Curse of the Kat – ch 27

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 27 – The cat gains a fanclub

I have been seen by a man.
Well, a former one, but a man nonetheless.
Still, I didn’t realize your gender could change when you reincarnated…
If I became a guy…
That would have been weird.

“I have seen something really cute…”
You shut up!
I tried to keep straight face, but your eternal grin made it impossible!
Stupid pervert!
Even telling me to not mind what she was in the past!
As if I could do that!

Ugh…
This is one of those things I will forever remember as my greatest embarrassement…
But I had no choice!
All the medical staff just ignored me and Deliah wasn’t here!
Either Mable puts those clothes on me or I will keep being half-dead!
That’s right!
My dignity is a small price to pay to be alive again!

“But you got quite the number of cheat abilities, don’t you?”
While she dressed me, I told her about my clothes and skills.
It was actually meant as a way to distract myself from the situation…
But it wasn’t too effective.

“I wonder how your nine lives work…”
Yeah, I’m also interested…
But.
I hope you don’t plan on suggesting something weird…
Don’t look at me like that!
I’m not killing myself to test it!

“Also, why is everything cat themed?”

“I don’t know… god decided that for me.”

“God, huh…”
Yep, god.
Hmm…
Now that I think about it, I haven’t tried to find a shrine or a church yet.
I don’t remember seeing one in Buanna, but this city might have one.
With the blessing, I should be able to talk to this god and ask what this ‘test’ is all about!
Well, I doubt I will get a straight answer, but it’s worth a shot.

 

It’s only been two days since the greatest embarrassement of my life.
I’ve been discharged from the medical facility.

“Didn’t you say it’s just three hundred percent faster…?”

“I did…”
I’ve already regenerated to the point where I can get up and move.
Well, there’s still some pain.
Not enough to be a problem though.
But…
This is weird.
Even with the underwear’s boost effect, that was way too quick.
Three hundred percent more means four times the normal, right?
Which means, not even ten days worth of rest!
There’s no way that’s enough for a rib fracture to get naturally healed!
What’s going on?
Did Cana’s healing have anything to do with this?
That must be it…
I don’t really see any other option.

After my discharge, Mable picked me up as I was leaving.
Are you skipping school?
Why don’t you go guard Deliah instead then?
Oh, her father hired a new party of adventurers for that…?
So, I was replaced…
Well, no helping it when I’m incapacitated, I guess.

Moreover, it seems like no attacks happened since Cana’s escape.
Hopefully, she gave up…
And hopefully, she realized that the Matoto guy is just abusing her.
Feed him to your wolves, I say!

After meeting up with Mable, we headed to Deliah’s mansion.
Even though I didn’t catch the culprit, I still did my job of guarding.
Say what you will, I completed this quest.
So, naturally, I will go and get my reward for it.
Of course, if by any chance Cana returns or that Matoto guy tries to do something, I won’t just idly watch.
Although, it would be nice if we could solve it peacefully…
Cana is a really nice person.
She even healed me…
After I pinned her to the ground with poisonous claws…
Yeah…
Just lift her curse, lock up that guy who cursed her and everyone will be happy!

Or maybe not.
She said it can’t be lifted, didn’t she?
Hmm…
But what if she just said it because she doesn’t want it getting lifted?
I’m guessing that curse is what allows her to summon her wolf friends.
Lifting it would mean separating from them forever…

As I get deeper and deeper into my thoughts, my cat alarm suddenly goes off.
But before I can react to it, something lands on my head and disrupts my balance.

“Wha-?!”
I wave my arms around in surprise and fall on my butt.

“Meow!”
It’s a stray cat.
Already playing with my hair as if it was a ball of yarn.

“Oh yeah, you did say that you charm cats and catgirls, right?”
… right.

I grab the cat on top of my head and hold it in front of me.
It has black fur and yellow eyes.
Similar to me…

“Ohhh, you found your long lost brother…”
Not that similar!
I’m still a human!
And, last time I met him, my brother was a human too!
Moreover, he’s in a different world now!

“Hey, it’s just a joke! No need to glare.”
This is my payback for yesterday.
An eye for an eye, a glare for a glare.

“… well? What are you gonna do with it?”
I get back up on my feet while still holding the cat.

“I’ll leave it…”
It’s cute…
But I don’t think bringing stray cats into a noble’s mansion is a good idea.

“Oh? So cruel of you… You capture men’s hearts and then leave them hanging!”
What are you talking about?!
It’s a cat!
I’m not doing this on purpose, either!
And wait, why do you instantly know this cat is male?!

I put the cat on the ground and turn around while fixing my hair.
We attempt to leave it, but it follows us.
Or more specifically, me.

Ugh, these cute meows make this harder and harder!
I just wanna pick it back up and pet it…
But I can’t!
There’s work to do!

“Please, stop following me!”
And you, stop grinning!
I bet you are comparing this to some tragic love story or something!

Oh?
The cat listened…
It hung its head, turned around and silently disappeared into a dark alleyway…

Damn, now I feel bad for it!
It just wanted to be my friend and I pushed it away!
Ugh…

You!
What’s so funny?!
Stop snorting while trying to hold back your laughter!
You are even tearing up?!

Alright.
That’s enough.

“Ok, sorry, sorry! Pull those claws back!”
You don’t seem very sorry.
Your grin never disappeared.

“No, seriously! I’m sorry! It just reminded me of one scene I saw in a movie! I wasn’t making fun of you!”
Yep, I knew it.

Huh?
What is this?
That cat returned.
And along with him, several other similar scents appeared.

An army of cats emerged from the dark alleyway.

“Oh… your fan club is here.”
I shoot an annoyed look at her.
She raises her hands and smiles while closing her eyes.

“What the heck…”
I don’t remember meeting any cats in Buanna.
Why are there so many here?!
Ugh…
The passing people are staring now!

The black cat from before comes forward and looks up at me.

“Meow!”
“””MEEOOW!”””

A cat choir.
Huh…
What’s going on?

The cats are all jumping, waving their tails and meowing.

“Long live our new queen!”
You, shut the f-

Actually.
That might be what they are saying.
It’s like I was appointed to be their new leader or something.

How did this happen?
I just met you!
And even treated your former leader so coldly!
Is it the Kat blessing?
This is way beyond just ‘friendly’!
It’s almost like mind control!

“Well, what are you gonna do now, your majesty?”
I should really punch her already.

 

All of the cats left.
The only one who persisted on following me was that male black cat.
I named him Kuro after Mable’s suggestion.
Apparently, it means ‘black’ in Japanese.
Well, I’m not the greatest at naming either, so I can’t complain.

However…
Even though we gave him a name and brought him along, I still couldn’t take him inside the mansion.
Once we arrived, I told him I would return soon.
And surprisingly, he listened and stayed behind.
How come the cats can understand what I’m saying but I can’t understand they are saying?
It’s unfair!

The guards recognized us and let us inside.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment