Curse of the Kat – ch G1

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter G1 – Thou shall not panic

The ethereal ground beneath me shakes as I stomp forward.
Even though sweating shouldn’t be necessary for gods, I feel my face getting drenched.
Was everything he said true?
I can’t believe it.

I make my way to the observation station.
A dome shaped crystal-like structure with a small pond in the middle.
There’s already someone there, lying next to the pond and staring into it, while waving her two contrasting tails around.

“KAT!”
I shout at the carefree woman, and she lazily looks up at me.

“Oh, Torta. What’s up? Is it my turn already?”

“No, Nix just took over. But more importantly! He told me some disturbing things!”

“Disturbing things…? You mean, about my piece?”

“So, it’s all true?!”
I can’t stop myself from yelling.

“Calm down now… what did he even tell you?”

“Your piece tore through the fabric of the world with sheer force…!”

“Oh that, don’t worry. I fixed it immediately. I don’t think anyone even noticed it.”
She waved her hand as if talking about fixing a minor roof leak.

“That’s not the point, you idiot! If she can break through the fabric of the world, then that’s a serious issue!”
Fuming, I stare down at Kat.

“… It’s fine, I said. She needed a whole month’s worth of time to gather enough power to make only a tiny dent into the fabric. She won’t-”

“ONLY A MONTH?!”

This idiot really doesn’t know what this implies.
Given a few years or so, even WE could be in danger!

“I already reinforced the world’s structure a bit and created a function to repair itself when a similar crack appears. Stop worrying so much…”
She said with a sigh.
As if I was blowing this out of proportion.
Is she insane?
If I recall correctly, her piece managed to create something which has ‘god-slayer’ in its name.
If she somehow manages to break into our divine realm, we would no longer be safe!

“Trust me… I have this under control.”
A serious expression…?
How very unlike you, Kat…

But I guess you ARE the most powerful one of us.
I guess, I’ll trust you for now.

“Fine. I’ll leave it to you.”

“Good.”
And there comes the deceptive smile.
Anyway…
That wasn’t the only disturbing thing I heard from Nix.

“Another thing. I heard your piece temporarily split.”

“Oh… yeah, she did…”
Kat furrows her brows for a second before continuing.

“But it happened while she was unconscious and only her soul split. It looked quite bizarre to be honest…”

“Looked…? You looked into her soul?”

“Ehh… she somehow managed to call out here in the divine realm, so I responded.”
WHA-
Did I just hear right?
Her piece managed to send a message to the divine realm?!

No, why am I getting surprised?
Mine does it almost on daily basis.

“Eh, there were six of them at the end, but when her body woke up, they all fused seamlessly again.”
Six of them…
That would have been a serious problem if they hadn’t fused again.
But still…
This is very concerning…

“Kat… I’ll be honest. This whole thing sounded like a decent plan at first, but I don’t like it anymore. It’s becoming more and more dangerous.”

“Hmm… I get what you’re saying… but do you have any other ideas?”
I don’t.
This has always been a last ditch effort.
But I still don’t like it.

“… guess not. Look, Torta. I know you hate uncertainty, and that this plan is riddled with it. But one thing that IS certain, is that if we don’t do anything, we won’t last.”

Dammit…
I hate to agree with her…

“Then at least tell me, why are you antagonizing your piece so much, Kat?”
She always makes fun of her and leaves her hanging.
And I never understood why.

“Antagonizing…? Well, I guess I am… but that’s not the point.”

“The… point…?”
What is she talking about?

“You see… the pieces feel natural hatred towards us.”
Yeah, I know that already.
Even if my piece acts all respectful, I can feel her animosity.

“So I decided to make her hate me for real, while also making her love me!”
W…
Huh?
What is…

What are you talking about, you dumb furry?!

“I studied humans quite a bit! And there’s this thing called love-hate relationship. It’s when you hate someone enough to want to punch them on your first meeting, but at the same time, you love them so much that you can’t ever imagine losing them!”

“What in the void realm are you talking about?!”

“I made her want to beat me up, while at the same time not wanting me to die! It’s the perfect safety measure!”

“… you’re still gonna get beaten up if it comes to that.”

“Ahahaha… better than being killed…?”
I don’t understand this woman.
How can such an idiot be a powerful deity?
I thought humans are dumb, but this one is just…

“Anyway! Looks like my piece finally woke up again! Time to continue watching!”

Have you evolved from a human, perhaps?
You look very much like a lazy human watching that ‘teevee’ thing.

“Ah…”
Suddenly, Kat froze with her mouth agape.

“Hmm? What’s wrong?”

“S-she just… ate my blessing…”

What?


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment