Curse of the Kat – ch 12

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 12 – The cat meets the werewolf

The sun is about to set.
It’s time to hunt the werewolf.
Hmm?
My air jumps?
Well, I can somewhat do a double jump now.
Triple and more is still too hard.
Hopefully, that’s gonna change…
Yes…
One day, I will fly in the sky!

Anyway, back to the werewolf hunt.
The initial plan is as follows:
We split into three groups of two and roam around a designated area of the city.
When a group finds the target, one person keeps the werewolf in check while the other one fetches the rest of the party.
That’s the most dangerous part of the plan.
With three groups, we need three different people with the ability to fend off the werewolf one on one for some time.
That was what took the majority of our discussion time.
And in the end, we decided.

Group one: Harold and Sena, the archer.
Harold would stay behind and Sena would fetch the rest.
Group two: Paul, the other warrior guy, and Claudia, the mage lady.
Paul stays behind and Claudia informs the others.
And group three: Me and the NPC perv- ahem… Vincent.
We discussed this for quite some time, but eventually came to a conclusion.
The one to stay behind would be Vincent.
Why?
Because he can hold the werewolf with a spell for a few minutes.
And I’m quick.
I can fetch the others within a few minutes no problem.
Once the whole party finally regroups, the fight can start for real.

 

And now, the hunt begins.
We split into our groups and each went to our designated part of the city.
That meant I would spend some time with Vincent…
Well, surprisingly, he stopped nagging me about my clothes.
I wonder why.
Maybe Claudia smacked him when I wasn’t looking?
She really likes smacking the guys for some reason.
Normally, I’m not a fan of pointless violence, but this time… go ahead!

But really, it was surprising.
Vincent’s only hobby isn’t cosplay.
Or rather, he says cosplay isn’t his hobby at all.
In reality, it seems like he has some kind of appraisal skill.
It only works on battle equipment, but…
Still, no wonder he immediately asked about my clothes as soon as he met me for the first time.
He knew about all of the ridiculous effects it had.
But it seems like he didn’t know it was blessed by Kat.
If he did, he wouldn’t be asking about the maker of this.
Either way, he promised to keep my clothes’ ability secret, so it’s fine.

As we walked through the empty streets, my nose picked up a smell.
It was kinda familiar… yet alien.
The citizens all know about the werewolf and stay at home when the moon comes out.
That meant there’s only one option.

“He’s here.”
I stopped Vincent and pointed in the direction where the scent was coming from.
He nodded and readied himself.

“I’ll leave it to you.”
As I said that, I bent my knees and jumped.
Then, I jumped again in the air and propelled myself just enough to land on a house roof.
One glance back revealed the werewolf slowly marching through the street.
It’s a bigger version of one of those black wolves standing on two feet.
And he seems quite angry.
Saliva is dripping from his fangs.

Let’s hurry up.
I kicked the ground… or roof, and dashed toward the other groups.
Right now, I get to jump on top of roofs like certain superheroes do!
But it’s not as fun as I imagined it.
And it’s all fault of these stupid slanted roofs!
Why don’t you build flat roofs, people?
Oh well…

 

Harold and Sena spotted.

“We found the werewolf!”

“Wh- Nina?!”
What?
Are you surprised I’m jumping on top of houses?
Or are you jealous?
Well, let’s leave it for now.

“He’s near Rennack’s shop!”
After informing them, I jump away and head toward the last group.
I hope Vincent is holding on.
Well, he has some backup incoming now, so I think it’s fine.

The last group spotted.

“We found the werewolf!”

“Whua?!”
That was a real strange sound you just made.

“… why are you jumping on roofs?”

“Because it’s faster.”

“… never mind, let’s go! Where is he?”

“He’s near Rennack’s shop!”
I told them the location and went right ahead.
What?
Go together?
No way.
The sooner I get back, the better.
These two will eventually arrive anyway.

So once again, I hop onto a roof and dash out.
I head straight to the place where I left Vincent.
And I soon spot the werewolf.
He is struggling to break out of a bind spell restraining him.
Good job holding him down, Vincent.

I don’t hesitate for a second and throw myself at the werewolf with my claws extended.
One slash gouges out his flesh and creates a wound on his back.
He barks in pain.
So loud…

“You’re back! What about the others?”
Huh?
Harold and the archer didn’t get here yet?
What’s taking them so long?

“They are on their way.”

“Alright then, can you-”
Vincent got interrupted by the werewolf tearing apart the bind spell.
His roars got even louder.
Ugh, a little too loud, don’t you think?!
It’s gonna give me a headache!

The werewolf turned around and clawed at me, but I easily dodged it by side stepping.
Is he really this sluggish?
Or is that the poison numbing his movements?
Either way, it’s much easier than I thought it would be.

A punch aimed to crush me.
Jump back to avoid it.
A horizontal slash with his claws.
Duck while clawing at his legs.

Really…
Is it possible that I can take on him all by myself…?

Irritated he can’t land any hits on me, he stopped and glared in my direction.
Shortly after that, he breathed in and…
My eardrums burst.
Or at least that’s what it felt like.
The roar was so loud, I couldn’t help but cover my ears and still fall down from the headache it gave me.
At that moment, my thoughts were all scrambling to find a way to stop that ringing sound in my ears.
I didn’t even notice he closed in on me again and threw a punch at me.
The punch stopped just short.
I noticed he got entangled by a spell again.
I could see Vincent opening his mouth and saying something.
But I couldn’t hear him.
My ears still ringing.

In the middle of that, Harold and Sena came to our aid.
Harold dragged me away and probably said some worrying words to me.
Meanwhile, Sena shot a few arrows at the werewolf’s joints while he still struggled in his bindings.
Holding my head, I gazed at Harold’s mouth as it opened and closed.
My thoughts still in chaos.
But behind Harold, I saw the werewolf.
His mouth opened and his belly slowly expanded.

Not again!

I immediately stood up and ran at the werewolf.
My only thoughts were ‘SHUT UP!’ as I buried my claws in his stomach.
I’m not sure what happened after that.
I blacked out.

 

 

Mhm…
Huh?
What?
Where am I?
What is this place?
I’m lying in a bed…?
Hmm, I’m still wearing the Kat clothes.
And my bag is on a small table near the bed.
Oh, is this the medical facility?

What did I…

I was… in the middle of a battle, wasn’t I?
The werewolf…
I stabbed him…
And then lost consciousness?
Ah…
It was the roar, wasn’t it?
Damn…
To think my enhanced senses would be used against me…
Maybe I should take the headband off next time…

Wait.
Will there be next time?
What happened after I dropped?
The fact that I didn’t die means someone had to save me from there…
And that would be one less person focusing on the werewolf.
There’s no way he can be beaten in a situation like that, right?
Or maybe he was weakened enough from the poison?

Well, lying around won’t tell me anything.
Let’s get up.
Ugh…
I say that, but it’s surprisingly difficult.
Status.

Name: Nina
Level: 12
Strength: 14/29
Endurance: 21/30
Speed: 32/39
Magic: 19/24

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat gloves
Kat slippers

Skills:
Cat soul+ (on)
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Huh…
My strength is halved… is that why it’s so hard to get up?
Actually, all of my stats are drained.
Why…?
What drained me so much?
Was it the werewolf’s roar…?
Maybe it’s actually some sort of debuffing skill…?
Hmm…

Hmmm?
Cat soul+?
It leveled up?
And it’s (on) again…
Let’s turn it off and see what happened to it then…

Cat soul+
Temporarily turns you into a wild animal. You gain bonus agility for the duration.
You have mastered this skill and are now able to unlock its variants.

Available variants:

Oh, so it’s one of those skills.
I remember creating this sort of system to prevent status from getting cluttered with skills.
Looks like Kat kept that in.

But I have wasted enough time.
It’s time to get up.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment