Curse of the Kat – ch 36

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 36 – The cat’s pet is convenient

You know, I never expected to see a giant wolf of death to be challenged into a staring contest by a cute tiny cat.
What’s more, it feels like I’m just some extra here…
Since when did this turn into a battle between Kuro and Fenrir?
I matter too, you know?!

Perhaps feeling his disadvantage, Fenrir backed up to his unconscious master and breathed in before opening his mouth wide.

Oh, not this again!

I took off my headband just in time.
The roar that came afterward way beyond any ordinary battle cry.
This one literally shook the earth, toppled trees and gouged out the ground.
Luckily, Kuro summoned his almighty shield to protect us.
And although we weren’t blown away by the shockwave, I could still feel the vibrations and hear the deafening sound.
Even while covering my ears and without the enhanced senses from my headband, I felt it.
But perhaps I should consider us lucky.
Because there was no follow up attack after that.
When the air finally settled and Kuro put away the shield, Fenrir and Cana were gone.

She got away…
Moreover, on Fenrir…
What’s going on?
I thought Mable killed it.
Is that another one?
Or did it come back to life?
This doesn’t make any sense…

What remained after the battle, was only a small grassy area behind where the shield stood.
Everything else turned into piles of mud by the shockwave.
Right behind the giant cone of destruction, where its source stood, a lone red haired girl lied unconsciously.
I quickly made my way to her and confirmed her breathing.

She’s alive.
Well, that’s a relief but…
She was going to betray me…
I don’t think I can just wait till she’s awake and be all buddy buddy with her.
Hrm…

Well!
That’s what I got the ropes for, right?

 

I set up a tent, tied up Ignis and put her inside.
Honestly, I don’t think she’s going to do anything…
But one can never be too careful, right?
I can’t have her suddenly waking up and attacking me, now can I?

After that was done, I walked outside and headed to the blue ogre corpse.
The shockwave hit it and launched it quite the ways away.
But it did almost no damage to the body.
As expected of ogre skin…
Now, how do I stuff this into my bag…?

While brooding over what to do, Kuro and the cheetah with unnaturally long tail approached me.
Oh yeah, where did you go when we fought?
You look like a mythical beast.
One would expect you to use some super strong magic.
But you simply hid when the action started.
Are you just a taxi…?

The cheetah came near me and bowed its head.

Right.
The blessing…
Well, I don’t really mind.
I’ve always wanted to befriend a bigger cat.
The catgirl maid doesn’t count.

Kuro came over and glanced over to the ogre corpse while meowing.
He then turned to me and tilted his head.

Is he asking me what I’m doing?
Hmm, he understands human speech… I think.

“I don’t know how to transport this ogre… it won’t fit in my bag…”
Well, not like he can help me with that, though…

… is what I thought.
But contrary to my expectations, Kuro meowed happily and jumped on top of the ogre.
And then, the entire ogre corpse vanished.

“Wha-?!”

Only a black cat in a sitting position remained in its spot, looking up at me and waving its tail.

Are you a dog?!
Wait, no…!
What is happening?!
Where did that ogre go?!

As if to answer my question, Kuro turned to his left and waved its paw.
After doing that, the ogre reappeared there and fell to the ground again.
I could only stare in disbelief.

In response to my speechlessness, Kuro looked at the corpse and it disappeared again.
Then, reappeared behind him.
And then disappeared and reappea-
Okay, okay!
I get it!
Argh!

What’s up with this!
This isn’t some spiritual summoning skill like I thought!
It’s like an item bag… but it’s a skill!
What the heck?!
That’s amazing!
How in the world did you get that!

And…
How did you get your paws on THIS many daggers, huge swords and shields?!
Are you some sort of war hero?!
Or an underground weapon smuggling mafia boss?!
This is outrageous!
Are all cats like this?!

Before I knew it, I was sitting on the muddy ground, holding my head.
Kuro made use of this opportunity and jumped back on top of me.
He wasted no time before he started playing with my hair again.

Oh, no.
I’m not gonna fall for this innocent cat act anymore!
I know what you really are!

I stood up, grabbed him and held him in front of me.

“You are… a reincarnated invididual, aren’t you?”

“M-meow?”
Oi, don’t avoid my eyes by looking to the side!
I’ll bring you closer and frown!
There’s no meowing yourself out of this!
I can see your mouth twitching and sweat(?) running down your forehead!
Tell me your secrets!

Ah, whatever.
That’s not really a bad thing, is it?
It’s not like that would make him my enemy…
I mean, he saved me back there.
So, let’s cut him some slack.

But I won’t let him mess up my hair again!

Drop him to the ground.

“Well, never mind… so, what’s your deal? Why are you a cat? Did some witch curse you?”

“Meow.”

“Hey, stop pretending already!”

“Meow!”
He shook his head.

Huh…
Perhaps, he can’t use human speech?
Argh, what a pain…
That means I can’t even ask him about the stuff Mable told me…
Well…
I can, but I won’t get an answer.

As I hold my head, I turn around and spot the cheetah again.
It’s looking at me in wonder.

Hmm…
I wonder what its species is called…
I’m pretty sure regular cheetahs don’t have a tail three times longer than the rest of their body.
How is that even beneficial?
Doesn’t it just get in the way?
Argh, whatever…
I shouldn’t question the appearance of fantasy beings.

“By the way, Ku-”
Umm…
I just realized.
Since this cat is actually a reincarnated person…
Doesn’t he have a name already?
It sure isn’t ‘Kuro’.

“What’s your name, actually?”

“Meow.”
Yes, you can’t speak.
I get it.

“Can you write it?”
After giving a nod, the cat raised his paw and some daggers flew down, stabbing into the ground and forming letters.
The letters read ‘KENT’.

Kent…?
That’s…

“Huh… my brother had the same name…”
Kur- Kent looked at me, prompting me to continue.

“What a coincidence!”

“Meow!”
I’m glad you agree.

You agreed, right?
It’s hard to tell.
I really need to learn cat speech already!

“Well, I guess I’ll call you Kent now. Or should I keep calling you Kuro?”

“Meow.”
W-whoa!
Was that a shrug?
I have never seen a cat shrug.
That looked so weird and yet so cute!
Well, okay then!
Who cares about the past!
I’ll keep calling you Kuro!

“Alright then, Kuro! Will you be a gentleman and carry the spoils of my quest with you?”

“Meow!”
Heh!
I got a cheap workforce!
This blessing can be really useful at times!

Wait, I don’t want to turn into a cat slaver!
I’ll need to reward him later.
And that cheetah too.
If it weren’t for him, Kuro would never get here in time.
What kind of reward should I prepare…
Well, they are cats…
Some cat toys?
No, I doubt those are being produced in this world…
And Kuro might be offended, since he is presumably a human inside.
Then, high quality cat food?
Yeah, as if I can find something like that on the market.

So, it has to be fish, right?
Cats like fish, so let’s go with that!
Hmm…
Speaking of fish, I kind of want to visit that port town south of here.
When the quest is done, that’s the first place I’m visiting!

Waaaait!
Back up right now!
I can’t let my mind float in the clouds!
There’s still a major concern I have right now!
Cana and that harem guy!
They are DEFINITELLY not going to leave me alone.
I need to prepare for when they strike!
That’s right…
The fish rewards will have to wait.
When I return to Kalamas, I need to warn Mable and Deliah.
I’m sure if anything happens, Mable will assist me.

As I thought about such things, I heard groans coming from the tent I set up earlier.

But now, it’s interrogation time…


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment