Curse of the kat – Ch 3

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 3 – The cat VS. the gate guard

Since I couldn’t do it, the three adventurers skinned the wolves.
They also cut up the meat and put it in a bag.
Lastly, they recovered small stones from the corpses, the magic stones.
Every creature in this world has one, just like I set it.

While they were busy, I noticed all of the blood and filth disappeared from me.
Is that the auto-clean function of this underwear?
I like it.

After they were done, we headed for the city.
On our way there, conversation happened.

“But, you sure are incredible, miss Nina.”
“Yeah, I knew beast people are strong, but still… you are so young, yet so strong.”
… oh.
I completely forgot I’m wearing this outfit.
And what’s more, catgirls exist in this world, so they think it’s real.

“Er… umm…”
I’m not sure if I should tell them.
This could get troubleso-

“Wait… but why do you have human ears as well?”
It’s over.

“Actually… these are fake.”
I said as I lifted the headband off of my head.

“Huh?!”
“What?!”
“…”

“I’m a human. But… I kind of have to wear this for now.”
Confusion, surprise and… pity?
That girl over there, please don’t look at me like that…

“I… I see…”
Not you too.

Ugh…
What’s with this awkward atmosphere now?
Say something!
Don’t just look away!
Ughhhhh!
This is why I am a loner!
I hate situations like this!
I should have just found some popcorn!

Nobody talked until we arrived at the city.
It’s fine.
It’s absolutely, one hundred percent fine.
I’m a loner, so it’s not like I wanted to talk or anything.
Everything is alright.

When we approached the city gate, the guard stationed there raised his eyebrows.
“Hey, welcome back. Who is this beast girl?”

“Hello, we are back. This is Nina, she saved us when we got ourselves into a pinch.”
Betty stepped forward and explained.
The guard frowned to her words.

“A pinch? What happened?”

“W-well… we got surrounded by wolves and…”

“You need to be careful out there! What would you do if the little lady wasn’t there to help you?”

“S-sorry… we will be more careful from now on.”

“Hmmph… anyway, thanks for saving these kids, miss.”

A smile and thumbs up.
I show the ideal response.
Words are overrated.

“… anyway.”
What’s with your baffled expression?

“Why do you have both human and beast ears?”
Ah, him too.
But, I guess there’s no point in trying to lie anymore.

“These are fake… I have to wear them for now.”
I said the same thing as before.
And he had the same reaction as the trio.
Come on now…

“… well, alright then.”
Oh!
He let it go!
As expected of a gate guard!
His communication skills must be top-notch from all the people that pass by him!

“Please show me your identification cards now.”
… umm, what now?

The trio showed him their cards and then looked at me.

“Umm… how can I get an identification card?”

“… you don’t have any identification card? Where did you come from?”

“F-from very far away…?”
I’m not very convincing.
But improvising on the spot is hard!
I can’t produce a novel’s worth of backstory at will!
Ugh, why didn’t I think this through earlier?!

“… well, if you don’t have any identification, you will have to pay a toll and we will also have to check your criminal record.”
… money?

“Err… can I pay with… wolf pelt?”
I gave the four wolves to the trio and kept the remaining two.
But that was all I had.
Two wolves.

“You don’t even have any money?”
A mixture of anger and resignation.
Am I going to get arrested?
Or made into a slave for having no money?

Ah, I guess I should prepare myself to live as a criminal on the run.

“S-sir! If it’s okay, we will pay the toll for her.”
Huh…?
Who is this angelic being?
Did you say your name was Lisa?
You should quickly change it to Angel.

“Well, alright then… That will be one silver coin.”
The angel gave him a shining coin.
With that, I am saved…

“But I still need to do the criminal record check, so come over here.”
Ah, I’m still gonna get executed.
Kat said I was gonna go to hell, right?
I still don’t know what I did in my previous life…
B-but surely, it doesn’t count anymore…. r-right?

We walked inside a tiny station next to the gate.
Inside, there sat another guard on a chair with his eyes closed, snoring.
The guard, who led me there walked to a closet and rummaged through it before pulling out a weird white plate.
He then placed it onto a table and waved his hands in a weird manner.

“Here, place your hands on top of it and channel your magic power.”

Right on.
So, how do I channel magic power?

“…”
My face probably cramped as I tried to ‘channel magic power’, but nothing happened.

“What’s wrong?”

Not good.
I need to try harder!
It’s something like this right?!
RAAAAAARGH!

“S-stop right now! What do you think you are doing?!”
H-huh?
W-what’s wrong?
The other guy woke up and fell on the floor!
And why are you sweating like some fat guy who just finished working out?

“S-sorry… I… Umm…”

“Look, I meant channel magic power INSIDE THIS PLATE. Not throughout your entire body!”
Oh… is that what I did?
I’m sorry.
I didn’t know.
Please stop looking at me like I was an idiot…

So, inside the plate…?
How do I do that?

L-like this?

“… don’t tell me you don’t know how to do it.”

“Erm… ehehe?”
A cute, innocent smile!
Surely, he will forgive me… right?

No stop.
I know you are annoyed, but don’t downgrade me from ‘idiot’ to ‘trash’ in your mind!

A sigh and a facepalm.
Well, it’s better than giving me these looks, I guess…

“Well, I guess people like you exist… look, there’s another method, but it’s a little painful, so prepare yourself.”
Painful?
What are you gonna do to me?
I don’t like pain.
Are you going to shove magic-o-meter into my butt?
Or slice the top of my head and inspect my brain?
I-I don’t like this…
P-please stop…!

Ah, he took out a knife.
So, it’s the brain inspection, after all.

“I’ll need a bit of your blood. Use this to prick your finger.”
O-oh…
Just my finger…
This shouldn’t be that bad, right?
Okay, here I go.

I took off my left glove and exposed my hand.
In my right hand, there’s the knife.
Carefully close in with the blade.

C-carefully…

“I don’t have all day.”
I’m sorry!
But I really don’t like pain after all!
Ughh…
Okay!
If I can’t do it slowly and carefully, let’s do it quickly!

Now!
Here I go!
Close my eyes!
Raise the knife up high!
STAAAAAB!
“GYAAAAAAAAAAH!”
It hurts!
So much blood!

Why did I do it so forcefully?!
Am I an idiot?!
Hey you!
I’m gonna bleed to death!
Do something!
Don’t just sit there with your palm covering your face!
I know it was stupid but come on!

“… you are… free to enter the city.”
At least look at me when you say that!

Ugh…

Huh?
It’s already healing?
Why?
Let me check my stats.

Name: Nina
Level: 3
Strength: 21/21
Endurance: 21/22
Speed: 28/28
Magic: 15/17

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat glove
Kat slippers

Skills:
Cat soul
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Oh, I leveled up to level 3.
And it seems I have used up some magic and endurance points since they aren’t full.
Hmmm…?

Strength: 21/21
Endurance: 22/22
Speed: 28/28
Magic: 16/17

My finger is healed already.
Oh, I get it…
It must be the stat restoration properties of the underwear, right?.
So endurance is my ‘HP’ after all, huh?

“Hmm? Your wound already closed up? That’s impressive.”
Urk…
He saw it.
Quickly put on my glove again.

“I guess these so called ‘strong wimps’ really do exist…”
I’m a wimp!
So what!
Pain is painful!
Shut up!

“Well, as I said. You are free to enter. But, don’t cause any trouble.”
I’ll…
Try to.

Finally, the hardest ‘battle’ since I arrived in this world was over.
Social interactions and mandatory procedures are the worst!


Previous    Table of contents    Next

I can’t produce a novel’s worth of backstory at will!

Leave a comment