.
One of them searing with darkness darker than the black void around me while the other shines brighter than the sun.
Her eyes are similar, one of them white and one of them black.
I can’t tell whether her hair is pitch black or pure white, and the aura she gives off is equally ambiguous.

“Hello-“

Punch in the face.
But my fist phased through it.

“Oh, such violent love you have for me!”

What?!
No way!
I finally met the source of all my suffering and I can’t even get a single punch in?
Dammit!
This is not fair!

“Settle down my love! Let’s have a nice heartwarming family chat!”

I don’t remember ever becoming your family, evil god!
And don’t just comfortably sit on this void as if it was nothing!

“Ah, so cruel… to call me, your loving caretaker, evil…”

Your fake crying won’t convince anyone!

“Haha, that’s where you’re wrong, my dear! Nix falls for it all the time, you know!”

Well then he’s an idi-

Wait, what?
Nix…?

“Yep, Nix. Something wrong? I thought you know the other two gods already.”

I know them, but…!
Aren’t you supposed to be an evil god in opposition to those two?!

“Oh, that’s right… you were lead to believe that, weren’t you? Well, it couldn’t be more wrong, hahaha!”

Don’t just laugh it off!

“Of course us three are best friends! Don’t let yourself be fooled by fake news, silly!”

“Hmm, but you aren’t completely wrong if you say I’m an evil god.”

What… do you mean…?

“I’m the god of balance! In other words, I’m both good and evil!”


That’s cheap.

“Hahaha.”

Enough of this!
Answer my questions now!

“Ah, what an aggressive tone… are you in your rebellious phase?”


First, what’s up with the ‘chosen one’ business?
Do the two other gods have people just like me?

“Oh, for sure! Those two other girls are exactly like you! Same name, same appearance, same voice, same personality and even the same flat chest and dirty mouth!”

You!
That’s not what I…!
Ugh…
Second…
What’s your goal in all of this?
Why are there other reincarnators and why was I ‘chosen’?

“For fun!”

Don’t give me that nonsense!
What ridiculous reason is that?!

“Nonono! Fun is serious business! Don’t make fun of fun!”

“That is your real mission in this world! Have fun! I’m serious!”


I’ll figure out what it really is.
Just you wait.

“Oooh, you don’t know what having fun really is? Poor you, I didn’t realize-“

Stop twisting my words…!

Third question…
Why did you give me the ability to absorb curses…?
And what does nine lives do?

“Hmm… you’re wrong. I didn’t give you any skills.”

What…?

“I only gave you that cute outfit and my blessing! You developed those skills on your own!”


Stop spouting bullshit already!
I don’t remember making myself such disturbing abilities!

“Hahaha, your true nature shows in these skills!”

You were the one who made them!

“Nonono, I’m telling you, I didn’t! You took the blessing and made those skills out of it!”


Then, it’s just the blessing, isn’t it?!
You’re still the one at fault!

“No way! You are the only one who got these skills after receiving my blessing!”

Don’t give me that!
You are just trying to make me feel special!

“But I mean it, you know? It’s the reason why you were… er, chosen, you see?”


I’m not buying it.
What’s so special about me?

And what’s with the mouth zipping motion?

“Classified information! Hehe… Well, you might figure out when you meet the others. So, good luck!”

You little…

“You’re the little one here, though?”

Shut up!

“Weeell, anyways. I need to get going already. I’m quite busy, you see?”

What?!
Get back here!
I’m not done with you yet!

“Sorry, but I really am busy! Bye bye!”

You…!

Her image just blurred out and gradually disappeared.
I’m left alone in this void again.
Argh…
Damn it all!


Previous    Table of contents    Next

2 thoughts on “Curse of the Kat – ch 76

Leave a comment