Curse of the Kat – ch 13

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 13 – The cat feels bad for the werewolf

It’s still the middle of the night.
Somehow, I didn’t notice that when I woke up.
I blame enhanced eyesight.

Anyway, I need to find out what happened after I lost consciousness.
That’s that plan, but…
Even after leaving the room, I couldn’t find anyone to ask.
Well, of course.
Everyone is probably asleep at this time.
But screw that!
I want information!
Did they catch the werewolf?
Or did he flee again?
I need to know!

I tried to exit the building, but the door didn’t budge.
In fact, none of the doors leading outside could be used.
The entire building was locked.

I can’t get out.
And busting a door doesn’t seem wise.
What a pain.
Are you telling me I should just go back to sleep?
I won’t sleep until I get some answers!
How can I sleep with all of this on my mind!

Return to the room where I woke up.
Open a window.
Jump out.

There we go.
I’m outside.
What now, though?
The guild is probably closed already.
And there won’t be any people walking around at this hour…
Maybe I can look for a guard who works at night?
Hmm, let’s try that I guess.

 

“Hello.”
I’m at the eastern gate again.
So nostalgic.

“… what are you doing here this late?”
This guy is especially nostalgic.
It’s the guard who made me scrub the dirtied cart.
Ah, all of the pain and embarrassement I suffered…
Ugh…

“Do you know what happened? To the werewolf?”

“The werewolf? He was captured and put in a prison cell for now.”
They… succeeded?
They did it!
And the city isn’t even being invaded by his summons!
I thought for sure the werewolf would flee again.
Ah, now I go and sleep peacefully.

“… you know, I heard you were part of the subjugation.”
He heard?
I guess the others told him.

“But you sure are lively considering you collapsed during the hunt.”
They didn’t need to tell him everything…
I still feel like kicking myself for letting my strength turn into a weakness…
I got too haughty, thinking I’m the strongest…
Ugh…
I learned my lesson, okay?!
Stop looking at me like that!

After finding out about the situation, I was finally able to calm down.
With that said, I thought about going back to sleep.
But the question was, where?
I still should have one night paid for at the inn.
But at the same time, if the medics find my room empty, it might cause some problems.
In the end, I decided to return to the medical facility.
The softness of the bed there decided it.
It’s way better than the bedrock at the inn.

 

 

Good morning.

“You’re awake! I was so worried!”
You didn’t need to be, Vincent.
My ability to regenerate is quite ridiculous.
Actually, you should know about it, right?
You saw all of these effects with your appraisal skill thing.

“I’m fine.”
And you Mrs. medic over there, you can stop your wide-eyed stare now.
I know you are surprised by my recovery speed, but it’s not like I was badly injured, you know?

“So, what exactly happened after I… collapsed?”

“Right, so basically…”

In short, after I stabbed the werewolf, he let out a momentary howl, before seemingly running out of breath.
It appeared as if something got stuck in his throat.
No matter how much he tried, his voice wouldn’t come out.
While he struggled with that, Harold once again rescued me and brought me to safety.
The rest of the party soon arrived, and together, they fought the mute werewolf.
Since he couldn’t use his roar, there was no danger of the city getting sieged by his summons.
With that handicap and my poison numbing his movements, the beast has been pacified and captured.
But the question still remained.
Why did he suddenly go mute?
Was it something about the werewolf curse?
Did he run out of breath?
Or did my poison do that?

With that question in my mind, we headed to where the werewolf was kept.
Or rather, the man who carried the werewolf curse.
After meeting up with the rest of the party, we headed to the prison.
One of the guards there guided us to a special cell.
It had bars made out of enchanted steel.
The man inside was also tied with chains.

“Hello.”

“…”

No answer.
According to Vincent, the cursed victim faintly remembers what he did during his transformation.
I imagine he’s not exactly thrilled about this whole situation.
Knowing he transformed into a monster and attacked other people.
I kind of feel bad for him.

His head slowly rose up and his stare centered on Harold.
His mouth opened and closed, but no words came out.
Huh…
Is he perhaps… still mute?

“Looks like whatever happened to him is still in effect…”
Vincent came to the same conclusion.
What now?
We wanted to ask him a few things.
But if he’s like this…

“I guess we will have to postpone this. Let’s head to the guild for now.”
Everyone agreed to Harold’s proposal and left the prison.
As we walked through the streets, several people approached us and thanked us for bringing down the werewolf.
But, wait…
When did the word spread?
This didn’t happen when we went to the prison.
Seriously…
Are we like… heroes now?
I didn’t expect that.
I mean, we DID repel a dangerous threat, but still…
The surrounding people switched from staring at me to approaching and thanking me.
And while that’s nice and all…
After a few times, it got genuinely annoying.
Please go back to just staring.

We’ve arrived at the guild.
Finally…

“Well, let’s discuss the rewards now.”
Oh, rewards.
Hmm…
If capturing a few kidnappers can net me two gold coins…
Subjugating a werewolf should be even more, right?

“Since it was a joint effort, let’s split it accordingly.”
Everyone nodded.

“Then, the Shining steel party will get six gold coins, while Nina and Vincent both get two gold coins each.”
Shining steel.
That’s the name of the B party made up of Paul, Sena and Claudia.
The rest of us simply joined them for this one particular quest.
But it’s not like we have joined their party permanently.

But still…
Just two gold coins?
That’s the same as capturing a bunch of kidnappers!
How can those hoodlums be compared to a beast of the night?!

Oh well…

“Next… Nina. You are allowed to rank up to E now.”
Oh, a rank up.
That’s good.
But it still doesn’t feel like that rank is appropriate.

“Man, the ranking here is as dumb as ever…”
Vincent seems to think the same.

“Well, the rank isn’t just about strength, you know?”

“Yeah, yeah. A high ranked individual needs to be trusted as well, right?”

“Exactly.”

“But still, I don’t see a reason to mistrust someone, who risked their life protecting the city.”
Huh?
He’s standing up for me?
What is this?
Is he actually a really nice guy…?

No, there’s no way!
I bet he just wants me to owe him a favor!
And he will use that favor to nag me about the cat outfit again!

“Well, you aren’t wrong… but I’m not the one to decide these things, you know?”

“Hah! Aren’t you the guildmaster’s best buddy? I bet you can make something happen.”

“… I can try, I guess.”

Wow… he actually convinced him.
Wait.
Does that mean I owe him a favor now?
Ugh, don’t give me that wink and thumbs up!
It’s creepy!

“Well… bye.”
Let’s quickly leave.
I don’t like being around him anymore.

“Wai-”
Too late!
I’m already outside!
Hah!
Just try to catch up with my speed!
I’m the faste-ARGH!

Crash.

I’m sorry Mr. passer-by.
I didn’t mean to ram into you.
Please, forgive me.

 

Well, that’s the werewolf situation resolved… I hope.
I still feel a little bad about that guy with the curse, but I was told he wouldn’t be harmed.
Someone with a special skill will be hired to lift the curse and he should return to his normal life fairly soon.
Since it wasn’t his fault, he wouldn’t have to pay reparations or stay in prison.
Well, there’s still the psychological factor… but it should be mostly fine.

Now then…
With this wrapped up, I think it’s time to put… ‘THAT’… into motion.
Let the operation ‘Kitten bait’ start!
Heheheh…
Just you wait, kidnappers!
I will milk you dry!


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment