Curse of the Kat – ch 49

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 49 – The cat is sealed

If this was a game, what exactly would ‘turn yourself into fog’ mean?
Well…
Since nothing can really damage you in that state, I guess it would be ‘increased defence’?
Hmm, I really don’t know about that logic…
But that’s what it seems to be.
I mean…
Seriously?!
Mable’s cheat defence-piercing skill just got even more ridiculous!
Who would have thought she can use it to punch Spectre out of her fog form?!

“There there… the scary gorilla won’t hurt you anymore…”
I question your actions Ignis.
Even if she is your former teammate, she’s an enemy now, you know?

“G-gooo awaaaay traaitooor…”
And you, your words of denial have no credibility if you cling to Ignis like that.
That forced ghost roleplay doesn’t help either…

“Hey… are you sure we can just let her walk with us like this?”
Of course we can.
With me here, she isn’t running away in this form.
And with Kuro, she can’t escape as fog either.
Together, we are the perfect jailers for her.

“Leave her alone already!”
Oh man.
She’s talking back at the gorilla.
How brave.

Why does Cana seem uncomfortable now?
She keeps glancing at Spectre with a concerned expression.
Weren’t those two allies as well?
Hmm…
Maybe a mischievous ghost isn’t very compatible with silent and righteous wolf summoner.

Well, you don’t need to worry, Cana.
We’re headed to the prison right now, anyway.
We can just shove her in there until her curse is gone.
I don’t know how exactly this curse dispelling of mine works, but we can figure it out.

Argh, here we go again.
I can sense another ex-prisoner.
What is it gonna be this time?
A complete pushover?
Someone I can’t approach?
Or another double agent?

Well, at least it seems like most civilians hid themselves already, so I don’t need to worry about random people getting caught up in this.

“Another one. Over there.”
I stop everyone and point in our foe’s direction.
As the others prepare their stance, I turn on cat soul and wait.

A few moments later…
Someone appears on the rooftops.

“Oooh… my…”
A blue cat.
No…
A cat girl with light blue hair and fur.
She’s squatting with her hands touching the ground and her tail is slowly waving behind her.
Her eyes are looking right at me and… she’s licking her lips.

Well, this isn’t good, is it?
She has cat ears.
That means trouble.

“I like you! I’m going to keep you forever!”
Yeeeep, this sounds like trouble, indeed!
I should knock her out before she advances her plan of ‘keeping me forever’!

After putting down the two people I was carrying, I jump.

I form a fist and prepare to punch her side just like I did to the madman.
And right after landing I bury my fist into her side.

“Ow!”
But it barely does anything.

What?!
I didn’t want to break her spine so I held back!
Was that a mistake?!

“Oh, you came to me yourself! But you’re being a little forceful…”
Argh, not this again!
I should get awa-

?!
What?!
I can’t move!
My legs are stuck!

My arms too!
Even my eyes and my mouth?!
What’s happening?!

The catgirl moved her mouth as if to speak while looking at me.
But no sound reached me.
In fact, I can’t hear anything at all anymore.
No wind blowing.
No voices talking.
Nothing.

What did she do?!
Is this an invisible skin-tight barrier?!

W-wait…
Isn’t this really bad?
I can’t breathe like this!
Am I not going to suffocate?!

As I despair over my situation, I see the catgirl sidestep as a fireball flies in between us.
Since I can’t hear anything, it feels like watching a movie with sounds turned off.

Gh…
Okay, I’m not going to suffocate.
Something is gently pushing air through my lungs.
I can feel my belly expanding and retracting.
But I can’t move it myself.
But…
Argh!
What is this torture?!
Not being in control of anything sucks!
I envy Mable now!
If I had her skill, I would have easily broken out of this…
Whatever it is!

Just when I think this, I see a pebble hit the cat girl’s right shoulder.
The stone bounces off and she staggers while grabbing the shoulder with her other hand.
She seems to shout something in anger at whoever threw it before leaping from the rooftop.

Wait…
Who threw that?
That couldn’t have been Mable, right…?
If it was, then that shoulder would have exploded.
But it merely bounced off like a normal pebble.

Hold on a minute.
Something doesn’t seem right.
Not only that pebble…
She also tanked my punch without much of a problem.
Is she using her weird barrier skill to protect herself as well?

No no no.
Pebbles thrown by a gorilla would have pierced that without a problem!
Just what is her secret?!

Suddenly, I feel vibrations and a see flash.
The roof under me collapses and I fall down.

Gah!

Wait.
That didn’t hurt at all.
The heck?

I’m on the ground, lying on my side.
Since I still can’t move my eyes, I can only see forward into one of the side streets.
But there’s one strange thing about all of this…
I’m not directly touching the ground.
It’s as if I was covered in something.
Something invisible…
Or…
Wait a minute.
Now that I focus on it, there are some lines in the corner of my vision.
They make everything seem a little distorted.
As if I was seeing the world from…
Inside a crystal?!

Hello Deliah.
You look quite panicked, looking at me.
And, yeah…
I’m in quite the pickle.
Sealed inside a crystal and all…
But…
Isn’t there an enemy nearby?
Or rather, she’s right behind you!

Well…
I’m guessing someone on the outside tried to warn you as well.
But you should have jumped away instead of turning around.
Now we’re both stuck inside crystals.

Well, at least now I know how I look like in here.
It’s pretty and shiny…
I wish I could make something like that too.
Argh…
Why am I so calm, anyway?
I’m sealed inside a crystal.
Unable to move a muscle.
But still conscious.
And here I am, admiring the very crystal I’m in!
Isn’t this even worse than death?!
Or rather…
I have nine lives, so dying is definitely better than this!
Argh!
If only I could move my eyes and see what was happening!
Did everyone get sealed into a crystal as well?
Or are they still fighting?
I don’t know!
I have no idea!
I’m looking into the wrong direction!
Deliah though, she’s looking out into the open.
She’s seeing everything that’s happening.
I wish someone turned my around!

What’s with me?
Was I always this whiny?
The answer is yes.
Shut up me.
No, you shut up.
ARRGH!
Am I going crazy already?
Well, that was quick.
Maybe I should keep myself busy with something.
How about…
Ah yes, the status screen.
Let’s take a look.
Why not?

Name: Nina
Level: 15
Strength: 0/32
Endurance: ∞/33
Speed: 0/45
Magic: 26/26

Equipment:
Kat underwear (sealed)
Kat dress (sealed)
Kat ear headband (sealed)
Kat gloves (sealed)
Kat slippers (sealed)
Enchanted handbag (sealed)

Skills:
Cat soul+ (*&#$&@)
9 lives (*&#$&@)

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Huh?

There are…
Too many things I want to comment on.

Zero strength and speed… sure I’m in a crystal, I can’t move.
But infinite endurance?!
Just how powerful is this crystal?!

Moreover, what’s with the ‘sealed’ tag next to all of my equipment pieces?!
Is that the reason my punch didn’t do anything?
Because the strength bonus was nullified?
Argh, dammit…

Alright…
I get all of those things…
At the very least, I understand what they mean.
But what is the garbled text next to my skills?
It looks like one of those translation errors or censors.
What does it mean?
Maybe she tried to seal my skills as well but failed for some reason?
Let’s see…

Cat soul activate.

Cat soul+ (on)

Yep, I can still use it.
Perhaps sealing skills granted by god isn’t possible?

But then, why are my equipment pieces sealed?
This doesn’t make sense!

Ah, whatever…
At least with this, I might be able to get out, right?
It will be dangerous for everyone around here, but…

Panther soul.
I don’t know how to activate it.
But that doesn’t stop me from trying!


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment