Curse of the kat – ch 8

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 8 – The cat avoids event flags

Knock knock.

“Miss, it’s breakfast time.”

Good morning.
I was so tired, I didn’t even wake up to the inn lady’s presence outside.
It was her knocks that woke me up.
If that was a kidnapper instead…
Well, I think it’s alright.
This inn is mostly safe.

“Coming!”

I got up, put on my dress and gloves and grabbed my bag.
Then, I left my room and headed downstairs.
What’s for breakfast?
It’s…
Bread and fruit again.
Well, I would like some variety, but…
I guess it’s fine.
After all, isn’t this inn really cheap?
Just one silver coin for a night including breakfast?
That’s a great deal if I’ve ever seen one!
Repetitive food is forgiven!

Now then…
I finished my breakfast.
What should I do today?
I think I will head to the guild.
But not to get requests…
It’s to make sure the poison hasn’t killed anyone.
He said he would be careful, but still…

Walk to the guild.
Endure stares.

Wait, those stares aren’t centered on me.
What is that over there?
A fancy-looking carriage driving through the street?
The armored people sitting by the driver look scary.
They have that ‘I will kill you if you get in my way’ expression on their face.
I bet their boss is some arrogant rich girl.
Let’s avoid it.
They might even want to behead me for being rude or something.
I definitely want to avoid such people.

Just keep walking to the guild…
Ignore all the ruckus.
Yep, just like that.
The carriage is already far away.
I’m well on my way to the guild.
I avoided a possibly dangerous event.
Good job, me!

I have arrived.
It seems much busier than yesterday.
So much so, that nobody even looked at me as I entered.
Did something happen?

Don’t tell me…
The poison…?!

“Hello there, miss Nina.”
And who are you, sir who randomly approached me?
A mustache and an expensive-looking robe…
Oh, aren’t you the pervert who wanted to get his hands on a cat outfit?
Vincent… Gazick, was it?

“H-hello… did something happen here?”
Please don’t say the word ‘poison’.

“Hmm? Well, I’m not sure. I just heard some rumors about a werewolf appearing.”
Not poison.
Good.
But…
A werewolf?
Like a beast person…?
Why would that cause ruckus?

“By the way, have you by any chance reconsidered? I wouldn’t mind buying those clothes off of you either.”
He patted a small bag tied to his waist.
The contents clinked.

“No. Sorry.”
And it would be great if you could stop asking.
I’m not giving away all of this.
In the first place, you can’t even use it if you aren’t blessed by the Kat!

“That’s too bad… well, I gotta go now, see you.”
He swiftly leaves the building.
Wave my hand at his leaving figure…

Actually, he did the same thing last time.
As soon as I rejected him, he went away.
Wouldn’t that normally be considered rude?
I don’t mind though.
It’s better than if he continued pressing me.
Yup, just go away.

Now…
What was it about a werewolf?
Let’s ask the staff.

“Excuse me…”
I found the same woman as last time.
The one who handled my registration.

“Hello. How can I help you?”
No change in expression.
What a professional.
I bet others would flinch or frown at me.

“What’s happening?”
I glanced around the surroundings.

“Ah… you see, someone spotted a werewolf last night.”
Werewolf.
No, seriously.
Isn’t that just a beast person?
People didn’t panic when they spotted me…
Though, I’m a human.

“Is that different from… beast people?”

“What are you talking about? You don’t know what a werewolf is…?”
Shake my head.

“A werewolf is not a beast person. It’s a human, most of the time.”
Huh?
Then why do you call them werewolves?

“But because of a curse, they turn into a dangerous beast at night.”
Oh…
I think I enabled existence of curses like that.
But now that I think about it…
It’s weird to have both werewolves and wolf beast people…
Eh…
Whatever.

“So, I get a reward if I hunt it down?”

“Yes, you do, but…”

Why are you wordlessly staring at me?

“A werewolf is something a B rank party would normally take on. I’m not saying you aren’t strong, but…”
She sighed.
“It would be seriously dangerous. Even for you.”
Or so she says.
Well, so far, I have only fought wolves and kidnappers.
A werewolf is likely orders of magnitude stronger than any of those.
In theory, I could join a party to make it more manageable, but…

Yeah, screw it.

“Okay… I won’t get involved.”
But still…
I can’t help but be curious about it.

Wait a second.
That was totally a flag, wasn’t it?
Now I’m gonna meet it whether I want to or not.
Crap.

Well, I better prepare for a sudden encounter with a werewolf then.

Walk out of the guild.
Head to the easter gate again.
Greet the-
Hmm?
Where’s the local resident I’m familiar with?
There’s a different guard this time.
Did he move out?
Huh…?
He doesn’t live here, you say?
Long shifts…?
So that’s what it was.
I shall never become a guard.
Thank you for warning me.

After showing my card and getting through, I headed to the forest again.
But this time, my plan isn’t to kill wolves.
It’s to test the rest of my abilities.

Cat soul
Temporarily turns you into a wild animal. You gain bonus agility for the duration.

Actually, I have already used it…
When fighting wolves.
When beating up the kidnappers.
Maybe even when I threatened the ugly adventurer guy.
I used it unconsciously.
When the situation called for it.

‘Good enough!’
That’s probably what most would think.
But it’s not enough!
I want to be able to control it!
When I first got into this world, I got attacked by wolves and I couldn’t activate the cat soul!
If it was something stronger than wolves, I would be a goner!

But I’m really not sure how to practice this.
Should I try to hype myself up or something?
Maybe remember something annoying to get angry?

And also…
How can I tell if it worked?
I have only realized recently that I’ve been unconsciously using it.
But when the cat soul activates, I don’t realize it.
Hmm…

 

I ended up practicing how to move my tail instead.
What?
I said I would do that at some point.
And that’s at least something where I can tell if I’m progressing or not!
I can pick up sticks with it now!
It’s amazing!

Ok, fine.
Back to trying the cat soul thing…

Actually.
What about magic?
There is magic in this world.
Basic level magic should be fairly common.
Something like a spark of fire or gentle breeze is something pretty much anyone can do with some practice.
But of course, anything more powerful than that is always harder to pull off.
Mages who can level a village with a single spell should be one in a million or so.
The question is…
Where do I fall?
What did the ‘randomize’ give me?
Let’s remove a glove and give it a try.

Flick.
Flick.

Trying to create a spark with my fingers.
But it’s only making the sound.
Come on…

Flick.
Flick.
Flick.

Come on!
I pretty much created the magic system!
Don’t tell me I can’t use it!

Flickflickflick.

It’s useless…
Not even the smallest of sparks.
I hate you Kat!

Ugh, fine.
I’ll get back to practicing cat soul.

 

Hmm?
What is that scent?
A wolf?
No…
It’s slightly different.
A different kind of wolf?
Let’s check it out.

Wait!
No!
No no no!
I’m not falling for that!

Here I have:
1. A smell similar to a wolf
2. Information about a werewolf being spotted in town

If I put two and two together, it’s obvious what it is!

Even if I have multiple lives!
Even if I have overpowered equipment!
I’m not keen on rushing into an unknown danger!
And even if I am strong enough to defeat it…
I wouldn’t defeat it flawlessly!
And pain sucks!
Let’s run away!

Back at the city gate.
Quickly pass the identity test and enter.
Phew.
I have avoided another bad event!

Let’s proudly bask in the sunlight as a reward!

Wait…
Sunlight?
The werewolf only comes out at night, right?

I’m stupid.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment