Curse of the Kat – ch 5

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 5 – The cat visits the adventurer’s guild

I can smell it.
I can hear it.
I can sense it.
There’s someone outside my door.
Am I going to get assaulted, after all?!

Knock, knock, knock.

Huh?
What kind of criminal knocks first?

“Miss? Are you awake?”

That voice…
Isn’t that the inn lady?
She’s the invader?!
Wait…
Don’t tell me she’s-

“Your breakfast is ready…”


Oh.
I’m sorry, inn lady.
Please forgive me for assuming you are a bloodthirsty criminal.

“Y-yeah, thanks… I-I’ll be there in a minute…”
Didn’t I do something similar yesterday?
I need to do something about automatically assuming everyone is a bad guy.

I get up, put on the dress and gloves and grab my handbag.
Then, I leave my room and walk downstairs.

“Good morning.”

“Good morning.”
After greeting the inn lady, I get seated at an empty table.
Of course, stares fixate on me.
But I’ve gotten quite good at ignoring them.

A moment later, my breakfast arrives.
Thanks, miss receptionist.
The bread is soft and delicious.
And the fruits are also juicy.
Hmm?
Plain meal?
I don’t really mind though.
It’s just breakfast, after all.

“Hello there. Are you new in town?”
A man in his twenties with a suspicious smile casually greets me while seating himself in a chair opposite of me.
He is wearing an expensive-looking coat.
Who…?

“Hmm, yeah?”
I don’t know what he wants, but it can’t be anything nice…
No, wait.
I said I will stop assuming everyone is a bad guy, didn’t I?
That’s right.
He is simply a friendly man trying to strike a conversation.
Not a scammer or a thief.

“Ah sorry, I forgot to introduce myself. My name is Vincent Gazick.”
He extends his hand.

“Hello, I’m Nina.”
I grab it with my glove and we shake hands.

“Hmm… I’ve been wondering. Where did you get these clothes? They seem to be of high quality. Especially that headband…”
He noticed.
The second person who did.
But where did I get them…
From god, right?
It’s not like I can just say that, though.

“They were made for me.”
It’s not a lie.

“I see… would you be so kind to share the name of this craftsman?”
He pulled out a gold coin and waved it in front of me.
Huh…
Why does he care so much?
Is he a pervert?
Does he want to wear a cat outfit no matter the cost?
Something must be wrong with him.
And anyway, I can’t just say ‘I got it from a god’, can I?

“Sorry, that’s impossible.”
I declined.
His smile disappeared for a moment.

“I see… that’s unfortunate.”
He stood up from his seat.

“Well, I have to go now, see you later miss.”
“Bye.”
I waved at him as he left the inn.

Hmm…
He isn’t going to send kidnappers and assassins after me to cough up the source, right?
No way!
He’s not a criminal!
He’s just a regular cosplay-loving pervert!

That’s not much better, is it?
Eh, whatever.

After finishing my meal, I head out of the inn and walk to the adventurer’s guild.
Just like yesterday, most people stare at my appearance.
I need to buy some other clothes soon…
… or do I?
If I don’t wear this, I will become an easy target.
Moreover, I would need to do the laundry if I wore other underwear.
And decent clothes are bound to be expensive…
Huh?
Are there no merits to buying other sets of clothing?
No way…
I must have overlooked something crucial here…

As I think about some very important matters, I arrive in front of the building.
The signpost shows a sword and shield.
It’s the adventurer’s guild.
It’s probably a place full of rowdy people who like to pick fights with others.
But I’m prepared.
I won’t give them a chance to bother me.
Here we go.

I open the door and quickly locate the nearest receptionist sitting behind a counter.
Yes, feel free to stare and whisper, adventurers.
I will gracefully ignore all of you and make my way to the counter.

“Hello! I would like to register as an adventurer!”
It was perfect.
I stated my intention in the least amount of time possible without sounding rude.
So… why are you staring at me like I was an unsolved rubick’s cube?

“Little lady, an adventurer is a very dangerous job. Someone like you…”
That’s rude.
Didn’t anyone teach you to not judge a book by its cover?
Well… I do admit that without this outfit I would be weak.
But still!

“I know! I’ll be careful!”
Hey, your face is cramping up.

“Ghuaha! I’ll be careful, she says! Just how many kids like her have died on their first day?”
Shut up, ugly old man.
And you, receptionist lady, why is your expression getting even worse?

“Are there any requirements? Do I need to prove myself?”
I kept pressuring her.
If I don’t, she will just send me away.

“… you will need to pay fifty coppers as an initial fee. And you will also need to-”
Faster than she could finish her sentence, my last silver coin appeared in front of her face.

“Here you go.”
Come on!
You can’t decline me now!
Hmm?
Why do you look so shocked?

She gulped and then took the coin and returned five large copper coins to me.

“… the other requirement is to prove yourself in a battle.”
Huh…
Your attitude suddenly changed?
Why are you all serious now?
Well, I won’t complain.
It’s easier for me.

“Okay.”

“Please wait a bit, I’ll call one of the employees to test you.”
She stood up and left through the door at the back.
Hmm, what was the change about?

“Brat, where did you pull that coin from?”
Ugh…
It’s that ugly old man.
He is coming this way.
And what does he mean by that?
I just took it out of the armbag.

“From this.”
I point at it.

“Hah! Don’t try to hide it. I clearly saw that coin appear out of nowhere! You can use space magic, can’t you!”
… what?
Wait a second here.
I can’t keep up with the thought process of an idiot.
Is he saying that I pulled out that coin SO quickly, that he didn’t even notice?
He must just be stupid…

“No, I pulled it out of my bag.”

“You can’t hide it! I saw what I saw!”
He’s really getting annoying.
What’s his purpose, anyway?

“With that said, come join the black eagles after you register. I’m sure you will be useful in a C ranked party like ours!”
I’m starting to get a headache.
Is he one of those self-important arrogant people?
Maybe I should knock him out or something.

“What do you say?”

“No.”

“… look here brat, I’m giving you a great opportunity!”

“Go. Away.”
Oh, he’s getting really angry.

“I guess I’ll have to teach you a lesson!”
That’s my line.

Duck.
Sneak behind him.
Jump on his back.
Extend my claws and push them against his neck.
I hope this is enough.
If I slash him for real, the poison will kill him.

“Teach me.”
I whispered this to his ear.
Hmm?
His neck suddenly got all shiny.
Is that sweat?
Why isn’t he saying anything?

“Hurry up and teach me.”
Another light whisper.
What is this?
He started vibrating?
That’s not an answer, you know?

“What is going on here?”
Oh, the receptionist is back along with another person.
I retract my claws and jump off of the man.
The man collapses the moment I land.
What a pathetic pile of flesh.
I should have just cut him.

Wait, what the hell is wrong with me again?
Did I really just do all of that?
I almost killed a man just because he was ugly and annoying.
No matter how I look at it, this isn’t normal.
Just what…

Everyone is staring at me.
You know, I’ve gotten used to being stared at…
So why does it feel so uncomfortable now?

“Hello! I’m Nina!”
Wave my hand at the receptionist and the man beside her.

Come on, can we please move on from this?
I didn’t hurt him, so…
And it’s all his fault anyway!
He started it!
Stop staring at me like that!


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment