Curse of the Kat – ch 2

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 2 – The cat fights wolves

While walking through the forest, I took a closer look at my equipment.
Honestly, it’s quite embarrassing to wear this.
But the effects are really strong…
And anyway, I don’t really have anything else to wear.

Choice:
> a) Wear the cat costume
    b) Go naked

There might as well not be any choice.
I will keep this on at least until I can get other clothes.

Now…
As for the effects…
First of all, the double jump.
It works, but it’s hard to control.
I flung myself into a tree.
Dangerous.
I’ll note this down as one of the things I have to practice later.

Next, the gloves.
The spider climbing ability is really strange.
Climbing up a tree doesn’t even feel like climbing.
It defies gravity.
This is incredible…

But as I say that, I’m up on a tree now.
Cats don’t know how to climb down trees, right?
Well, even if I look like this, I’m not a cat!

I easily jumped down.
And landed on all fours.

Or maybe I am…

Anyway…
The gloves also have the retractable claws.
And these are even stranger than the climbing ability.
The thing is, I have no idea where these claws come from.
After all, my fingers are inside the gloves, they should be poked when I retract the claws.
But they aren’t.
The claws just disappear.
How does it work?
Magic?

Well, lastly, there’s the fake cat ears and tail.
And even though they were supposed to be fake…
They move in reaction to my mood.
That’s right!
I can move them at will!
Well, it’s not that simple, actually.
It’s like learning how to walk all over again.
Something like that.
Most of the time, I end up slapping my butt with the tail.
Another ‘learn how to use later’ candidate.


Hmm…?
Hmmmm…?
What is it that I smell?
Is that a wild animal?

Wait, smell?
How can I-
Oh, is that the effect of these ears?
It did say ‘enhanced senses’, didn’t it?
But still, it’s ears.
You would expect them to only improve hearing…
Never mind.
There’s a wild beast…
No, four of them.
They are closing in on me.

… what do I do?
Even with all of this overpowered gear I have…
I… I can’t fight an animal, right?!
I’ve never gotten into a fight!
And I spent the last days of my previous life in a bed!
There’s no way I know anything about fending off wild beasts!

Unless…

Cat soul
Temporarily turns you into a wild animal. You gain bonus to agility for the duration.

That’s it!
I can temporarily turn into ‘one of them’!
If that’s the case, then I shouldn’t have any problems right…?
Wrong!
Why would I willingly turn myself into a wild animal?!
I’m not just gonna throw away my humanity on a whim!

Choice:
> a) Turn into a beast (temporarily)
    b) Fight beasts as a human (and probably die)


Maybe I’ll try it after all.
Dying right after being granted new life would suck.
Turning into a beast is fine!
I will deal with the consequences later!

Err…
So, how do I activate this ‘cat soul’?
Oh crap!
They are almost here!
Nnngh!
“C-cat soul! Activate!”
Nothing?!
How do I-?!

They are here.
Four wolves.
I’m encircled.

W-what now?
They look really scary!
I was never a fan of dogs, but these are wolves!
That’s even worse!

Gyah, they are jumping at me!
Go away!
Go away!

While my arms flailed around, the claws on my gloves extended and slashed the wolf’s face.
It fell to the ground with a whimper.
A lot of blood flowed out of its face.
Huh…
Then, another one jumped at me from my right side.
I let out a weird shriek while closing my eyes and doing a sweeping motion with my arm in his direction.
The same scene from before repeated.

H-hey…
It’s surprisingly… not a big deal?

Two more wolf lunges.
Two more slashes.
After a moment, the four bodies jolting on the ground all stopped moving.

Why are these wolves so slow and weak?
I was scared to death for nothing.
Or…
I guess it’s this costume?
Even if it’s embarrassing, it’s still strong.
Yep, that must be it.
Thank you ‘Kat’.

Now then…
I didn’t need to turn into a beast and I didn’t die!
The perfect conclusion.
A happy end.

But, what do I do with these wolf corpses?
There’s blood all around and it stinks terribly.
Something like this ought to attract other beasts, right?
What do I do in this situation?

Choice:
> a) Strip their fur, cook their meat, bury the remains
    b) Walk away

Who am I?
A poacher?
A butcher?
I don’t know how to process wolves!
I’ll just leave this place before any others come here.
Yep, that’s the safest option.

And so, I walked away.
But of course, fate wouldn’t let me go off that easily.
A few minutes after I left the crime scene, my nose picked up more presences.
This time, there are also some… people?
Three people and six wolves.
Are they in a fight?

I picked up my pace and soon arrived.
One guy wielding a sword and a shield.
Two girls wielding staves.
Are they adventurers or something like that?
Well, there should be adventurers in this world.
Unless that god changed my settings, that is.

But, aren’t they kind of weak?
The wolves are totally overwhelming them.

“Grh! I won’t let you through!”

“Gyah! Get away from me!”

Choice:
> a) Help the party
    b) Help the wolves
    c) Ignore this, it has nothing to do with me
    d) Watch while eating popcorn

Well, sadly, I don’t have any popcorn.
And since I hate wolves, I wouldn’t be on their side.
Ignoring is also not an option.
It’s the first people I met in this world.
I don’t want to sleep in the forest, so I’ll ask them for directions.

Jump.
Slash.
One down.
It seems that neither the wolves nor the adventurers noticed me up until I downed the wolf.
When I did, shocked gazes fixated on me.
But I didn’t mind it and jumped at the next wolf.
But seriously…
Just… what happened to me?
Slash.
I was just a regular modern day girl.
Why am I alright with clawing wild wolves to death?
Slash.
Even with all the blood gushing out, I’m not even that grossed out.
Slash.
It’s the opposite.
It’s almost like… I’m enjoying it.
Slash.
Hmm…?
The last one is trying to run away?
Well, I’m not letting you!
Slash.

A job well done.
Err…
The heck did I just do?
Did I seriously just massacre a pack of wolves?
I’m covered in blood now…
It stinks.

“U-um…”

The guy with a sword raised his voice.
He still held his sword in front of him, seeming wary of me.
That’s no good.
I saved you.
You should thank me, right?

“Hello. My name is Nina.”

A subtle smile and a wave of my hand.
The perfect greeting.

“H-hello…?”

And yet, the guy still didn’t let his guard down.
Or rather, he seemed a little dumbfounded?
One of the girls hit him with her shoulder and woke him up before speaking.

“Nice to meet you miss Nina. I’m Betty, this guy is Jun and she is Lisa. Thank you for saving us.”

A small bow.
What a polite girl.

“No problem. I hate wolves.”
They are loud, stupid and ugly.

“I-is that so?”

“How should we repay you? We don’t really have much money on hand…”
The other girl, Lisa, interjected.

“Umm… then, guide me to the nearest town?”

“Is just that much really alright?”
She seemed troubled.

“You can’t do it?”

“We can! We definitely can, but…”

“But?”

“Well you see, we had a commission to kill four wolves. If we return without completing it, it will be a problem for us…”

“Huh? But there are six wolf corpses right here?”

“Those were defeated by miss Nina. We can’t take credit for that.”

“Then, I will sell you the wolves. The payment will be showing me around the city.”

“S-something trivial as that…”

“Well, I’m fine with that trade… but if you don’t think it’s enough, just pay me back later.”

“…”
Why do you look even more troubled?

The three of them exchanged glances.
After a few whispers, they all nodded.

“Then, thank you very much.”


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment