Curse of the Kat – ch 1

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 1 – The cat is reborn

Congratulations! You won a new life!

Oh, cool!

… as if!
What is this?!
Where am I?!
Wasn’t I in the hospital before I fell asleep?
I know hospitals tend to be white, but this is too much whiteness!
More like, there’s only whiteness!

Congratulations! You won a new life!

And also this ad-like blue box with a text.
What’s up with this?
I hate adds!
Where is the X button?!

Congratulations! You won a new life!

Shut up!

 

Ugh.
Fine…
I think I get it now.
Since this box says ‘new life’, it means the old one has ended, right?
I mean, the doctor DID say my condition was worsening, but he also said…

‘Don’t worry miss, everything will be alright… I promise you will get better.’

Now, if that isn’t a death flag, then I don’t know what is.

I’m oddly calm about this, aren’t I?
I guess being in a hospital for so long, I more or less already expected to die.
Oh well…
Still though, where am I?
Weren’t you supposed to go to heaven or hell after death?
Why am I in a white void with nothing but this message box looming over me?

Congratulations! You won a new life!

Sigh.
What new life?

Please customize your new life.

Oh…?
The box extended.
There’s a bunch of options now.
I can pick gender, height, hair color…
And there’s another tab for ‘world’?!
I can customize what kind of world to live in as well?
Whoa, that’s amazing!
It’s like a highly customizable RPG!
So many options…
Can’t I just make myself the world’s ruler with this?
Not that I would enjoy that…

Well, let’s see then.
A peaceful world would be good…
Oh, wow…
Not only can I get a world with magic and skills, but I can even specify how it all works?!
This goes way beyond any customizable game!
Dang, I’m really getting into this!
With this much, a completely peaceful world would just be boring!
Let there be dungeons and epic monsters to fight!

 

Yep, that took a while.
For some reason, I started with the world.
And it took me… a long time to finish it.
I don’t even know how long since I don’t have a watch…

Well, it’s not like anyone’s rushing me.
But even without a physical body, it’s exhausting!
I still have to do my actual character…
Is this going to take that long too?
Ugh…

Hm?
Oh, there’s a randomize button?
How did I not notice that before?
Cool.
Let’s just randomize and then go from there.
I wonder what I’ll get.

Click.

Now transferring to your new life, please wait…


Hmm?
Wait, what?!
I didn’t customize my character yet, though?!
Did it double as a confirmation?!

Don’t worry, I’ll pick out something nice for you, heheh…

Wha-
It’s sentient?!
You!
Who the hell are you?!

Well… I’m something like a god, I guess? You can call me Kat. Nice to meet you.

God…?
… then explain what’s going on!
Why am I in this void?
Is this ‘new life’ for real?
If yes, why can’t I customize my character?!

Slow down there. Too many questions.

Grr…

Well then, first, yes, you have succumbed to your illness and died.

So it’s true…

Second, you were about to be sent to hell, but I intervened and gave you a chance to reincarnate in another world.

What’s with this cliché development?
And wait!
Sent to hell?!
Why?!
What did I do?!

Calm down now. I wasn’t the one in charge of that. Frankly, even I don’t know what you did.

Not in charge…
So there are multiple gods, huh?

Now, then. We are almost there.

Huh?
Wait!
I’m not done questioning you!
What’s your goal in all of this!
And you still didn’t tell me why that randomize button was broken!

Silly you! I don’t have any ulterior motives! I just want you to have fun! Now, good luck in your new life! And don’t forget to check your status when you land!

Hey!!!
Come back here!

 

 

I’m in a forest.
That jerk just sent me out without finishing his explanation!

Well, nothing I can do about it now.
So, what did the randomize turn me into?

I seem to be younger again.
And I’m wearing some peculiar clothes…
A black dress with a cat tail attached to it.
Two arm-length black gloves that resemble cat paws.
And even cat ear headband on my head.
What the heck?
A cat costume?
Are you serious?
What kind of pervert is that god?

Let’s look at the status as he said.
But how do I-
Oh, here we go.

Name: Nina
Level: 1
Strength: 20/20
Endurance: 20/20
Speed: 25/25
Magic: 15/15

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat gloves
Kat slippers

Skills:
Cat soul
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Huh…
It feels like something is missing.
Right, where’s HP?
And why are all of the stats x/x?
That’s not how I customized it!
Did that ‘god’ Kat change it?
Tch…
So I didn’t get to customize anything, after all…
I knew it seemed too good to be true…

Well, how does this work then?
Maybe endurance or strength doubles as HP?
As in, if I drop to 0, I die?
Hmm, that must be it…
But what about speed and magic?
Will dropping to 0 with those kill me as well?
Well, let’s avoid testing that for now…

Equipment…
Haha, yeah, very funny.
Sigh…
Anyway, since it’s named after that god, they ought to be some amazing equipment, right?
Can I examine them somehow?
Hmm…
Ah, there we go.

Kat underwear
A set of underwear blessed by the Kat. It automatically removes any dirt and filth on the wearer and changes size to fit the wearer. Also increases stat recovery rate by 300%.

Huh…
‘Never take me off’ is what this is telling me.
Are you serious?
Does that mean I don’t need to ever do the laundry?
Will I become lazy because of this?
Also, I’m not sure what exactly ‘stat recovery’ is, but three hundred percent boost seems like a lot…

Kat dress
A dress blessed by the Kat. Grants the wearer protection from physical and magical attacks as well as extreme cold and extreme heat. It also boosts the wearer’s maximum endurance by 300%.

So this dress is a piece of armor?
No way…
Is this like one of these ripoff mmo games…?
Revealing more skin = more defense because fan service?
Well, this one isn’t THAT revealing, so it might be okay…
But it does have that tail attached to it, so it’s kind of…
Never mind.

Kat ear headband
A headband blessed by the Kat. Enhances wearer’s senses, such as eyesight and hearing. In addition, the wearer becomes immune to charm effects. It also boosts the wearer’s maximum magic by 300%.

This thing is by far the most embarrassing piece to wear.
But the benefits are so good…
Not just the enhanced senses.
Being immune to charm might save my life one day.
Ughhh…
I don’t want to wear it, but it keeps me safer…

Kat gloves
A pair of full arm length cat gloves blessed by the Kat. Allows the wearer to hold their grip on any surface. Includes retractable poison-secreting claws. It also boosts the wearer’s maximum strength by 300%.

That’s less of a cat and more of a spider.
Isn’t this a top tier assassination tool?
Just hang on the ceiling and wait for your target to walk near…
And then slash with the poison claws…
Err, forget it.
I’m not gonna become an assassin.

Kat slippers
A pair of cat slippers blessed by the Kat. Enhances the flexibility of the wearer and allows them to jump in mid-air. It also boosts the wearer’s maximum speed by 300%.

Whoa, double jump?!
I can already see myself soaring in the sky with this.
Is this really supposed to be cat-themed?
Well, whatever…

Now, what about those two skills…
Cat soul and 9 lives.

Cat soul
Temporarily turns you into a wild animal. You gain bonus agility for the duration.

Huh…
How simple… compared to the equipment.
It’s basically a battle mode, right?
Though, I worry about the ‘turns you into a wild animal’ part…

9 lives
Upon death, you will be granted new life again. This can happen up to 8 times. It’s possible to replenish your lives by sacrificing another living being. This living being has to be emotionally close to you for this to work.
Lives left: 8

W-wait a second here!
This suddenly got really dark!
Sacrificing someone close to me?!
I don’t want to do that!
Absolutely not!

That’s right!
In the first place, I don’t plan on dying!
If I never die, I won’t have to worry about this!

This last thing.

Blessing of the Kat
Allows the user to wear equipment blessed by the Kat. The user is also sometimes able to communicate with the Kat at designated locations. Lastly, all feline creatures will become friendly.

Hmm…
Does that mean only I can wear all of this?
Well, having it stolen would still be a problem, but at least I won’t be attacked by the thief using these.
And…
What are these so called ‘designated locations’?
Churches, I guess?
He DID say he is a god, after all.
That must be it.
Oh and, the thing about felines being friendly should be handy too.
Can I befriend a lion or something?
That would be cool…

Hmm…
Well, that’s everything.
Now, where do I go from here?

 


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment