Curse of the kat – ch 7

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 7 – The cat can be deadly

I… I need to calm down…
Let’s go over the important points again…

1. I used my claws to kill the wolves.
2. The claws secrete poison.
3. I sold the wolves to the guild.
4. Wolf meat is a common food used in restaurants around here.

S-surely they will check for and remove the poison, right?
I’m not going to become a mass murderer, right?!

This stuff is a gift from the god, though…
It’s probably not just a regular poison…
What if it’s impossible to detect or something?
Or even worse, what if it’s impossible to remove?!
WHAT HAVE I DONE?!

Get up.
Leave the room.
Run downstairs.
Rush out of the inn.

It’s night already…
Will the guild still be open?
I-it has to be!

They didn’t sell off the wolves yet, did they?
There’s no way they could process them that quickly, right?!

I’m here.
In front of the locked door that leads to the adventurer’s guild.
Whether it’s pulling or pushing, the door refuses to open.

On my knees.
Staring at the locked door.
My spirit is leaving me.
Only the second day of existing in this world and I have already become a murderer.
I’m done for.
I’m a criminal now.
I better learn how to live in the wild.

Suddenly, the door clicks and opens.

“Huh? The hell are you doing here this late?”

Is this my light of hope?
It’s the same man I gave the wolves to!
His name was Harold, I think?
Never mind!
I will call him ‘my savior’!

“WhatDidYouDoWithTheWolves?!”
I instantly grabbed him and asked him about the wolves.
I know I’m being really rude right now, but this is an emergency!

“Wh- hey- cal… CALM DOWN!”
Ouch!
My head!
Why are you punching me?!
This is serious!

“Just slow down… and tell me what you need…”
He crossed his arms.

“The wolves I brought! Did you sell them yet?!”
Huh?
What is that face full of suspicion again.

“And why do you need to know that?”
Don’t frown at me!

“There’s poison in them! If you eat the meat you… might… d-die…?”
All of my earlier adrenaline suddenly got drained away.
Sir, I commend your scary stare for its ability.
Now… p-please stop…

“Why did you inject poison into them?”

“I-it’s from these…”
I show them the claws.

“… it’s laced with poison? Are you serious?”
He obviously doesn’t believe me…

“I-I can prove it!”
Extend claws on both gloves and-

“WAIT! STOP! I BELIEVE YOU!”
H-huh?
Oh…
He thought I was gonna attack him.

Well, what else would I do to ‘prove’ it…?
There are no other targets around.
I’m sorry for scaring you.

“Well… we still didn’t sell off the meat, so all we have to do is sterilize it and remove the poison.”
Yes, that should work.
If it was a regular poison.
But this is poison from these gloves!
A god’s creation!
There’s no way it’s that simple, right?!

“Look, you don’t need to worry.”
Hey…
What are you doing?
Why is your hand patting my head?
Did you mistake me for an actual cat?
These ears are fake, you know?

“We’ll take care of it. And if we don’t, we’ll take full blame for anything that might happen, alright?”
How… unexpectedly nice of him…
Is that really alright?
This is not a regular poison!
… or maybe it is?
I actually don’t know anything about it.
It might be the deadliest poison in the world…
Or it might completely disappear after killing the target…
There’s no way to tell!

“Sigh… I promise we will be especially careful with it, so stop worrying.”

“Alright…”
You convinced me…
I will trust you.
But…
Your hand is messing up my hair.
Please stop it.

After my head finally got free from Harold’s grip, we parted ways.
Apparently, he was about to go home when he bumped into me.
Just how long does the guild staff have to work?!
Even though it’s this late and the guild is already closed!
I’m never becoming member of their staff…
Well anyway, now that safety is assured, I can go back to the inn and get some sleep.

Walk back.
Endure stares.
G-

Wait.
What stares?
It’s night and there are barely any people around.
So why do I feel some intense stares?
Hmm?
Hmmmm?

It must be just my imagination!

Yeah, there’s no way I’ll say such a cliché line.
Let’s try to walk into a dark alleyway and see if anyone follows.

Come out, come out wherever you are~
Ah, someone came out.
I’m surrounded.
Who are these ugly people with even uglier grins?
Stalkers…?
Kidnappers…?

“Alright now, be obedient and we won’t hurt you little girly…”
Yep.
It’s kidnappers.
Let’s cut them up.
Hmm?
Problems with killing people?
I stressed about the poison just a moment ago?
Well, why would I classify these things as ‘human’?
I have no problem killing something like that.

Fine, I won’t use the claws.
I should still be strong enough, right?

One of the men approached me with a bag in his hands.
Quicker than he could react, I buried my fist in his stomach.
He flew away and hit the guy behind him.
Yep, I am definitely strong enough.
Thank you, Kat gloves.

At that point, everyone else wore a surprised expression.
But I didn’t mind it and took care of the rest.
One hit KO for each of the remaining six.
It was done in no time.

Now, what do I do with them?
Bring them to the guild?
It’s closed now.
Let them go?
There’s no way I’m just letting them go.
Kill them?
I really didn’t want to, but…

“Hey! What’s going on here?!”
Hmm?
A man wearing armor and holding a spear?
Are you a friend of that gate guard?
What a good timing.

“These people attacked me…. so I beat them up.”

“You beat them up…?”
Yes I did.
Something wrong?
Your expression reminds me of Harold.
Do you also think I stole them from somewhere?

Hrm?
I heard something behind me.
One of the kidnappers woke up and is escaping?
Well, I won’t let him!
Turn around!
Dash forward!
Pounce him!
Pin him to the ground!!!
Stab my claws into his throa-…!
Waaaaaait! Wait! Wait!
What am I doing?!
I said I wouldn’t kill them!

What the hell was that?
Why did I need to stop myself from killing him?
Is my brain overheating?
Is it because I’m tired?

Urk…
Sir guard, don’t point that spear at me please.
I only tried to catch a criminal!
H-he deserved it anyway!
I swear, I’m the victim here!

 

One hundred hours.
That’s how long it took.
What?
An exaggerated estimate?
Never mind those details!
Why did I need to go with the guard and spend so long ‘testifying’?
Just take away those kidnappers and do whatever you want with them!
I don’t care!
It’s late!
I just wanna sleep already!
Arrrrgh!

What…?
A notorious kidnapper group…?
Reward money for catching them?
W-well if you put it that way…
Huh?!
Two gold coins?!
Why are they worth so much more than wolves?!
That’s… actually amazing!
I should just catch all the kidnappers and turn them in!
Easy money!

But that’s for later.
I’m so tired…
I need to sleep.

After finally leaving the guard station, I headed back to the inn.
No stares this time.
What a relief.

Back at the inn.
Hmm.
Nobody is at the main hall.
And nobody at the counter.
Well, it IS the dead of the night, after all.
Let’s go to sleep as well.
I’m so tired…

Head up the stairs.
Locate my room.
Open the door.
Enter.
Lock the door.
Jump-… no, gently lie down on the bed.
Good night~

 


Note:
For clarity, here are the coin values:
10 Copper = 1 Big copper
100 Copper = 1 Silver
1 000 Copper = 1 Big silver
10 000 Copper = 1 Gold
100 000 Copper = 1 Big gold
1 000 000 Copper = 1 Azurite

There are no big azurite coins.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment