Curse of the Kat – ch 48

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 48 – The cat lacks asertiveness

“There’s three more people outside.”
Just these words were enough to make everyone stop in their tracks.
Even the inn guests are worried about what I just said.

“You mean three more of these dangerous criminals?!”
Yes, Mrs. inn guest, dangerous criminals, or mid-bosses for short.

This is pretty bad, isn’t it?
If they have something to prevent me from getting close like that scent woman, this will be a problem.
But, on the other hand…
If they don’t, this will be really simple.
Hmm…
Well, we have a gorilla with a sniper rifle now, so it should be fine.
And actually…
Why even wait for them to make their first move again?
I’m the quickest creature in a one kilometer radius!
I can simply knock them out before they can activate their abilities!

Yep, sounds good!
Let’s go with this!

“Cover me.”
I turn on cat soul and nod at Mable and Ignis.
After seeing Ignis nod back, I put my hand on the door handle, swing it open and jump outside.
But what I see is different from my expectations.
There aren’t three mid-bosses armed and ready to fight me.
Only one small boy stands there dragging some rags in both of his hands.
He has white hair and expressionless red eyes.
However, I don’t let myself get distracted this time and charge right at him, burying my fist in his gut.

Or so I intended.
But my fist got stopped by the boy’s palm.

What…
W-whaaat?!
T-this has never happened before!
How can someone react to my super amplified speed?!
Aren’t I supposed to be the fastest?
A-and I’m supposed to be pretty strong as well!
How could he stop it with just one hand?!

“That hurt… you are too quick…”
!!!
I’m in a bad spot now!
He’s gonna counter attack!

I quickly tried pull back my hand and jump away from him.
And my expectations were betrayed once again.
The boy easily let go of my hand without attempting to hold me back.

He isn’t even making a stance or any counter moves at all.
He’s simply staring at me.
Is that it?
Does he think I’m not even worth getting ready for?
Am I going to get instantly knocked out now?!

“Well, calm down… we’re not enemies.”

Say what?
Was I mistaken?

No…
I’m sure I have seen him in the prison…

“Boss… sorry, I messed up a bit.”
The boy suddenly starts apologizing.
But not to me…

“Meow.”

Kuro?
Why is a boy, you held in a prison cell, calling you ‘boss’?
And why is he apologizing?
What’s going on…?

“Some guy broke into the base and freed all the prisoners… and charmed them.”
Some guy…
In other words, ‘that guy’.
But…
Why are you acting as if you aren’t one of the prisoners?
Were you some sort of secret double agent all along?
That’s ridiculous…

“It took me a bit before I dealt with the charm he put on me… but by that time, all the prisoners have scattered around the city.”
The boy then pulled forward the rags… no… the people, he has been dragging with him.
One of them is a golden-haired girl.
The other one is a cat-eared… guy with half white and half black hair.
Both of them are out cold.

“I caught two and… oh, you got two as well… that means only the blue cat, the blond guy and the new girl are left… and that curse guy.”
A blue cat…?

Wait, how did he know we caught two?
He can see the madman lying over there, but the woman is still inside…

“Ah right introductions… I’m Veras… and I’m… like you two… as well as boss.”
The boy points at me and at Mable in the back.
He then nods at Kuro.


You are…
Like us?
So…
A reincarnator?

“Yep, that.”
Is that so…

Huh?
Wait.
I didn’t say it out loud.
Did he just-

“No, I don’t do mind reading… your expression is just too easy to understand.”
Erk…
S-shut up!
That’s basically mind reading!

Don’t nod to his words, Ignis!

“Well anyway… what did you mean you are like them?”
Ah, right…
Ignis still doesn’t know about this whole reincarnation business.
Should we tell her?
Hmm…
I don’t see why not.
Seeing as ‘that guy’ is most likely a reincarnator as well, she should know.

I don’t think this is a good time for lengthy explanations though.

“Oh, you want to know more of our secrets…? What a naughty girl…”

“S-stop that!”

Are you two a comedian duo?
I thought we are in a serious situation right now!
Ah, whatever…
We can tell Ignis after this is done with.

“… anyway, the curse guy is probably still in the base, I’ll leave him to you… I’m gonna go searching for the other prisoners… ah, can you take these with you…?”
The boy, Veras, pulls the two people and drops them in front of us.

Umm, are they still alive?
If yes, are they going to jump scare me while I carry them?
I hope not.

“Don’t worry… they should be out for a few more hours…”
Yes.
Thanks for the confirmation, Mr. mind reader.
Now, can you stop doing that?

“Meow! Meow…”

“Hmm…? It’s fine… I needed some exercise anyway… and it’s night, so the timing is perfect.”
I have no idea what kind of understanding those two came to…
But I guess we are going into the cat base to catch ‘that guy’ now.

Why do I feel like my actions are always decided by someone else?
Maybe I should learn this ‘assertiveness’ thing.
Well, whatever…
We would have gone to the cat base anyway.

“Well, we’re going back to Deliah’s mansion. Good luck to you!”
Oi Mable!
Why do you keep running off?!
You are our greatest firepower!
Don’t do this to me!

“I… I think we should go with them!”
Oh!
You tell him Deliah!
Don’t let that wild gorilla escape!

“… it’s gonna be dangerous, you know?”
Hey… are you her mom?
I thought you aren’t going because you want to keep your abilities secret and stuff.
But is it actually because you want Deliah to be safe?

“I know. But separating from everyone is even more dangerous!”
Good point.

“Well…”
Oh, you aren’t going to say no to these eyes, are you now?

“Fine.”
There we go…
Wow.
She defeated the gorilla.
I should sign up for some assertiveness lessons from her.

“Alright, let’s go!”
Yeah!

Umm, I just realized…
The inn guests were listening to our conversation.
I see some of them cheering while others are simply staring in confusion.
One is even holding a sword and glaring at Veras.
And there’s also a few coming towards us.

“Hey, you kids… you know who’s behind this whole mess?”
Well yeah.
Pretty much.

Nod to confirm.

“Then… you think you are strong enough to handle it?”
Well, I don’t know.
But probably, yeah.

“Of course we are! I’m the great Ignis! Nothing can defeat me!”
Indeed.
Nothing can defeat you.

Except for a gorilla…
Being carried over my shoulder…
Sleep-inducing dust…
Err, you have too many weaknesses.

“I-Ignis? You are?”

“Yeah!”

Ah, here it comes again.
The moment where they bring up the unrealistic image of Ignis.
And then she’s gonna shout at them because they were wrong.

“I see… so that’s you. Then, you must be Nina.”
Huh…?
Unexpected situation.
Not only did he not bring up the false image of Ignis…
Why does he recognize me as well?

I guess I’m the only girl with fake cat ears walking around, huh?

Nod to confirm.

“Hmm, I see! In that case, we have nothing to worry about! Don’t worry, we’ll guard that injured girl and this guy inside the inn! We’ll leave the bad guys to you!”
Erm, sure.
Never mind that you, an adult, is sending a bunch of kids to save the city while staying behind himself.
It’s like a plot for some cliché fantasy adventure story.

Or maybe he just knows we are much stronger than him.
After all, we have Mable, Kuro, Ignis and myself.
Cana and Deliah probably won’t contribute much, but I’m confident we can protect them.

“Well, let’s get going then!”
And with that, we set off.
The inn guests went back inside and I took the two unconscious people from Veras.
Hmm…
This black and white-haired guy has cat ears.
I have to make sure to stay way from him when he wakes up.
Really don’t want a repeat of what happened with a certain maid…
Hmm, but what if he-

Smack.

“Gyaaah!”

Huh…?
Umm…
What?
Mable just smacked the air…
And the air screamed.

“Oh, it works! Haha, this is great…”
What work-
Oh!
The fog!
I totally forgot Spectre could be hiding in it!

Smack smack smack.

“Gah! Guh! W-gyah!”
H-hey…
Umm…

“Argh! Gaaah!”

Aren’t you going a little overboard?

Smack.

With that last one, a naked girl fell out of the fog.
Her butt colored bright red.

“Wh-a h-how?!”

“Oh? The naughty girl still talks back? Looks like more punishment is needed!”

“No! Wai-gyaaah!”

Didn’t Ignis say this girl is even more dangerous than ‘that guy’?
This is the second time she got easily captured.

“Kaaaah! Guuuhaaa!”

Someone should stop them already…


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment