Curse of the Kat – ch 22

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 22 – The cat finds the culprit

Oh hey, we are in the same class as that Greg guy.
What’s with that look, Greg guy?
You’re looking at me as if I killed your father or something.
I hope you aren’t planning anything reckless.
Because I AM going to stab you if you attack us.

Ignoring him, we got seated.
Conveniently, the spot to the right of Deliah isn’t taken, so I claimed it.
To her left, the gorilla sits.
Huh…
It kind of feels like two knights protecting a princess.
A gorilla knight and a cat knight…?
What a sight to imagine.

Oh look, the teacher is here already.
Why does he look like a mad scientist?
His gray hair is messy and he has circles under his eyes.
I heard teaching is a stressful job but…

“Quiet down now, the class is about to start… ah, that’s right. We have a new temporary student. Please introduce yourself.”
He’s looking at me.

“Hi, I’m Nina.”
I stood up for about three seconds to say that before sitting back down.

“That’s it…?”
Yes, you don’t need to know anything else.
After all, as you said, I’m here only temporarily.

“… well, fine. Let’s start then.”
Yup, you should have been informed about my business here, so thanks for understanding.
But why are all of the other classmates staring at me?

 

Fun fact about me.
I hate math.
It used to be one of my worst subjects back on earth.
I always only barely passed.

But…
This class is just too low level.
Basics of multiplying?
Aren’t you supposed to learn that when you are eight or nine?
Most of the kids here are around sixteen!
And only about five people in the entire class seem to understand these math problems!
And those five people include me and the gorilla!

Poor Deliah.
She isn’t included in the elite five.
It seems that she also isn’t that great at math.

“H-how are you two so good at this…”
Err, sorry…
But I mean…
I already know all of this stuff…

“I practiced it a lot some time ago…”
The gorilla is unexpectedly studious, isn’t she?

“Me too…”

“Ugh…”
Don’t get depressed…
Fight on!

After the lesson, I got surrounded by our classmates.
What is this?
None of you have cat ears.
Why are you saying I’m cute?
And that group over there, can you stop glaring at me like that?
Is a new student appearing really such a grand event?

“Let’s get out of here!”
The gorilla grabbed mine and Deliah’s arm and dragged us out of the classroom.
Saved by a gorilla!
Isn’t she a way better bodyguard than me?
I feel ashamed now…

We escaped to the school yard.
A place filled with beautiful blossoming trees, singing birds… and several mafia groups.
Great…

“Oh, look who we have here!”
Seriously, why is school so dangerous?
You might as well just-

It’s here again.
The scent of a wolf.
Where?
In the yard?
No.
Outside.
Where are you…?
Where-
There!
A hooded figure!
And it just ran away!
I won’t let you!

A quick glance at the gorilla.
“Protect Deliah.”
Her expression told me she was confused.
But it wasn’t the time to hesitate.
I won’t let the culprit run away now!

Dash.
Jump.
Double jump over the gate.
Ignore the voices behind me.

I can still somewhat smell it.
He’s somewhere around here!

The passing people are startled by my sudden movements, but I ignore them.
I run into a dark alleyway where the hooded guy went.
I make sure to not lose track as I turn the corner.

Over here…
Got you!

I finally spot my target.
A hooded figure holding some sort of staff.
He’s trying to run away, but it’s futile.
It seems like he has poor planning skills.
The end of this path is blocked off.
After realizing this, the figure stops running and turns to me, raising their hands.

“W-wait!”
… a girl’s voice.
That’s unexpected.

“P-please don’t kill me! I-I just…”
Begging for your life…?
You are the worst villain ever!

“Are you the criminal…?”
I can see her tense up as I ask her.

“I-I… u-umm… err…”
That definitely means ‘yes’.
You are guilty!

“N-no please wait… I’m sorry… I… hya!”

As she stepped back, she tripped over a rock.
And let go of her staff.
It’s rolling over to me now.
What is this, anyway?

“Ugh… huh? N-no! Don’t touch it!”

She said it too late.
I automatically squatted and grabbed the staff.
At the same time, something inside me exploded.

“AGAARHRG!”
I instantly collapsed with a scream.
My instincts told me to let go of that staff.
But I couldn’t.
My hand didn’t listen to me and kept gripping it.

“I’m sorry! I’m sorry!”
The girl kept apologizing.
But I was too busy trying to stay conscious to mind that.

It felt like all of my organs ignited.
My vision blurred and my sense of balance distorted.
Every cell in my body screamed out in pain.

It felt like an eternity.
I just wanted it to stop.
But it just kept getting worse and worse.
I was on the edge of my consciousness, trying my hardest to not lose my mind.

 

 

Is it over?
Everything hurts…
But compared to before, it has calmed down.
Let’s try to get up…
Ugh…
Trying to push myself up feels like trying to lift an elephant.
All of my muscles ache…

The staff is gone.
Where did it go?
Whatever…
Who cares about that thing…

Finally, I was able to get up.
The hooded girl is still over there.
But she’s shaking.

“D-did it work? A-are we friends now?”
What are you talking about, you wench?
Is this your way of making friends?
Making people go through that torture?

I hiss as I step toward her.

“N-no way… the charm didn’t work…?”
The charm, you say…?
I see…
So wearing this headband finally paid off.
… but what a crude way to charm someone.
Wouldn’t you usually try to be nice instead?
Whatever.
Time to capture her.

“W-wait please!”
I will not.

I dashed forward and pounced on top of her, pressing my claws to her neck.
But as she fell on her back, the her hood moved out of the way and revealed her face.
I was stunned for a second.
Half of her face is that of a girl, as expected.
But the other half…
Was covered in gray fur.
As if it was supposed to be half a wolf’s face.
But due to her head shape still being human, she just looked…
Hideous…
Even the dirty gray hair of hers…

“F-Fenrir!”
Her sudden shout brought me back to my senses.
But I was too late to react.
A huge mass of fur materialized between me and the girl and tackled me.
I flew away and crashed into a building.
If it weren’t for the Kat dress, I would have probably died.
And although I didn’t die, my ribs probably cracked.
Coupled with the fact that my muscles still ached, I couldn’t get up anymore.

Is this my end?
I did my best to turn my head at the enemy.
I saw a huge wolf with dark blue fur.
A wolf so massive, it could easily dwarf a grizzly bear.
Staring into his eyes made me feel fear for the first time.
That was a monster I would have difficulty beating even in my top shape.
But lying on the ground with my entire body in pain…
It’s impossible.

The girl climbed on top of the wolf’s back and collapsed there.
He then stood up and stared at me.

NO!
STAY AWAY!
DON’T COME NEAR ME!

He didn’t listen to my internal screams.
The monster stepped forward, carrying the girl.
Every step made shudder.

I’m gonna die…
I’m gonna die.
I’m gonna die!
Please don’t!

He’s right next to me.
His enormous head is looming over me.
I’m too scared to raise my head and look into its eyes.

He turned away…
And walked into the alleyway…

I listened to his steps as they got further and further away.
When I realized I have been saved, all of my tension got released and I lost consciousness.
I think I heard some screams before that though…


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment