Curse of the Kat – ch 19

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 19 – The cat is otherwordly

All feline creatures will be friendly with me.
Feline means catlike or resembling a cat.
Aisha, the maid from before, is a cat beastkin.

Yep.
It all makes sense in the end.

No, it doesn’t!
What the heck is this!
I thought I’ll simply befriend some animals with that!
But am I actually going to make a full-on harem of catgirls and catboys?!
That sounds both amazing and horrifying!

Oh, I just remembered I was in the middle of something.
Right…
There’s a girl who suspects me of being the creep who kept harassing her with wolves.

“… I’m sorry, you were right.”

“H-huh…?”

“I think I accidentally charmed your maid.”

“… accidentally?”

“Cats… and cat-like animals get charmed by me… but I didn’t think it would work on a beastkin…”
Come on…
What’s with those doubting eyes?
I’m telling the truth!

“… is it a skill? Or a curse?”

“It’s a blessing, it says…”
But I guess you could call it a curse too.
I wouldn’t put it besides that god to give me a curse and call it a blessing.
Seriously…
If that was ‘being friendly’, I’m a little afraid to meet any other beast people…

“And that… another world…?”
Yes, I’m from another world.

“What about it?”

“Umm, you mean another country…?”
Huh?

“No, it’s another world…”

Wait…
You don’t know about the concept of other worlds?
W-well I mean, it IS kind of a weird and crazy concept, isn’t it?
But I took it for granted since I read and watched so much fiction in my previous life…
How do I even explain it to her…?

“Err… it means that umm…”
Yes, I know you are curious.
But please, if you stare at me like that, the answer won’t arrive sooner.
It will only make me more nervous!

“This world has like… countries and people and everything in it… but there are other worlds with their own…. things inside them… they have different laws… like… no magic… no status screen and umm…”

“… status screen?”

“Y-yeah, my world didn’t have a status screen like this one…”

“No err… what’s a status screen…?”

What?
She doesn’t even know about that?
Isn’t it one of the most basic laws of this world?
Just what is-
Wait…
Something isn’t right here…
Could it be…
People in this world don’t naturally have a status screen?
I have always assumed everyone has their own status screen they can access…
But what if it’s only me?

“… try to chant ‘status’ in your head.”
No, I didn’t escape from an asylum.
Stop with those looks.

“Just do it!”

“Y-yes?!”
I startled her…
Well, I would also be startled if a crazy person suddenly yelled at me.
… but I’m not crazy!

“Umm…”
It doesn’t seem like it worked for her…
So is it really unique to just me…?
No, but…
Didn’t she mention ‘skills’ herself?
How can she know about skills if she can’t access the status screen…?

“… what’s supposed to happen?”

“Well… you are supposed to see your name, level, equipment, skills… and so on…”

“See my-”
Her eyes widened and mouth hung agape.

“W-what is this…? Strength… level… magic…”
Huh…?
NOW it worked for her?

Okay, I don’t know anymore.
What’s going on?
Did I somehow give her the ability to open the status screen?
No way!
I didn’t even do anything!
I just told her what’s in it!

Maybe telling her allowed her to imagine it better and thus realize it…?
Argh!
What’s with that logic?!
It’s like from some cheesy TV shows!
‘If you believe in it, it will happen!’
As if!

While I tried to figure out logic behind all of this madness, Deliah stood there, staring into empty space.
Probably looking through her status screen.

“E-excuse me… u-umm, how do I… oh it vanished…”
Was she trying to close the status?
Looks like she succeeded.

“I umm… I think I believe you now… err yeah, I believe you… probably…”
That’s good…
But what’s with that overwhelming uncertainty…?

“So… you really are here to help me, right…?”

“Of course!”
My guild rank up depends on this quest!
If I do well, I will skip months of boring low tier quests!

“Then-”
Knock knock.

A knock on the door interrupted her.
She glanced at it and after a short pause she replied.

“… who is it?”

“It’s Aisha. Can I come in?”
Deliah looked at me and then back at the door.

“Go ahead…”

The door opened and the maid entered.
But…
She wasn’t the only one.
Something else entered with her.
I didn’t see what it was, though.
And neither did those two.
I couldn’t see it, but I could feel it…
I heard it’s light steps…
Smell it’s scent…
An alarm rang in my head and I activated cat soul.

“Hiyaaa?!”
I startled both of them when I did that.
But I ignored that.
I lunged at an empty spot next to Aisha and slashed with my claws there.
Blood spurted out of the air and sprayed over me and the maid.
She fell on her butt in shock while screaming.

A second later, the intruder got gradually revealed.
The corpse of a beast with white fur motionlessly lied there.
Of course, it was a wolf…
What else, right?
But…
An invisible wolf?
Seriously?

“W-w-w-w-what just happened?!”
Calm down, it’s just wolf blood.
I know it’s gross, but the threat is gone.
No need to panic.

“Was it… invisible?”
See?
Learn from your mistress!
She’s so calm and collected!

Never mind, she’s pale and shaking.

“Seems like it.”
While the bloody maid lied on the floor and looked around, Deliah nervously stared at the wolf corpse for a few seconds.
After those few seconds, she closed her eyes and gulped.

“… Aisha, call everyone here!”
But even though she’s clearly shaken, she can still act rationally.
How admirable…

“R-right away!”
The maid got up and dashed away again.

She’s still covered in blood though.
I expect to hear surprised screams in a second.

“How did you know…?”

“I have enhanced senses…”

“Really…”

Hey now…
Don’t go back to distrusting me!
I saved you just now, didn’t I?!

“If you… sense any others, warn me.”

“Sure.”
Hmm, maybe she still trusts me after all.
But why did she emphasize ‘sense’?
It almost sounded like sarcasm…

“What hap- oh my god!”
Ah, hello Rodrick.
Just in time.

 

“Invisibility… so that’s how they got into the mansion…”
Aldrick clenched his fists.

“Miss Nina… could I bother you with searching the mansion to find whether there are more of them hiding?”

“Sure.”

I’m getting quite hungry though…
I’ve only eaten the inn breakfast before coming here.
And then I spent quite the while being used as a dress-up doll…
Oh well, I wouldn’t want my meal to be interrupted by an invisible wolf, so I’ll do it.

For this task, I took off my disguise.
I didn’t know whether the culprit could see though the eyes of his minions, but I still took this precaution.

Even though he might have already seen me through the invisiwolf I downed.
Or maybe not.
I did it quickly and hit the eyes, so maybe this whole disguise plan isn’t a bust yet.
No, but…
Then he would still know that there is someone who can instakill a minion of his…
Ugh, let’s just hope he can’t see.
Time to search for the wolf assassins.

The dining room, the servant’s quarters, the attic, the garden.
I searched through everywhere.
But it seems like the culprit only sends out his furry spies one by one.
I’m not sure if that’s good or bad…

After I was done, I joined the Heinzel family for lunch.
That’s why the maid initially went to Deliah’s room, isn’t it?
Anyway, even if I say the Heinzel family, it was just the father, the daughter and me.
Deliah’s mother isn’t in this place.
And the servants didn’t join us at the table.
All of that difference in status nonsense…
I think the only reason why I could join was because Deliah invited me.
Are we friends now?
I wouldn’t mind…

After lunch, it was time to throw out the fishing line and wait for the fish to bite.
In other words, I put on my disguise again and acted as a powerless girl.
Maybe a little rushed, but I get why.
It’s just a father worried about his daughter’s safety.

Well…
Let us begin.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment