Curse of the Kat – ch 18

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 18 – The cat is a charming girl

Knock knock.
Rodrick softly knocked on the door.

“W-who is it…?”
A startled voice of a girl responded from the other side.

“It’s me, Rodrick. May I enter?”

“… go ahead.”
With her permission, the butler opened the door and we entered.
As soon as we did, a girl with curly blond hair came to my view.
Age-wise, she looked to be sixteen or so, similar to my current appearance.
She wore a light blue dress, which matched her eyes.
All of her attention focused on me.
She was probably either trying to figure out who I am, or just being baffled by my clothes.

“Good morning, Mistress. Are you feeling better?”
Rodrick drew her attention.

“Yes… thank you Rodrick. Umm…”
But then her eyes wandered back to me.

“Let me introduce you. Mistress, this is Nina, the adventurer who agreed to help us.”

“Hi. I’m Nina.”

“Miss Nina, this is-”

“Eh?! S-she’s the adventurer?! But she’s the same age as me!”
Yep.
All nobles are rude on their first meeting with me.
Noted down and remembered.

“Excuse me, mistress. She might not look it, but she a very powerful individual.”
She looked back and forth between me and the butler.
I can clearly see the doubt in her expression.

“… R-Rodrick, this isn’t funny! I’m really going to die next time!”
She’s traumatized, it seems…
But still…
Shouldn’t you trust your butler a bit?

“Mistress, I assure you this is no joke or a trick. There is nobody better for the job than miss Nina here.”
You aren’t doing too well in convincing her Mr. butler.
Look, she’s almost crying here.
She probably thinks you have abandoned her or something.

“Anyway, as I was saying… Miss Nina, this is mistress Deliah Heinzel, the one you will be guarding.”
I nodded.
Yeah, I got it.
But we should really do something about those pleading eyes of hers.

“Miss Nina, would you be so kind and show mistress your ability?”
Yep, the master butler gets it.
The only way to convince her is to show her.
Well, let’s do it then.

 

“I’m sorry for underestimating you…”
Aaand she’s convinced.
All it took was a quick spar with a few guards.
I didn’t use my claws of course, but it still ended in an instant.
The strength increase on these gloves is quite something, isn’t it?
I wonder if those guards are okay…?

“It’s fine.”
I waved my hand at the apologizing noble girl.
I mean, that’s the point here, isn’t it?
I’m supposed to look weak at first sight.

“That was… splendid. I didn’t expect you to be this strong.”
Mmm, compliments…
Keep them coming Rodrick.

“Now then, should we go over your disguise next?”
I nodded.

“Then, Aisha, I will leave it to you.”
As he said that, a woman in a maid dress emerged from behind Rodrick.
An enviable chest, short brown hair and…

Huh?
Wait…
Are those… animal ears?
It’s…
It’s a cat girl maid!
A real beastkin unlike me!
Wow…
This city only had humans, so this is my first time meeting an actual fantasy race!
She looks so-

Umm, why is she staring at me like that…
It’s uncomfortable…
Is she…

Huh.
W-wait a minute.
I’m wearing an outfit that imitates a beastkin, right?
In other words, her kind.
Wouldn’t that be considered…
Extremely racist…?
Oh no…
I haven’t thought about that at all!
What if she-

“Oh my god! You are adorable!”

Huh.
I have been hugged.
This is the exact opposite reaction I’ve been expecting.
W-why…?
She’s totally infatuated with me!
That makes no sense!

“I didn’t know this level of cuteness was possible!”
Don’t rub your face on mine!
And stop squeezing me like that!
If this Kat dress didn’t have defensive properties, I would turn into cat sauce!
Someone!
Help!

 

Now, excuse me…
But why did I become a dress-up doll of this overly enthusiastic maid?
And why is Deliah just watching from afar?
You can’t ignore your mistress, Mrs. maid!
If you focus all of your attention on me, she won’t be happy!

“And, there! You look gorgeous!”
Hmm…?
Did the torture session end already?
Thank god…

The maid dragged me in front of a mirror and showed me my new form.
Now… who in the world is that person inside the mirror?

The blond wig makes my hair look a bit like Deliah’s.
My usual short black hair is completely covered.
Not a single black strand can be seen.
And the wig kind of fits my yellow eyes.
Not bad.
These white gloves also perfectly cover my black Kat gloves.
My hands are no longer shaped like cat paws.
I have no idea how that works.
But also not bad.
However…
What’s with this frilly pink dress?
It’s so big, it completely covers the Kat dress.
You DO know that I will have to fight in this, right?
I can’t even walk in this, much less fight!
Moreover, who in their right might would wear something like this?!
I’m not a doll on display!

“Umm…”
Oh, the noble girl is speaking out!
Save me!

“Oh, mistress! Look at her! Isn’t she adorable?”
No, it’s not!
My dignity is plummeting!
And, what the heck?!
Even when speaking to her, all your attention is on me?!
What’s wrong with this maid?!

“Yeah, umm… Aisha… she won’t be able to fight in that.”
I’m saved!

“Eh?! Fight?! Why would you force someone this cute to fight?!”
Wha-
Hey!
Did nobody tell her the point of all of this?!

“Aisha! She’s supposed to be my guard in disguise!”
Yeah!
Tell her!

“B-but… that’s… ugh…”
Why are you making an expression like it’s the end of the world?!
I’m not here to be dressed in pretty clothes!
I have a serious job to do!

“Just give her something smaller… something easier to move in.”

“… I understand.”
Oh, finally…

“So, you aren’t just really cute, but also a strong fighter, right? That’s so amazing!”
No, I’m really not that cute.
Please stop trying to crush me in your embrace.

 

Hmm, this is better.
A much shorter yellow dress.
Just enough to cover the other dress underneath it.
The Kat slippers… were not a problem.
Just like the Kat gloves, they seemed to have shrunk and adjusted their shape as soon as I put these shiny shoes over them.
Is that one of the effects of these clothes?
I don’t remember anything like that…
I wish I knew about it sooner though.

“Oh my, you look cute in anything!”
And… this maid is getting a little creepy.
We met for the first time not too long ago.
Moreover, I’m not really that cute as she says.
In my opinion, Deliah is way prettier than me.
And yet… she completely ignores her and focuses on me.

“Aisha, can you leave the two of us alone for a bit?”
Deliah spoke up to the maid.

“Eh? …err, yes, as you wish…”
What’s with that sad look?
You are just leaving the room!
It’s not like you are never going to see me again!

The door closed behind her and I was left alone with the noble girl Deliah.

“So… where are you from?”
A sudden question.
I shall give my classic answer!

“From very far away…”

“… and very far away is… where?”
Ugh…
No way!
She’s the first one to keep asking!
What do I say now?!

“Err… umm…”
D-dammit!
I’m cornered!

“You can’t tell me? Why…?”

“Well… erm… I… it’s that…”
My are my improvising skills so bad?!

“Are you… the one after my life?”

Huh?
What’s with that conclusion…?

Now that I look at her closely, there’s fear clearly shown in her eyes.

“N-no! I’m not!”

“So you really are… can I at least ask why?”

“But I’m not!”

“… first arrived in this city just before the werewolf appeared.”
Huh…
Now that I think about it, that was quite the timing, wasn’t it?

“Refuses to reveal her origins…”
Well, I can’t just say I’m from another world, can I?

“And charmed Aisha with some spell…”
Cha-

Huh?

“She never acts like that! You obviously did something to her!”
W-what?!
But I didn’t do anything!
I really don’t know why she’s like that!

“It’s obvious that you are here to assassinate me! S-so please… a-at least tell me why…”

What do I do?
I can’t come up with any excuse or explanation.
Just be honest?
Would that even solve anything?
She might just think I’m crazy.

“I am… from another world.”

“… what are you…”

“I arrived in this world just a week ago. The werewolf… was probably a coincidence.”
Yep, a blank expression.
She thinks I’m crazy.

“And I have no idea why that cat maid is-”
In the middle of my sentence, something clicked.
When I said ‘cat maid’, a thought emerged inside my head.
I quickly opened up my status and looked at the thing I have always ignored up till now.

Blessing of the Kat
Allows the user to wear equipment blessed by the Kat. The user is also sometimes able to communicate with the Kat at designated locations. Lastly, all feline creatures will become friendly.

‘All feline creatures will become friendly.’

A-are you serious?!
Don’t tell me…!
Cat girls count as felines?!


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment