Curse of the Kat – ch 44

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 44 – The cat and the veteran gorilla

“Curse of the succubus… one point three percent…”
Yep, if you know what the status screen contains, you can view it.
So that’s how it works…

Now…
What the heck did you just say…?
Curse of the succubus?!
So it really WAS meant for lewd purposes?!
Where is that guy?!
I have an urge to turn his face into a scratch toy!

“One point three percent…? As in, only one point three percent of its true power…? Are you kidding me?”
And that’s the other concerning thing.
It seems like someone cranked up the power level of that curse way too high.
And by someone, I mean the guy who I have an urge to cut, of course.

“But why is it diminishing? What did you do, Nina?”
Don’t ask me!
I have no idea!
But…
I don’t think I can continue denying I’m involved.
After all, the curse started weakening when we first met.
First, it removed the charm, which seemed to have been a last minute addition to the whole thing.
And following that, the burn kiss effect weakened as we traveled together.
I mean…
If Mable were to experience what that ogre did…
I don’t think it would end with just… erm… whatever ‘that’ was.

“If I were to guess, I would say it’s probably part of the blessing. Think about it! What kind of apostle of god would succumb to mere mortal curses? The blessing must be negating them!”
Apostle of god?
Where did that title come from?
You think me and Kat are the best buddies or something?
Sorry, but that’s not the case!
In fact, I intend to chew him out when I finally get the chance to speak to him!
Seriously…
Leaving a maiden in an outfit like this in the middle of some forest?!

Well, he did kind of save me from being sent to hell, didn’t he?
Normally, I wouldn’t get to live a new life after dying.

Now I feel like my anger is unwarranted.
I’m like a child throwing a tantrum.

“Nina…?”
Ah sorry.
I got lost in thought.
What were we talking about?
Oh yes, the curse.

“Well, anyway. If you really negate curses, then we have a fourth way to deal with Spectre, don’t we?”
Oh, Mable has a point.
If I can delete her ability to turn into fog, it’s gonna be much easier to catch her.

But then again, it took me this long to erase Ignis’ curse and it’s not even completely gone yet.
Hmm…

“By the way…”
What is it Deliah?

“Why don’t you… err, tell about this to the officials?”

Good question.
Why ARE we keeping everything secret?
That guy is a threat to everybody, isn’t he?

“Hmm… wouldn’t that be risking revealing a lot of our secrets?”
Huh?
What are you talking about?

“What secrets?”
To the inquiring Ignis, Mable smiled mischievously once again.

“Oh, you want to know even more secrets now…? You are so naughty…”

“G-get away from me!”

There’s something wrong with this scene…
Why is Ignis backing away form Mable now?
Wasn’t Mable the one paying the price last time?
I don’t get it…

“Haha well… now for real, I don’t want the world knowing my true abilities. So if you plan on informing the guild or the city officials, I think I’m gonna sit this one out…”
Eh?!
You’re gonna abandon us?!
You can’t do that!
I already paid you in advance!

“W-why…?”
Even Deliah can’t believe Mable’s words.

“Look here kids… Standing out is bound to attract attention of some big shots.”
Well, that… is undeniably true.
But it’s not necessarily bad, right?

“So what? More fame is never bad!”
Mable showed a bitter smile in reaction to Ignis’ retort.

“Haha… sure. You think that now… but as time goes on, more and more attention will be focused on you… a lot of people will begin to have high expectations from you while others will try to trip you up at every step…”

Huh…
I have never seen you with such a distant look…

“And then… the never-ending game of trying to keep up with the pressure will begin… it will become the meaning of your life… even if you decide to quit, you won’t be allowed to…”

Silence filled the room.
Everyone looking at Mable in wonder.

“… well, anyway! I want to live my life freely and experience as much as I can! That’s why, I don’t want to stand out!”

Who were you…?
In your previous life…?

 

After Mable’s heavy monologue, our meeting disbanded.
Nobody felt like talking after that.
Well, I don’t know…
I feel like she was exaggerating a bit.
But who knows?
I have never been famous.
Maybe she has a point.

After leaving the school grounds, we separated once again.
Kuro walked off somewhere and Deliah went to her mansion along with her butler, leaving Ignis in the dorms.
Meanwhile, me and Ignis headed back to the inn we were staying at.
And despite her usually energetic mood, Ignis didn’t speak single word on our way there.
Once inside, I lied down on my bed and pulled out a couple coins from my bag with my tail.
I’ve gotten pretty good at controlling this thing.
Now, I can even hold several coins without dropping them!

Ah…
I dropped one.
Well, I still need more practice.

“Say…”
Oh, the silent monk spoke!

“Do you think I should stop correcting people when they mention I’m supposed to be tall and stuff…?”
Huh?
What are you talking about?
You want to let the false rumors about you spread?
Why?
This isn’t how placebo works, you know?
Your chest won’t grow just because a lot of people believe it should be large.

“B-because… if people don’t recognize me, it might be better…”

Oh, I see…
It’s about what Mable said, isn’t it?
Don’t worry about it.
Just keep being yourself.

“It’s fine… Mable was just exaggerating…”

“You think so…?”
Yep, totally.
She talked all about a never-ending game of trying to keep up…
But isn’t keeping your real self a secret even worse?
You’d have to constantly hold back!
That’s even less freedom!

“… you… I think you’re right! Screw that scary gorilla!”
Your mood switches quickly as always…

“What could she possibly know about all of that, anyway?! She’s the same age as me!”
Well, not really…
She probably has years of experience from her previous life.

“Gah! I was so stupid for even considering words of that musclebrain!”
I think you are going a bit overboard here…
No need to triumphantly stand up and hold your fist high like that.
Especially when…

Knock knock.

… we have guests.

The door opens and in peeks Mable’s face.
Ignis freezes up in her position and sweat appears on her pale face.
Mable sends Ignis a sweet smile, which… probably wasn’t as sweet as it appeared to me.
Seeing it, Ignis trembles.
Still in her triumphant pose.

“Hello there, it’s time for another meeting.”
Why hello there…
It hasn’t even been an hour since our last meeting…
But I guess it makes sense considering who you brought along…

The door slides wide open and reveals the other person.
Grey hair and black robe with its hood pulled down.
A cute girl, holding her hands together while avoiding gaze with everyone in the room.
Mable is holding her shoulder with an arm, making sure she can’t run off.
Her scent is very familiar to me.
As well as her face…
Or at least, half of her face.

“Y-you are… Cana?!”

The other half of her face used to have fur all over it, making her look hideous.
But now, it’s gone.


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment