Curse of the Kat – ch 30

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 30 – The cat on a joint mission I

“Well, now that we are teammates, we should get to know each other better!”
We are not teammates.
I wanted to do this quest on my own.
You forced yourself into this.
Moreover, I don’t even know you!

“Come on now! Don’t be so cold!”
Shut up already!
I’m doing my best to not stab you!
Be grateful!

I made my way to the city gates with that annoying thing tailing me.
Naturally, I’m not going to take Kuro with me.
If something like an ogre hit him, he would be a goner.

I take him off of my head and put him on the ground.
He gazes up at me with sad eyes.
Ugh…

“Don’t worry. I’ll be right back…”

“Meow!”

“No, I can’t take you with me.”

“Meow…”
I must endure his pleading eyes…

“I promise I’ll return as soon as I can…”

“… meow…”
It seems like he finally accepted.
Good boy.

“What a sight…”
Nobody asked for your opinion.
Or rather, you were still around?
Go away already!

“Well, I’ll ask around whether someone is going to the Rennie village. You gather some supplies for the trip.”
Who made you the leader?
And actually, I never agreed to be in a party with you!

“I’ll go on foot.”

“Wh- Hey, it takes almost half a day to get there on foot!”
Maybe for you.
But my speed is unmatched.
I can get there quicker.

“Goodbye, then.”
I hope to never see you again.

“W-wait! Ugh, fine! Let’s go on foot! But at least help me gather the supplies!”
As I said, we are not teammates.
And I don’t think I’ll need supplies if I can get there quickly.

“C-come ooon… don’t leave me behind!”
Alright.
What’s wrong with this girl?
We literally met a few minutes ago.
Why is she insistent on coming with me that much?
She doesn’t even have cat ears!
And it’s not like I’m a protagonist of some poorly written harem story!
Ugh, just remembering all of that nonsense my brother always forced me to read makes my head spin.

“Why do you want to follow me so much?”

“B… because…”
The heck is with that response?
Knitting your fingers while avoiding eye contact?
Don’t tell me you really-

“Because we are rivals!”
She’s blushing.

Oh my god, I’m in a poorly written harem story.
No…
Realistically, she has to have some ulterior motives.
Like getting rid of me, a ‘rival’ while I’m not paying attention.
Or stealing my clothes, since they qualify as high level equipment.
Well…
If she is serious about it and isn’t planning to do anything…
Maybe I should stop trying to push her away that much.
I don’t want to be like one of those dense protagonists who need everything spelled out for them…

“… fine. We’ll go together.”

“Y-yes! Erm… er… g-good!”
I saw that fist pump.
You don’t need to act all dignified now.

 

Rations, check.
A tent for camping, which we won’t need to do, check.
Ropes for tying her up when she gets annoying, check.

“Let’s go partner!”
I might use them right away.
Also, didn’t you say we were rivals?
Why are we suddenly partners?

We pass through the gate with all the supplies stored in our item bags and look into the distance.
According to her, we can get to the Rennie village by going in the direction of Buanna and then turning left as some point.
Quite vague, but whatever.

It’s time to set out.
Over my shoulder you go.

“Hya! Wh-what?!”
Hmm, you dropped your staff.
Let me pick it up for you.
It would be bad if you were useless without it.
I’m so nice, right?

“W-wait! What are you doing?!”

“Running.”

“Wha-”
Cutting her off, I dash forward.
With cat soul active, it shouldn’t take too long to get there.
Ugh…
But her screams are annoying.
It’s nowhere near the werewolf’s howl, but it still gives me headaches.
I should plug her mouth with something.
And tie her up, so she can’t pull it out.

And then I’ll look like a kidnapper.
Well, darn…
Maybe I should temporarily take off the headband instead.
Without it, my senses will fall to the level of a normal human.
But I feel like that’s a bad idea…
I guess I’ll need to endure it for now.

 

“Is this where we need to take a turn?”
We arrived at a crossroad and I put her down.
Her legs are quivering.
Is she imitating a harp?

“Y-y-you! W-why did you d-do that?!”
What are you talking about?
I picked the quickest method of transportation we had.
Anything wrong with that?

Why are you touching your crotch?

“Ughhh…”
The girl slowly walked away on her shaking legs and hid behind a tree.
She didn’t forget to show me her angry red face before that.
The sound of a water stream hitting the grass soon reached my ears.

Oh, I see.
She is wearing a dress.
And the way I was carrying her, all the wind blew up her dress.
That must have been quite cold, huh?
Well, I couldn’t tell.
This Kat dress has cold resistance.
It probably extends to my whole body since not my face nor my legs feel cold.
This outfit seems more and more convenient.

She’s coming back already.
Did you get stung by a bee?
You look really angry.

“Let’s go normally now!”

“I am going normally.”

“I mean walking!”
Oh, walking.
Well, I will have to refuse.
I promised Kuro I would get back as soon as possible, after all.

“Alright. See you then.”
I turn around but I’m stopped before I can sprint away.

“Wh- wait!”

“What?”

“Why don’t you want to go together?”

“Because you are slowing me down.”

“… do you really hate me that much?”

Okay.
Stop.
That obsession is abnormal.
Are you hiding cat ears somewhere, after all?
Maybe your grandma was a catgirl?
Or were you a cat in your previous life…?
Whatever the case…

“Yes, I hate you.”

“Wh-…”
Didn’t expect that, did you?

“You called Kuro a stupid hat, stole my quest and only slowed me down up till now.”
And pointed me in the direction of the village…
But whatever.

“… sorry.”

And I didn’t expect this.

“I just… wanted to get to know you better…”
Huh…
I’m almost ninety percent sure the blessing is charming her.
But even if it is…
It’s partially my fault, isn’t it?

“… fine.”

“W-huat?!”
I picked her up in a princess carry.

“Is this better?”
Stop blushing already.
I’ll call you tomato the second.

“…yes.”
She said it very quietly.
But hey, that’s what my enhanced hearing is for, right?

“Alright, let’s go.”
We set off once again.
It shouldn’t take too long till we arrive.

 

Rennie village.
Are you really allowed to call this collection of houses a village?
Well, I guess so.
What else would you call it?
What is smaller than a village?

“Finally…”
Hey, I carried you with care this time.
What are you complaining about?
Look.
The sun is right above us.
We made it here just in time to have lunch.

Wait.
Is there a diner among those houses?
I hope there is.
I’m not a fan of the dried meat we took with us.

“Let’s meet the village chief and ask for the details.”
No, let’s eat.
I’m hungry.
But I guess the dried meat will have to suffice.
All of these houses seem to be family homes.
There aren’t really any shops or restaurants.
Oh well…

I chew on a piece of meat as we walk to the biggest house in the middle of the village.


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment