Curse of the kat – ch 28

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 28 – The cat toys with a tomato

“And here’s your confirmation of quest completion.”

Well, that was quick.
As soon as we entered, Rodrick pulled me aside and gave me the reward for guarding Deliah.
It was quite the sum.
I don’t think even capturing kidnappers can compare to this.
Before I left for the adventurer’s guild, I went to say hi to Deliah.
I didn’t stay too long though…
Other than wanting to finally turn in the completed quest, I felt quite uncomfortable in there…
Those new adventurer guards were too…
Erm, unpleasant.
I’m pretty sure none of them ever had a girlfriend.
And I feel really bad for Deliah now…
At least Mable stayed to protect her once again.
Hmm…
Speaking of Mable.
I wonder why she doesn’t just reveal her abilities.
Me and Deliah already know, but everyone else treats her like a little tomboy girl.
Being a former man, I thought for sure that it would enrage her.
But nope.
I really don’t understand that gorilla.

As soon as I exited the mansion, an assassin landed on my head.
Hello, Kuro.
I’ve kept you waiting, haven’t I?
Please don’t mess up my hair too much this time.

With my new companion, I headed to the adventurer’s guild.
Since this was another city, I didn’t know the exact location.
Thankfully, Rodrick was kind enough to give me directions, so I didn’t need to wander.

I stuffed the quest confirmation paper into my handbag.
Totally forgot I had this thing.
I let Rodrick take care of it while I moved around in my disguise.
It’s a good thing I did that.
If I had it back when I got tackled by Fenrir, it would get torn for sure…

Anyway…
Kuro is suspiciously calm.
Where did that playful attitude go?
Hmm…?
Oh, wait!
He took off my headband!
Don’t play with that!
Bad kitty!

 

You know what attracts more attention than wearing a catgirl outfit in the middle of the town?
Wearing a catgirl outfit and having a cat sit on top of your head.
Yep, everyone turns their to look at me as I pass through.
Didn’t your mom tell you to not point at people?
And you, please stop with that wide-eyed stare.
Seriously…
And I thought I got used to it back in Buanna.
Silly me.
Getting used to being the center of attention?
Hah…

Well, at least I finally found the guild.
This place is a bit bigger than the guild in Buanna.
And it also seems a lot rowdier.
One table in particular has several rough-looking men sitting around it.
They are really loud and seem to be drinking alcohol.
Is this a bar or an adventurer’s guild?

“Look! A toddler lost its way here! ghaha!”
A toddle lost its way, you say?
That’s dangerous, someone should call his parents.

Ignoring all the drunk yells, I make my way to the counter and call out to one of the receptionists.

“Excuse me…”

“Yes? How can I help you?”

“I’m here to turn in a completed quest.”
As I say that, I pull out the paper.
This time, Making sure to do it slowly, so people don’t think it’s space magic…

“You are an adventurer…?”
She looks up at Kuro and then back at me.

“… yes?”
Please don’t mind the cat on top of my head.
I think he just likes it there.

“… alright. Please show me your card.”
I reach into my bag and pull out my card.
The lady takes it and starts checking the contents of the paper.
At some point, her expression changes to one of surprise, but I ignore it.

My focus shifted somewhere else…
I heard someone approach me from behind and attempted to attack me.
In order to avoid it, I stepped to the right.
A hand flew down to where my shoulder was a second ago.
When I turned around, a bewildered bald man stood there.

He must be here to pick a fight with me.
Let’s stare him down.
Just like my teacher, the great red ape, taught me.
That should scare him away, right?

“Do not fight here!”
The receptionist interrupted our exchange.
Huh…
I always thought of receptionists as these timid girls.
But rather than intimidated, this one seems annoyed.

“Is it done?”
And just as she wished, I discarded any and all thoughts regarding the bald man and asked her about the matter at hand.
But instead of being thankful, she frowned at me!
What’s your problem?!

And what’s with that mass laughter I hear behind me?
Huh…?
The bald man’s head turned into a tomato.
A very wrinkly tomato burning with anger.

“You have guts to ignore me!”
Why do people like him always appear?

“I said! Don’t fight!”
And why is everyone so angry all of a sudden?

“Wick, do this one more time and I’ll have you kicked out of the guild!”

“Wha-”

“No buts!”
The tomato ripens.
It seems like this tomato specimen called ‘Wick’ gets uglier when ripe.
But thankfully, it turns around and leaves with a snort.
Good job, Mrs. receptionist.

“Than-”

“And you miss. You shouldn’t be starting fights like this!”
Wha-?!
What did I do?!
Is dodging an attack considered a crime?!
Should I just accept being hit when I can avoid it?!

“Don’t look at me like that. I know you were about to pounce on him.”

What are you talking about?!
I wasn’t going to kill him!
It would only be a few bruises at most!
No more than a month in a hospital, I promise!

And what’s with your change of attitude?!
I’m pretty sure you thought of me as a lost girl just a minute ago!

“Anyway, I will need to call the guildmaster for this. Wait a bit here.”
She left.

Well, I guess I’ll have to wait then.
Looking at the tomato back there, it seems to have changed back into a human.
But not completely.
Is he drunk?
Ah…
He got up and is on his way here again.
What now?
She told me to not fight, but…

“What’s your name, brat?”
What a brilliant second impression.
Hmm…
Maybe I should just ignore him.
I heard that if you ignore bullies, they will get bored and leave.

“Oi! I’m talking to you!”
You are talking to Kuro?
How nice of you.
But humans can’t converse with cats, you know?

“You little!”
Oh my, I didn’t know tomatoes had veins.
That’s a lot of them popping at once.
Shouldn’t you go see a doctor?

“G-get back here!”
But I’m standing in place, you know?
I’m merely getting out of the way, since you seem to have been walking this way.
I’m so considerate!
We would have collided if I didn’t side step you just now!

“Grrrhaaa!”
Oh, going back already?
It would be nice if you could walk around me though.

“Stay still you little cockroach!”

I don’t think this ‘ignoring’ approach is working.
Should I knock him out, after all?

“I’ll turn you into mincemeat!”
He drew his sword.
Well…
I think I can justify it as self defense now.
It’s time to-

Suddenly, the black ball of fur on top of my head jumped.

“K-kuro?!”
And landed on the bald man’s face.

“Guaah! W-what the fuck?! Get off of me!”
The man used his free hand and tried to peel Kuro off of his face.
But despite his best efforts, he couldn’t catch the nimble cat.
Several scratch marks already appeared on his head.

Sliced tomatoes are served?
No…
I should stop him!

I make use of my speed and close in on the struggling man.
Without much effort, I grab Kuro off of him and take some distance again.
Then, I hold him in front of me and frown.

“Bad Kuro! Don’t do that!”
I never had a pet in my previous life.
But I know that you need to properly discipline them when raising them.

“DIIIIE!”
And you…
CHILL OUT!

A light punch to the stomach.
That did it.
He’s knocked out.
Time to get blamed by the receptionist…
Ugh…
Why does this happen every time?!
Is this going to become my welcoming ceremony for entering every new town’s adventurer’s guild?!


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment