Curse of the Kat – ch K1

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter K1 – I’m a cat, I say!

It’s her!
There’s no doubt about it!
That face!
That voice!
That name!
It’s definitely her!

What’s with that outfit though?
I didn’t know she liked cosplay and cats that much.
But I don’t mind!
If she likes cats, that’s great!

Because I am one right now!
Ugh…
Even this reunion with Nina is ruined by this!
I swear, if I ever meet that god again, I’ll beat him up.
This is so inconvenient!
A cat can’t speak human words!
All I can do is meow and purr!
Well…
At least I can understand what everyone says.
I still don’t know why, but the spoken language in here is english.
Not even a language similar to it, but perfect modern english itself!
I’m still a cat though…

Although, maybe being cat isn’t all that bad!
If I went and messed up her hair in the previous life, she would yell at me endlessly!
But as a cat, it’s totally excusable!
Man…
The squeal she made when I first did it…
Priceless.

But…
She almost broke my heart back there.
Basically shouting at me to stop following her…
Ah, being a cat for so long, my mind must have gotten corrupted.
Even though I didn’t get along with her all that well in my previous life…
I just want to be loved by her now…
Maybe I simply got too lonely since I only ever talk to other cats.
But, what was I thinking?
She obviously wouldn’t recognize me like this!
Even after what that other girl jokingly said!
I’m just a cat now!

Well, luckily, I have a ‘never give up’ attitude.
And it paid off!
I hastily gathered some nearby minions of mine and returned to her side!
She must have been shocked.
Yep, be proud of me!
I’m basically the boss of a mafia gang.
Even though all of its members are cats…
But don’t misunderstand!
I’m not handing over the leadership to you!
I’m just showing you the fruits of my work!

You can be the sub-boss or something…
I won’t give up my hard-earned position!

Anyway…
What kind of name is Kuro?
You just agreed to the first thing your friend came up with!
Your laziness didn’t change at all!
Well, whatever.

What came next really surprised me…
She and her teasing friend entered a bigass mansion!
What the heck!
Who are you in this world?
Were you reborn as a noble’s child?
Wearing these clothes, there’s no way you are a noble!
How did you get connections with nobles this early in life!
It’s not fair!
I’m just a cat with no future to speak of and you enjoy tea parties with princesses?!
Bullshit, I say!

She told me to wait outside…
Well, sure!
Go and have fun with your friends while pushing me away!
Ugh…

What the hell is wrong with me?
Is this the cat’s brain’s doing?
We weren’t even that close in the previous life!
I should stop acting like a jealous boyfriend!

The guards are staring at me.
Right.
I’m a cat, not a dog.
Instead of sitting and waiting, I should wander around.
I think I’ll take the moment to inform my boys about the situation.
I’m sure they are confused.
The same me, who never gets attached to any human, is totally over this random girl they have never seen.
I’ll need to explain it to them.

 

Unexpected situation.
Everyone understands why I was fawning over her.
Nobody questions it.
It’s like all of them were charmed or something.
Well…
Alright.
That’s not a bad thing, I guess.
It saves me some face.

But there’s one thing that worries me.
There’s a new person in town.
A magician girl with red hair tied into twintails.
Well, it’s not unusual for new adventurers or travelers to enter this city.
But what Bax said is concerning.

[That lil lass who came yesterday has somthin’ inside er.]

[Something…? Is she pregnant?]

[Nay, not that somethin’… I meant, a curse.]
A curse…
The last cursed girl caused quite the mayhem.
We should remain vigilant.

[Tell Grato and his guys to observe her. You know what to do if something happens.]

[Ay, boss. Right away.]

“Oh! These kitties are talking to each other! How cute!”
A random passing girl noticed us.
Well, it doesn’t matter.
To her, it all sounds like meowing.
Even if I talked about destroying the world, she wouldn’t suspect a thing.

“Oh, poor you! Where did you get that scar from?”
She noticed Bax and the scar on his face.
But before she could catch him, he jumped away.
We both did.

“Ah, wait!”
No can do.
I need to wait for Nina to come out.

 

 

I really hope I can somehow tell her who I am.

Or maybe I can keep it secret!
There are many benefits to it…
Such as…
This!

As soon as Nina walked outside through the mansion gates, I jumped on top of her head and made myself comfy.
I wonder where she’s going next.
I hope it’s not another one of her noble friends!
If it is…
I’ll mess up your hair again!

People are staring at us.
I guess this isn’t a very common sight.
Me and my boys usually stay away from humans.
Hmm…
Another reason might be this catgirl outfit she is wearing.
Who made this?
And what is it even made of?
I’m pretty sure people of this world haven’t created plastics.
But this headband sure doesn’t feel like leather or metal…

Ah, she took it back.
Sorry, I was just being curious.

 

The…
Adventurer’s guild?
Why are we here?
Don’t tell me you registered as an adventurer!
That’s so reckless!
See!
Even those bald strong looking guys agree, calling you a toddler!

She made her way to the counter with me still sitting on top of her head.
“Excuse me…”

“Yes? How can I help you?”

“I’m here to turn in a completed quest.”
Huh…?
She already completed a quest?
W-well…
If you are that good, then…

“You are an adventurer…?”
The receptionist looks up at me and then back at Nina.

No, I’m not her familiar.
Whatever that quest was, she did it on her own.

“… yes?”

“… alright. Please show me your card.”

As requested, Nina shows the lady her card.
F rank!
So you ARE just a newbie!
Huh?
Why does the receptionist look so surprised?
Don’t tell me you completed some high tier quest as a newbie!

Suddenly, Nina took a step to the right.
A hand flew down toward the spot where she was standing.
Me and Nina turned around to spot a bald guy with a confused expression behind us.

Hey, what is this!
Aren’t you the guy who called her a toddler?
Don’t touch her you stupid pedophile!

“Do not fight here!”
The lady at the counter intercepted.

“Is it done?”
And Nina immediately forgot that guy even existed.
Wow, you really know how to piss someone off, don’t you?
His buddies are laughing at him.

“You have guts to ignore me!”
Well, if things escalate any further, I’ll jump at him!
Don’t underestimate my years of experience of being a cat!

“I said! Don’t fight!”
The receptionist intercepted once again.

“Wick, do this one more time and I’ll have you kicked out of the guild!”

“Wha-”

“No buts!”
Oh wow, she actually scared him off.
I didn’t expect that.

“Than-”

“And you miss. You shouldn’t be starting fights like this!”
Huh…
Even Nina is getting chewed out for this.
Isn’t that a little unfair?

“Don’t look at me like that. I know you were about to pounce on him.”
Hey, that’s exaggerating!
Nina is a peaceful girl!
… right?

“Anyway, I will need to call the guildmaster for this. Wait a bit here.”

Man, this receptionist sure has an attitude.
Didn’t even wait for Nina’s reply and rushed away.

Nina’s head turned around and she looked at the pedophile back there.
He looks drunk…
And angry.
Oh crap, he’s coming this way.

“What’s your name, brat?”

She ignores him.
Nina…
You shouldn’t pour oil into the fire.

“Oi! I’m talking to you!”
Dodged another one of his grabs.
You are much more agile than I remember you…

“You little!”
But I feel like this is going to escalate if you keep going…

“G-get back here!”
He’s almost at the boiling point…

“Grrrhaaa!”
I should jump in…
But…
Ugh…

“Stay still you little cockroach!”
He’s out of breath.
We didn’t even move around that much.

“I’ll turn you into mincemeat!”
He drew his sword.
Alright.
That’s it.
Time for me to protect you!

Attack!

“K-kuro?!”
I jumped off and mounted the man’s face.

Don’t underestimate my sharp claws!

“Guaah! W-what the fuck?! Get off of me!”
Or my speed!
I won’t be caught that easily!
Suffer, you stupid pedophile!
Suffer and-

Huh…?
What happened?
I’ve been caught.

“Bad Kuro! Don’t do that!”

What.

“DIIIIE!”
The man’s final attempt to tackle her ended with a punch into his stomach.

Hey, are you actually super strong now?!
What happened?!

“Don’t attack people! It’s bad!”

Oh my god.
Something is wrong with this image.
I never thought I would be held up and lectured like a little child by my own younger sister


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment