Curse of the Kat – ch 62

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 62 – The cat visits a friend

This sword…
Is even better than I expected.
I thought I can only use shadow magic with panther soul, but…
It seems that, although it’s significantly harder, I can still move existing ‘shadows’ I created in the past.
More specifically, I can make the shadow in my sword leak out and use it to attack.
I thought doing it often would quickly deplete the shadows and I would have to repaint it, but…
When I tried emptying the sword and making it pink again, it didn’t work.
It’s like, the shadow somehow multiplied or generated more of itself or something…
Well, it’s a bit weird, but hey!
At least I won’t have to keep supplying it!
And also, it means that the sword is an amazing weapon and only I can use its full potential!
I like it!
It’s like a sentient magical hero sword, that chooses its owner!

Except it’s all black and evil.
And if someone else touches it, instead of lightly pushing them away, the shadow creeps into their hand and causes an incurable wound.
Huh…
So, it’s more like a cursed demon sword?

W-well, it’s fine!
It’s my weapon, so nobody else should touch it anyway!
Let’s think of it as an advanced anti-theft measure.
Yep, that’s all it is!

 

Now then, it’s almost June already.
I thought we would have gone to the port city already, but Mable’s parents keep delaying their arrival.
Typical business people!
It doesn’t matter if it’s modern earth or a fantasy world!
Those who deal with money never have time for anything!
Well, it’s not like we can’t visit the port city until then…
I wanted to kill two birds with one stone, that’s all.
Oh well…

Instead of idly waiting, I decided to visit Deliah in her mansion.
This time, not as a bodyguard, but as her friend.
That’s what I planned on doing…
But of course, you wouldn’t let someone, equipped with a suspicious sword radiating evil, enter a noble’s house.
So I handed the sword to the butler to take care of it and went ahead… not.
Nobody but me can safely touch this sword!
I explained that to him, but he seemed a bit skeptical.
Moreover, I got called out by the nearby guards as a liar!
Come on!
Why don’t you believe me?!
Do you really have to test it?
Eh, one of the guards happily volunteers…?
Well, if you really can’t have any other way…

‘I told you.’ is what I would like to say…
But I didn’t expect his entire hand to turn black after a single touch.
Does he have an elemental weakness against shadow magic?
Or maybe the sword didn’t like him?

Well, he called me a liar, so the sword must be like a dog, lashing out on his owner’s behalf, right?
Yes, that must be it!
Good boy, sword!
I like you even more now!

Also, this guard guy sure knows a large variety of swear words.
I had to turn on panther soul right then and there to treat him.
But seeing that, I think they got an even worse opinion about me now…
Dammit!
I’m just trying to visit a friend!
Why is it so difficult!

“How about putting it into an item bag?”
O-oh?
That’s a good idea, sir butler…

Actually, why don’t I have any sheath for it?
You normally put your sword into a sheath when you aren’t using it, right?
And how come nobody ever pointed that out to me?!

“Here, try this.”
That’s a pretty fancy looking item bag.
I hope it survives having my sword inside of it…

I put it in.
It didn’t explode or turn black!
Yep, that’s right!
That proves this sword isn’t evil or cursed!
Now then!
Onward to meet Deliah!

 

“Oh, you are just gorgeous!”

How did this happen?
I only intended to visit a friend.
Why is this cat eared maid dressing me up again?
I don’t need a disguise anymore!

“I was right! You really are the cutest thing in the world!”
Sometimes, I hate this blessing…

“So… how is it going?”
I don’t like the look on your face Deliah!
I can’t tell whether you find this funny or pitiful!

“I-it’s alright… I have a new sword… and stuff…”
It’s hard to talk when there’s a maid brushing my hair and flailing around with various dresses.
Why won’t she pay attention to her mistress instead of me?!

Well, I know why.
But it’s still just…

“A sword…?”
Oh, is she’s interested?

“Rodrick told me you brought in a suspicious cursed sword, but…”
Why is that butler spouting such lies?!

“It’s not cursed…!”

Well, I made it by infusing it with shadow magic.
Which came from panther soul.
Which is a curse turned into a skill variant.
So…

No no no!
If you filter a fruit juice three times, it’s no longer a juice, but simple water!
This is the same, right?!
You can’t call it a curse anymore!

“Umm, okay…”
You’re not buying it either?!
Come on!
I swear it’s just a highly personalized sword, that doesn’t like when others touch it!
You also wouldn’t like it if strangers touched you, right?!

“Aaaand, done! Look, you look fabulous!”

No, I look ridiculous!
What’s up with the frilly pink dress and an enormous pink bow on my head?!
I hate pink!
How about I dye this black as well?!

Please stop giggling Deliah.
This is serious business!

“What do you think mistress?”

“Hmm…? Ooh, she looks… faaabulous~”

Someone, please put me out of my misery.

As if answering to my call, the door suddenly crashed open and the butler stormed in, completely out of breath.

“Rodrick?! What are you-”

“Miss Nina…! The sword…!”

I don’t like where this is going.

I jump out of my seat and run up to the butler.

“Where is it?!”
I don’t even wait for him to answer and pick him up.

“Whua…?! I-it’s downstairs!”
I follow his directions, and we soon arrive at the basement.
There, several guards are encircling something.
When they move out of the way, I can see exactly what I expected…
My sword is lying there on the ground with the black flame-like shadows snaking out of it.
There are also black pieces of torn leather nearby, probably the item bag.

Oh, come on!

I rush up to the sword and pick it up as some of the people behind me gasp.
As I do that, I try to absorb the leaking shadow magic back into me to stop it from rampaging.
Slowly but surely, it calms down and the flames vanish.

My head hurts.

Status.

Name: Nina
Level: 19
Strength: 36/37
Endurance: 31/39
Speed: 50/50
Magic: 67/32

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat gloves
Kat slippers
Enchanted handbag
God-slayer shadow cursed sword

Skills:
Cat soul+
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat
More than twice over the maximum…
That’s… crazy.
And what do you mean ‘God-slayer shadow cursed sword’?!
Putting aside the exaggerated name, why does even the status screen insist that it’s cursed?!

Hey, you know…
You can stop staring at me already…

Didn’t your moms teach you it’s rude…?

Okay!
Fine!
I get it!
It’s a cursed sword!
It’s a seriously bad-news evil cursed sword with an ominous name!
Arrrgh!


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment