Curse of the Kat – ch 21

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 21 – The cat meets a gorilla

“Good morning.”

“Good morning.”
Huh, what is this?
Why does your face not look sleepy at all?
I was looking forward to seeing that!

Knock knock.

“Mistress, it’s time to wake- oh, are you both awake already?”
Hello Mrs. cat maid.

“Good morning, Aisha.”

“Good morning.”
I see your innocent smile.
But I won’t be fooled!
Behind that mask are only malicious thoughts of wanting to hug me!

“I’m glad nothing happened…”
Yeah, no attacks.
Suspicious…?
Maybe.
But at least I got to have a peaceful chat with Deliah.

 

After breakfast, I idly sat around, waiting for the enemy.
But nothing happened.
Nobody attacked.
No invisiwolves sneaked inside.
I started to think that the criminal gave up.
But that can’t be, right?
Villains like that always go to the extreme to get what they want!
That’s right!
Maybe he’s just waiting for the right moment to strike!

Or maybe I’m overthinking this.

While I waited for nothing, Deliah was busy studying.
In reality, she goes to school in this city.
Yes…
School…
The dreaded prison-like facility that forces you to learn nonsense.
And on top of that, you have to put up with bullies!
It’s the worst place ever!
Why would you voluntarily go there?!

Well, apparently this world’s schools are a bit different.
Only nobles and richer merchants can afford to send their children to schools.
And it’s also a lot less strict compared to my old world’s schools from what Deliah has told me.
The bullies are still there though…

Lunch time.
No signs of the criminal.
It’s starting to get really irritating…
Don’t tell me my job is done!
The bad guy is still somewhere out there!
And I bet that he’s plotting his next evil plan!
The moment I let my guard down, he will strike!

 

Dinner.
Still nothing.
Now I just feel like I’m freeloading here…
And even getting paid for it!
That feels really wrong!
Where is that stupid stalker?!
Come out and get captured!
Dammit!

Ugh…
Well, at least I get to have my bedtalk with Deliah again.
Nothing wrong with that, right?

The next day it was time for Deliah to go to school.
Hmm?
Accompany you to school?
Uhh, sure…
I have to guard you after all.

Err…
Well, you’re right.
It WOULD be weird for a little girl to be standing guard…
But, umm… disguised as your classmate?
T-that’s quite…
I mean…
I thought it’s really hard to get accepted into a school!
Huh?
It’s common for the noble’s children to have guards hidden among the other students?
Just how much assassination goes on in this world?!
Oh, it’s to prevent bullying…

But then, can’t you use these guards to bully others as well?
There are holes in this logic…

Erm, fine, I guess…
I’ll go with you…
But…
You better be thankful!
I’m going to that hellish place just for you!

 

We are on our way to the child torture institution.
Me and Deliah are inside, while Rodrick sits outside and drives the carriage.
It’s not the carriage we used to travel to this city.
It’s a different, a bit smaller, one.
But there’s still plenty of space for us.

Now then…
Wolves?
None.
Suspicious people trailing us?
None.
Again, it’s very peaceful.
Maybe the criminal really gave up?

Hah!
As if I would believe that!

We’re here.
The school grounds are even bigger than your main mansion.
So many kids dressed in extravagant clothes…
And armed people everywhere…
Those are probably the guards.
Yeah…
This is nothing like the schools I know.

“Heeeey! Deliaaah!”
Huh, it’s a redhead.
And she’s sprinting at full speed this way.
Is that your friend?
Or should I neutralize her?

“You’re finally back!”
… I think suffocating hugs are a custom in this world.
Are you okay, Deliah?
Your face tells me you are in pain.

I should have neutralized her, after all.

“H-hi Mable… it’s only been a few days you know…”

“But it felt like months! I’ve missed you so much!”
Okay, I think it’s about time you stopped squeezing her!

That’s it!
It’s time to eliminate the threat!

“By the way, I didn’t know you had a sister.”
She glanced at me in my disguise, still holding Deliah in her grip.

“Hi, I’m Nina.”
And I’ll destroy you if you don’t let her go right now.

“She’s my step-sister… she will stay in our mansion for a few days…”
That’s the fake backstory we’re going with.
Now, let her go or I’ll-

“Hello! I’m Mable!”
U-ugh?!
She changed aggro to me!
It’s good that you aren’t crushing Deliah anymore, but don’t do it to me now!
I can feel it even with the Kat dress enhancing my defense!
Are you a gorilla?!
King Kong?!
What are-

It’s here…
Finally, the criminal decided to show up.
It’s subtle, but it’s not something I’ll miss.
Even while getting crushed by the great red ape.
I can sense it…
The scent of a wolf.
It’s weak, but it’s definitely there.
Behind me…
Watching me…?
Dammit!
This stupid gorilla!
Release me!
I need to take care of the real threat!

“M-Mable! Stop it already!”

“Oh! Sorry!”

I’m released…
Yes.
This corpse lying on the ground.
That’s me.

And the wolf scent is gone.
I could have sworn there was someone…
Was it the criminal…?
Or did I mistake it for something?
How can a scent disappear just like that…?

It must have been my imagination!
Not!

As Deliah helped me get up, I whispered in her ear.
“The wolf is near…”
She froze for a brief moment.

 

The enemy disappeared as suddenly as he appeared.
Part of me wanted to chase after him, but I decided to stay with Deliah in the end.
What if it was just a bait, after all?
I couldn’t deny that possibility.

While Deliah and the hug machine talked, I silently informed Rodrick about my findings.
Naturally, he got worried and told me to be careful.
But I assured him I’ll do my job.

Then, me, Deliah and the gorilla called Mable headed to class.
And simply put… Deliah lied to me.
It’s EXACTLY like the schools in my old world.
The classmates form something like mafia groups and constantly engage in wars.
Well, violence is prohibited, so it’s mostly verbal.
Noble ranks… seriously, why do they care so much about that?
Please leave me out of it.
I care about your noble rank as much as I care about how many strands of hair grows on your head.

But unfortunately, we encountered one of those groups on our way to class.

“Oh, if it isn’t the little girl and her gorilla! You’ve got a new pet following you?”
Pet?!
Just so you know, I’m not an actual cat!
Moreover, I’m wearing a disguise, so how could you even tell?!

“Get lost, Greg!”
The gorilla spoke up.
Oh, I see now…
So she’s some sort of bodyguard?
Now I get why you let yourself be squeezed by someone like that.
It’s a payment for her bodyguard duties!

“Shut up, I’m not talking to you!”

Now, THAT’S how I imagined a noble to be like.
Thanks for confirming I wasn’t wrong.

“Hi, I’m Nina.”
And your face looks very punchable.

“Heh, you’re pretty cute. How about you be my concubine?”
Five… no six punches in the face.
I think that’s a fair amount.

Hmm?
What’s with that ghastly pale face?
Oh I see…
I accidentally activated cat soul and took a step forward.
Good thing my claws didn’t extend.
I’m still trying to keep my disguise, after all.

“Ha-haha… so you are accepting? What a cheap wom-”
Seven.
Any less wouldn’t be a fair trade.

Oh, he fell down.
Perfect.
Looks like he accepted his punishment.

A hand on my shoulder.
What is it, Deli-

Why are you pale as well?
Are you telling me to stop?
But why?
This guy deserves at least seven punches in the face.

Alright, fine…
I’ll let him go…

“… scram.”
I always wanted to say that…
And it worked.
He and his goons ran away.
I’m pretty sure they shouted some cliche villain lines, but whatever.

“Wow! You managed to scare off Greg! How cool!”
… and why are you not affected at all?
I thought my cat soul scares people.
Is there an exception for gorillas?
Whatever…
Let’s just go to the class…


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment