Curse of the Kat – ch 24

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 24 – The cat gets healed

Dear past me…
I hate you.
You think that healing magic should be rare?
Just because you don’t want people to be immortal?
Well, screw that!
I’m in pain now!
Give me some healing magic!

Ugh…
The worst part is this anxiety…
What happened to the criminal?
Everyone happily told me the wolf was neutralized, but…
Not a single word of what happened to that girl…

I remember she got on the wolf’s back and rode off.
Did she get off and ran away while the wolf went after Deliah?
That’s probably it…
But that means she will come back again…

And it could be at any moment!
Deliah could be in danger while I’m just lying here, playing a corpse!

“Cough, cough!”


I hate being powerless…
If only I could get back my clothes…

 

 

Alright!
I got it!
Here’s the idea!
Because of the blessing, only I can use the Kat clothes!
And since it was granted to me by god, it’s probably bound to my soul… or something, right?!
Right!
Therefore!
All I have to do is to will for it to return to me!
Like a loyal horse coming back to its rider!

Let’s do this!

COME FORTH!
KAT PANTIES!

I-I SUMMON THEE!
KAT BRA!

N-nothing?!
Come on!
I even yelled out these embarrassing lines!
Well, I only yelled in my head… but still!
I’m desperate enough to do something as dumb as that and yet…
Nothing happens!
This is not fair!
Why am I-

Creak.

Hmm?
The door creeped open without anyone knocking.
Who is-
?!

After turning my head, I spot half a face covered in gray fur peeking from behind the door.
As soon as our eyes meet, the head jumps up with its eyes widening before falling back under the door’s cover.

I-it’s her!
The criminal!
Why?!
I-is she here to finish me off after all?!
Dammit!
What do I do?!

The face peeks at me again as I prepare for my impending death.
After a few seconds of staring at each other, she steps inside my room.
For some reason, she is not wearing the black robe from back then and instead has a white hospital gown wrapped around her…

“U-umm… are you okay…?”

What?
Why are you acting all worried?
Didn’t you try to kill me?
I thought we are enemies!
I’m confused!
Are you just her twin or something?!
Like hell!

“Ug… gh…”
But alas, I can’t talk.
So I can’t even ask.

“O-oh no… are you gravely injured?”
Well, kinda…

But seriously…
Why are you so worried about someone who pressed sharp claws against your neck?!
You are too pure and innocent!
It makes me feel bad for what I did!

She comes closer to me with slow, careful steps and extends her hand over me.

“Tapi!”
She shouts a word and something appears in front of me.
As if emerging from a mist, a small creature of the size of my forearm materializes on my chest.
It’s a dog… or a wolf, I guess.
It’s fur is pure white, but it has a three tatoo-like blue markings on its cheeks.
Also, it seems to have… two tails, each one as long as the rest of its body.

What is this?
Even though it’s a wolf…
It’s so cute…
I wanna pet it!

“Agh…”
Or maybe not!
It’s standing on my cracked ribs!
Ugh!
She’s here to kill me, after all!
How could I fall for this trap?!
What is this?!
Killed by having a cute wolf pup stand on me?!
I’m not interested in Darwin awards!

While looking me in the eyes, the creature waves its tails up and down, alternating between them.
A few bright particles of light come off of the tails and land on my chest.
I watch in fear as this phenomenon happens, expecting a curse or something, but…

It feels… better?
Huh?
Is this healing magic?
So she actually wasn’t trying to kill me?
That’s…
A relief…

But, wow…
I didn’t know whining about wanting healing magic would get me some…

“Is it better now…?”
The criminal… no, the girl asks me with a smile.
Her expression tells me she already knows the answer.

“… yes.”
I can talk again!
Hooray!

But, that’s about it.
Even though it’s easier, It’s still hard for me to move.
I’m far from being fully healed.
Yep, I still hate you, my past self.
Not only is healing magic rare, it’s not even that effective.

“That’s good! Then… umm… goodbye…”
She waves her hand while turning around and heading towards the door.
The cute white wolf jumps off of me and follows her.

“Wait!”
She jumps a bit before turning back to me.

“Y-yes?”
Oh, she didn’t just speed out after I called out to her.
That’s good…
I still need some answers.
But what should I ask first?

“… what is your name?”
I guess the standard first question will do.
Oh, but shouldn’t I introduce myself first?

“I’m Cana. What is yours?”
Oh good, she isn’t offended.
More like…
She is smiling.
If half of her face wasn’t covered in fur, I would call it cute…

“I’m Nina… say, why are you trying to kill Deliah?”

“Eh?”

“Eh?”

“Deliah…? Is that the name of that girl? A-and I’m not trying to kill her!”
Wait a second now!
You didn’t even know her name?!
And what do you mean not trying to kill her?!
What about the frenzied hordes of wolves and those invisible assassins?!

“I-I’m just trying t-to… eumm…”
Yes?
I’m listening.
It feels like you will have some really bad excuse.
Your eyes are swimming.

“I’m… I’m trying to get her to join Matoto’s harem!”

I think my mouth is hanging open.
Okay, so…
WHAT THE HELL?!
YOU WANT HER TO JOIN A HAREM?
WHAT KIND OF GOAL IS THAT?!

AND WHO IS MATOTO?!

“O-oh um… harem is a… gathering of girls, is what Matoto says…”
Yeah, I know what a harem is…

But…
What the hell is this Matoto guy doing?
WHY IS HE MAKING A GIRL GATHER HAREM MEMBERS FOR HIM?!
WHAT IS WRONG WITH HIM?!

“Who is this… Matoto?”
I do my best to not let my anger show.

“Oh, it’s umm, a friend…”
Why is she blushing and looking away…?
Is she in love with him or something…?

IS HE MAKING HER GATHER GIRLS FOR HIM KNOWING SHE IS IN LOVE WITH HIM?!
I WANT TO PUNCH THAT BASTARD SO HARD RIGHT NOW!

As my body trembles in rage, I hear the door creak open once again.

“Hey! I’m back! … hmm?”
The gorilla enters and greets me before noticing Cana.
Did you forget how to knock?

“Who is-”

“Y-you!”
Cana jumps back, and clenches her fists.
Her face going pale and her teeth clenching.

“Oh, aren’t you the girl that monster tried to kidnap?”
Huh?
Tried to kidnap?

I see…
Since she powerlessly lied on the wolf’s back, she was thought of as a victim.

“S-stay away!”
Cana makes another step back in response to the approaching Mable.
She’s really terrified of her for some reason…
Meanwhile, Mable is staring at her in surprise.
She seems totally clueless as to why this girl is so scared.

“Calm down! I’m not gonna do anything to you?”
Mable raised her hands up and smiled.
But that didn’t calm Cana down at all.

“Y-you hurt Fenrir!”
Ah, so that’s it…

“What are you… oh, I see…”
Mable seemed to have understood something.
Oh no…
That’s the same expression she had when she talked to me earlier.

“So you were actually the culprit and not a victim…”
You are totally right, but please stop with that murderous gaze!

Cana takes two more steps back, clearly afraid.
The little wolf pup, who kept hiding behind her up till now, comes forward and barks at Mable.
Knowing her, she would likely just hug and cuddle it.
But her current cold expression suggest otherwise.

“T-tapi! Get back!”
The little pup listens to her and hides back behind her legs.
She extends her palm forward and her eyebrows furrow.


Oh no…
Please mind the incapacitated person lying in the bed over here…
Don’t start figh-

“Cerberus!”


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment