Curse of the Kat – ch 53

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 53 – The cat is a hero

Name: Nina
Level: 15
Strength: 21/32
Endurance: 29/33
Speed: 38/45
Magic: 1/26

Equipment:
Kat underwear (sealed)
Kat dress (sealed)
Kat ear headband (sealed)
Kat gloves (sealed)
Kat slippers (sealed)
Enchanted handbag (sealed)

Skills:
Cat soul+ (Cheetah soul on)
9 lives (*&#$&@)

Special:
Blessing of the Kat


Where did this come from?
Cheetah soul?
I don’t remember seeing anything like that in the variants.
Did I just unlock it?
I’m confused…

And also…
This is really strange.
I didn’t notice it at all…
More like, I don’t feel any different with this active.
With panther soul, I became a bloodthirsty murderer.
And tiger soul made me seriously depressed.
But this…
I can even calmly think everything over.
That would have been impossible with the other two…

There has to be some sort of catch…
What is it…
Hmm…
I guess I do feel a little sleepy.
But that has nothing to do with cheetah soul…
… probably.
Or maybe it does?

“S-so yeah… can you turn it off now?”
Sure thing.
I’ll just wait for my magic to be depleted and-
Oh wait…

Magic: 1/26

Yeah.
This is the problem…
Unlike the other two variant souls, this one doesn’t want to go away.
Or more like, I think this turned on AFTER I depleted my magic through panther soul.
So…
Tough luck.

“I can’t.”

“Urk…”
Don’t worry about it, Ignis.
Eventually, it’s gonna go away on its own.
Or maybe it will be gone after I get a good night’s sleep.
Actually, that’s a good idea.
Sleep.
I want it.
Let’s sleep.
Who cares about an uncomfortable bedding.
Inside a cage is good enough.

“Huh? Are you alright?”

Good night.

“… Nina?!”

 

 

 

 

Ugh…
What the…
I feel like my entire body has been put through a grinder.
What happened?

Huh?

My eyes open and spot a strangely familiar, yet unfamiliar ceiling.

This…
Isn’t the inn room…
Wait!
Isn’t this the medical facility?!

I get up in a hurry and look around.

Yeah, it totally is!
Why am I here again?!
Argh…
Well, at least I can move, unlike last time.
And they didn’t steal my clothes either.

Okay, but seriously.
What happened?
Let’s think back…
I returned to the inn and saw Ignis and Cana asleep, so I also entered my own bed…

Right!
The whole prison breakout thing!
How could my brain just skip all of that?!
Okay, okay.
So how did it all end?
I…
I beat up the curse guy and Spectre.
Yes.
And after that, I put them inside a cage.
That’s good.
And then…

And then, what…?
Why can’t I remember anything after that?
Did I just fall asleep since I was so tired?
Yeah, as if!
That makes no sense!
Why would they bring me here if I simply fell asleep?!

As I yelled inside my head, I got out of the bed and made my way over to the door.
As soon as I opened the door and stepped outside, my ears immediately picked up a thud sound to my right.
And when I turned my head, I saw Ignis with her eyes wide open and her staff lying on the ground.

“N-Ninaaa!”
H-hey…
What’s with the exaggerated reaction?
Okay, okay…
You aren’t Mable, I’ll let you hug me.
But why are you crying?

“Ugh… I-I thought you would never wake up!”
Now, that’s just…

W-wait.

“How long did I…”

“You slept for four days!”

Wha-WHAT?!
Four days?!
Are you kidding me?!
That can’t even be called sleeping anymore!
That’s a coma!

B-but why?
Why did I fall into a coma?
And moreover…
How did I even survive it?
I doubt this place has the technology to keep a comatose person alive.
Wouldn’t I need that drip feed thing to keep me hydrated and stuff?

“A-anyway! Never use it again! Promise me!”
Huh?
Never use what?

“Promise! Me!”
Okay, okay!
I get it!
I don’t get it, but I get it!
Don’t frown at me with these teary eyes!

“Okay…”

“Alright!”
Oh, that’s a nice smile…

“By the way… are you fine walking already?”
Umm, right.
I’ve been out for four days.
And the only effects of that is that my whole body hurts a bit.
But that’s about it.
I don’t even feel all that hungry or thirsty.
It’s weird…

“I’m fine…”

“Are you sure?”
Hey, since when are you so worried about others?
I’m starting to doubt whether I’m really awake or this is just a dream.

“Alright, if you say so… let’s go to the guild then.”
Hmm?
The guild?
I thought I would go meet the others first.
Or are they at the guild?
Is that what you’re trying to say?

After Ignis picked up her staff, we walked down the hallway and stopped by the medic’s lounge to tell them I’m leaving.
They did some quick check-up or whatever and determined that I really am fine.
After that, we headed out of the building toward the adventurer’s guild.

“It’s been quite hectic these past few days…”
Huh?

“Explaining everything to the public, the guildmaster, the city lord…”
O-oh…
Right…
Of course, this isn’t something you could have swept under a rug, was it?
Several people with strange skills invaded the city and the underground cat base has been discovered…
What even happened to it?
Are Kuro and his cats gonna be alright?

“Times were tough for those who weren’t asleep all day…”
H-hey…
Your concerned tone is all gone.
Now it feels like you’re angry with me.

As we talked, we made our way to the adventurer’s guild.

“Now then… prepare for your punishment!”
Punishment?!
What are you-

Ignis flung the door open and everyone inside turned to us.

“Everyone! The hero has awoken!”

Huh?

“Uoo! Little missy is awake!”
“Hooray!”
“It’s a miracle!”

Wha-?!
I’m surrounded!
H-help!

Stop grinning and help me, Ignis!
Gyaaah!
What is thiiiiiiis?!
Put me down!
C-come on!
I don’t like this!
Aaaargh!

“Hey lads! I don’t think lil’lady appreciates your rough treatment!”
A-a savior?!
Thank you, sentient bear mountain guildmaster!

“S-sorry, I guess we got a little excited haha…”

Excited?
Touching me all over and tossing me into the air makes you excited?

Yeah, I think I’m just going to ignore that bit…

“Haha, well anyway, I’m glad you’re so lively lil’ lady! I was really worried about you!”
Uh, yeah.
Sure.
This very lively me just let herself be captured by these people…
Even though I should have been able to dodge all of them no problem.

“Come with me, I’ll handle your rank up right now!”
Sure…

Huh?
Wait, what rank up?

“Hmm? Did your friend not tell you? For capturing number of dangerous criminals, the city lord and I agreed you deserve a rank up to rank B!”
Wait a second!
I thought raising in rank is supposed to be difficult!
Didn’t I need to go on a really troublesome quest just to get to rank C?!

“Don’t be so surprised missy! One of them would still be quite the feat, but fending off nine dangerous criminals with just the two of you? That’s something else!”

There’s something weird about what he’s saying…
First of all…
It wasn’t just the two of us.
There was also Kuro…
Umm…
But common people won’t believe a cat has any fighting power.
And also Mable…

Who insisted on not revealing her powers to the public.
And…
Veras…
Who might have been considered one of the criminals…

Okay…
I get it.
Since Cana and Deliah are non-combatants, it really was just the two of us from their perspective.
Yes.
But…
Nine dangerous criminals?
That doesn’t add up…
We have the woman who got blown up by Ignis…
Then the mad weapon creating guy…
The blue cat, who seals skills away…
And then… Spectre and the curse guy?
That’s five at most.

Plus the three others Veras took care of.
Okay…
And if they counted Veras as one of them…
That would be a whopping nine people.
Is that what you’re trying to say?

But…
I don’t know how I feel about taking credit for all of that…

“And there ya go. Congratulations on your rank up!”
Yeah…
Umm…
Sure.
It doesn’t feel like a big achievement considering it happened on accident.
Well, the reward for capturing all of these people is pretty juicy.
I think I can live in luxury for quite some time with the money I have now.

“By the way, as a B rank, some influential people might start giving you special requests from now on, so be careful!”
Urk!
Influential people = nobles, right?
Okay, I know Deliah and her family are nice, but I bet most nobles aren’t!
If I get a request from some super self-important rich boy, then I’m definitely refusing it!

“Oh yeah. You should also go see the city lord. He’s been waiting for you to wake up.”
Ugh…!
I tripped a flag!
City lord must mean a noble, right?!
Don’t tell me he’s going to request something from me right away!


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment