Curse of the Kat – ch 50

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 50 – The cat is envious

Argh!
I hate the universe!
I want everyone to suffer and die!
AAAAAARGH!
Pain!
Agony!
Death!

Cat soul+ (on)

Well…
It seems like I can’t activate panther soul by imitating what I’m like when it’s active.
But how do I do it then?
What did I do last time?
I wanted to save Ignis from being crushed by that ogre…
Huh…?
Isn’t that the complete opposite?
I mean…
Acting to save someone else would turn me into an apathetic bloodthirsty killer?
What’s up with that!

Well, nevermind…
Let’s do it then.

I want to save all my friends!
I want to beat up that cat girl and put her back into prison!
And most importantly…!
I want to get out of this stupid crystal!

Cat soul+ (on)

AAARGH!
Come on!
Activate, panther soul!
Why am I the only one who can’t even utilize her skills properly?!
Kuro uses his storage like his own limbs!
And Mable is…!
Well, maybe not Mable…
I can’t say she has control over her skills when I remember her death hugs.

But still!
At least she got to pick what she got!
I got completely random ones!
Stupid Kat!
Gah!
If only I could use magic without panther soul!
Look at Ignis!
She’s the master of fire magic and she’s still so young!
In the meantime, I wouldn’t even be able to light a campfire or create a light breeze!
This is not FAIR!

Ah, did I do it?
It’s the same sensation as back then…
No, it’s a little different, isn’t it?
I…
I don’t feel like killing everyone…
I just feel a little salty…
Very salty, actually.

Well…?

Cat soul+ (Tiger soul on)

Oh, I see…
It’s the other one.
How fortunate that this one doesn’t make me want to kill everything…
It only makes me want to kill myself.

One is less than everything…
Very fortunate indeed…

Ugh…
This feels terrible.
I wanna finish this up quickly.

So, how about this?
Just like with panther soul, I naturally know how to use this ‘blaze magic’.
And how convenient…
It’s perfect for getting out of here.
Let’s start then.

I start gathering mana all over my body and slowly leak it out.
A silent sizzling sound enters my ears.

Oh, it works…
Good.
Let’s go out in a flash then.
One, two…

Argh, my eyes…
So much steam everywhere.
Thank god I can finally blink at least.
My eyes would really hurt if I still couldn’t close them.

“Wh-what?!”
Hmm?
Oh, the steam finally cleared up.
Look at you, blue catgirl.
You look very shocked.
Am I the first one to break out of your crystal?

“Meow?! Meow!”
Ah Kuro…
Are you the last one standing?
I see Deliah, Ignis, Cana… and even Mable all stuck inside crystals.
How pitiful…
Looks like Spectre booked it.
Maybe we should have restrained her as Mable suggested.
Oh well.

I make a step left and touch the crystal in which Deliah is sealed.
And just like the one I was in, it instantly turns into steam and frees her.
Though unlike me, she seems to have lost consciousness.
Dang.
I wish I was her.
I wouldn’t have to deal with this crap if I passed out.

“Ooooh… you are even more amazing than I thought! I’m keeping you for sure now!”
Ah this again.
Give me some of that positivity, will you?
Maybe I can steal some of it if I knock her out.
Let’s try that.

I jump forward.
But I can feel my speed is not what it usually is.
It seems that my equipment is still sealed even outside the crystal.
How bothersome…

“Oh, you’re coming to me again! Our love is mutual!”
Ah yes, I love you.
Now hand over your energy and enthusiasm.

My claws extend and I swing my arm.
She jumps back to avoid it.
But everything is going according to the plan.
Kuro uses the distraction I made and throws out…
A beach ball.
It hits her head from behind and she falls over.
Right into my loving embrace.

“Wh-huh?”

“Your turn.”
I stab my index finger’s nail into her neck and watch as her face pales.

Hmm, I’m sure you always wanted to find out what it’s like to be sealed in that crystal.
Well, this paralysis is a little different, but it still prevents you from moving.

Ah, but I never properly investigated when the poison kills and when it simply paralizes, did I?
Sorry, but you might die.

“Ag..hh..egh…”
Hmm, or maybe you won’t.
You look pretty paralyzed and not too dead.

“Meow…!”
Hmm?
Oh, you want me to free everyone else?
Sure, I can do that.
Or wait…
Can I?

Name: Nina
Level: 15
Strength: 30/32
Endurance: 32/33
Speed: 42/45
Magic: 9/26

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat gloves
Kat slippers
Enchanted handbag

Skills:
Cat soul+ (Tiger soul on)
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Ah, well this isn’t good.
I don’t think I’ll have enough magic to free everyone.

“I’m running low on magic… it won’t be enough.”

“… meow!”
Hey, where are you going?
Don’t just run off, Kuro…
Ah dammit.
I guess he went to fetch some magic for me…
What’s up with that?
That makes no sense.
Hmm…
Maybe he has an item that recharges magic?
That’s so convenient…
Where did you get it?
I want one too.

“Ag..hg..h…”
Well, the good news is that the poison isn’t deadly.
The bad news is…
This catgirl keeps wriggling around and making these noises.
And actually, I think she’s enjoying her predicament.
Even though she should be in pain, her face is red and she’s grinning.
Is she one of those so-called masochists?
I’m glad I got out of that crystal.
There’s no telling what this pervert would do to me…

Ah man, she seems to be having so much fun…
Not like I want to swap places with her, but still…
Even though she’s in such a situation, she’s able to have a great time…
I envy that…

“Meow!”
Ah, you’re finally back.
Hmm?
Is that Veras behind you?

“Hey again… you look different… oh, tiger soul, you say…?”
I didn’t say anything, you know?
Stop reading my mind.
Or rather…
Why don’t you give me that ability of yours?
I would make a better use of it.

“Anyway… what’s the problem here? Hmm…? Mana, is it? Sure, I can transfer some to you… I’ll use that cat then.”
Actually…
If I don’t need to talk to communicate, feel free to read my mind all day long.
It’s much easier this way.

What did you mean ‘use that cat’, by the way?

Veras approaches me holding the catgirl and touches her forehead.
In a few seconds, her incoherent grumbles disappear and she passes out.

What is this?
Don’t you have too many skills?
Super reflexes, ability to withstand my punch, mind reading and now mana transfer and putting others to sleep?
Everyone else has two at most…
This is clearly unfair.
How about you transfer one or two of these skills along with the mana to me?

“Here you go.”
Extending your hand for a handshake?
So you don’t need to touch my forehead or anything?
Dang, your skills are really convenient, aren’t they?
I wish I had some of them.
Instead of these two broken skills that only work sometimes.
Oh well…
Shake shake.
Thanks for your mana.
Hmm?
Did you really give me some mana?
I didn’t feel anything.
Let’s look…

Magic: 30/26

Oh what?
Not only you gave me mana…
It’s over the cap?
How the hell is that even possible?
This is clearly cheating.
I want your skills even more now.
Argh…
Let’s start freeing everyone, I guess…

“I’m free… That was horrible!”

“Y-yeah… no wonder Deliah and Ignis fainted.”

“By the way… what are you… doing, Nina?”

Hmm?
Me?
Don’t mind me.
I just want to dig a hole and jump inside.
That’s all.

Seriously!
I thought panther soul was bad news!
But what’s up with tiger soul?!
That negative mindset…
That constant jealousy!
It makes me wanna barf now!
I mean…
Sure, powerful abilities usually have drawbacks…
But…
Depression…?
What kind of drawback is that?!
I’m never going to use it ever again!
Not even in desperate situations!

“Well, I guess now we have to wait for them to wake up…”

“No need for that.”

Veras walks over to the unconscious girls and touches their foreheads.
In an instant, they open their eyes and jump.

“Gyah?! Wha-?!”
“What is…?!”

He can even wake people up?
That’s really too convenient…

No, stop!
I’m not jealous of it!
I just think it’s cool!
Arrrgh!

“H-hey… are you really alright, Nina?”
I’m… absolutely fine.
I just need to walk it off.


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment