Curse of the Kat – ch 68

Previous    Table of contents    Next


A fanservice chapter is best served right after an emotional backstory… right?


Chapter 68 – The cat finds a peculiar shop

A-hah!
The rain only lasted one day!
It’s back to sunshine again!
I knew blocking Ignis from triggering a flag would work in my favor!
Mmhm!

Also, good thing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING happened yesterday!
That’s right!
After Ignis told her backstory, we all happily went back!
I TOTALLY didn’t cry like a little baby!
I mean, c’mon…
Me?
Cry?
Hahaha… ridiculous!

On the other hand, Mable said she would share her story after mine, but it never came down to that…
Well…
Not like I urgently need to know it.
I was just curious.
But that’s not important!
Now…
It’s beach time!

Umm, but the sand is gonna be all wet now, isn’t it?
Ugh!
Stupid rain haunts me even though it’s long gone!

Also, I wonder where Kuro went.
After what happ-… what DIDN’T happen yesterday, he meowed something at me and sprinted away.
He looked really serious and determined about something.
But I haven’t seen him since then…
I wonder where he went.
Maybe something urgent suddenly came up?
Hmm…

“Hey! I’m glad you’re cheerful today!”
Hey, what are you talking about, Ignis?
I’m always cheerful!
I am the definition of cheerfulness!

“Well, today, we hang around and relax, right?”
That’s the plan.
And since we can’t go to the beach yet, how about we look for something to wear when the time finally comes?
Yes…
To the swimsuit shop!

If there even is one around here.

With Mable as our guide, we strolled the city, looking for a swimsuit shop among other things.
Most importantly, though, she showed us the beach part, which actually lied outside of the city.
I guess this place IS mainly a port, so having people mess around in the water would trouble the sailors.
And as expected, the beach was empty, most likely because the sand was all wet and disgusting.

Afterwards, we visited the heart of the city.
All sorts of shops and facilities lined up in front of us.
The usual inns, bars, the market and the adventurer’s guild donned the streets.
However…
One of the buildings stood out like a sore thumb.
Me and Mable immediately paused for a second and exchanged perplexed looks.
It seems like this wasn’t here when she last visited the port.

And while the two of us felt uneasy about what we were seeing, Ignis and Cana viewed the showcased goods with interest.

“This looks pretty cute…”
“Why are there servant’s clothes right next to this…?”

Yes.
This shop displayed everything from a maid outfit to a bunny costume.
In other words.
A cosplay shop.

This shop…
There’s another reincarnator behind it, isn’t there?
I’m pretty sure people of this world would find most of these outfits exotic or outright nonsensical.
After all, there is a maid outfit right next to glossy princess dress!
‘Preposterous!’ I hear an imaginary noble say.

Now, the question is…
Should we go in?
I mean…
If I remember correctly, someone said the reincarnators are all supposed to be bad people.
Like assassins and mad scientists and whatnot…
And seeing as these costumes are meant to fit smaller body sizes…
I think I have a pretty good idea of what kind of ‘bad person’ the owner is…

And thus, the four brave heroes steeled themselves, grabbed the door by its handle, opened it and stepped inside.

“Welcome custome- ohh! What an adorable group of young ladies!”
Yep, this guy’s face screams ‘suspicious’.
People like him are dangerous.
I will need to stay vigilant at all times.

“Hey! It’s a really nice shop you have here!”
Mable took the initiative and walked toward the guy.

“I like the design of these clothes, did you make them?”

“Ahaha, that’s right! I made all of them myself!”
Well, that confirms it.
The culprit turned himself in right away.

Mable then swiftly pulled an arm around his shoulder and whispered things to him.

“These girls are under my protection… if you try to do anything weird, I”ll let you know that god gave me a skill much more destructive than simple clothes making…”
She made sure to lower her voice so nobody but the shop keeper would hear, though, I still heard her.

Well, good job establishing the pecking order, Mable.
He seemed confused for a second before it hit him.
He then followed Mable’s gaze to me and I… waved at him with my claws extended while briefly activating cat soul.
Yep, I think we got the message across.
I bet he thinks Cana and Ignis are also overpowered reincarnators now.
He won’t try anything weird with that!
Now we can freely look around without any fear!

“D-d-did any of my works c-catch your attention, m-my d-dear customers…?”

Well, he’s doing his best to not paint his pants brown, that’s for sure.
I don’t think that’s a natural skin color on his face.

Maybe this was a bit too much.
Maybe the ‘reincarnators are all bad people’ was just a coincidence up till now, and he’s just an innocent cosplay enthusiast.
Did we do something cruel to an innocent man…?

“Can I try this…?”
Cana came forward carrying a maid outfit.

“Huh? Why that?”
Ignis seemed perplexed.
Being a former noble, she must still be associating it with servants.

“It matches my hair color…”
Huh…
It does, doesn’t it?
It’s half white and half black.
Goes perfectly with gray hair.

“Umm, yeah but… well, okay! I’ll try this one!”
Isn’t that a japanese school uniform…?
No wait, that’s actually a sailor uniform, isn’t it?
Well, it’s red instead of blue, so maybe not quite.

“O-okay, you can u-use the changing room here to try it on. P-please take your time…!”
Oh, calm down already.
I know you are scared that Mable’s gonna punch a hole through your head, but you’re only making yourself seem more suspicious.

“Umm, erm…”
Hmm?
Why are you looking at us now?
Oh…
You want us two to try something on?
Eh…
Well, I don’t like to admit it but…
I’m already kind of cosplaying aren’t I?
And I doubt Mable is interested in stuff like thi-

“Oh, this looks great!”
Wha-
Is that a bikini?
Why would-

Oh right…
We wanted to go to beach, didn’t we?
And there’s no way you can wear a male swimsuit…
ESPECIALLY not you.

Hmm, I should get a swimsuit as well, shouldn’t I?
But in here, all that fits me are those blue school swimsuits…

“Behold! The great Ignis makes an appearance!”
Oh would you look at that…
It’s the ‘hyperactive tomboy schoolgirl with twintails’ archetype.
She fits it to a T.
Well, aside from the skull staff she’s wielding.

“Umm…”
And here comes Cana.
She almost seems like someone took a photo and put it through a black and white filter.
Who said gray hair is ugly?
Just call it ‘silver’ and be positive!
Dang, this maid uniform fits her way too much…

“Come on Nina! Try something! How about this?”
Huh?
A nurse outfit?
Err, why that…?

Oh…
I get it.
I’m supposed to extend my claws and say something about how the injection isn’t gonna hurt, aren’t I?
Well, I refuse!
This is starting to get weird!
How about we get out of here?!

“Hey Nina… it’s the last missing piece!”
What?
Last missing-

A bell choker?!
Hell no!
I’m not anyone’s pet!
I’m out of here right now!
I’ll see you later!

I barge my way out of the shop and leave the three behind.
Once outside I breathe out a sigh.

Seriously…
Why is a shop like this here?


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment