Curse of the Kat – ch 54

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 54 – The cat’s friend is talkative

After I returned from the guildmaster’s room, I met up with Ignis, who was waiting for me in the main room.
We then left the guild and went back to our inn.
Yeah, the inn.
The city lord can wait.

On our way to the inn, Ignis told me about everything that happened when I was out.

First…
The secret cat base’s existence was announced to the public.
And the city lord forbid civilians from entering it while ‘his men’ were sent to investigate the place.
But…
He didn’t actually send anyone to investigate…
Because he already knew about the base.
And he knew Kuro and Veras as well.
In fact…
They apparently have some sort of deal with each other…

I don’t know what to think about this.
How much more mafia boss-like can that Kuro get?
An underground base with VIP prisoners?
Double agents hidden among the very same prisoners?
And now, secret ties to corrupt officials?!

“I was surprised too! Just what in the world is that cat?!”
I know, right?!
It just makes me wish I was able to understand cat speech more and more!
Let me interrogate that little furry!

“Oh, by the way… about mast-…err about that curse jerk…”
Did you just almost call him ‘master’?
Seriously…?
I guess old habits die hard, huh?

“It seems like you got him good… he can’t move either of his arms…”
Umm, what…?

Oh wait…
Right…
I kind of…
Full-power punched his shoulder, didn’t I…?
And then shot his other shoulder with shadow magic…
Urk…
Well, I know he was my enemy…
And I DID always dream of punching him…
But…
That was a bit overboard, wasn’t it?
He must have fainted from pain back there.

“Well, he deserved it! So, good job on that, partner!”

You don’t hold much sympathy for him, do you?
I guess that’s to be expected, considering you were under his control not too long ago…

After that, I expected Ignis to keep on talking, but she went silent instead.
She merely kept glancing at me and then quickly away again.
Almost as if there’s something she needs to bring up but doesn’t really want to…
What is it?
You are making me nervous here!
Did something bad happen, after all?!

“Hey… umm…”
There she goes…
What is it then?

“Mable and that vampire guy told me something… strange…”
Vampire guy…?
Who are you talk-
Wait, do you mean Veras?
Err…
Well, I know his face is quite pale and his red eyes are scary, but you don’t need to call him a vampire…

“They said that you… that they, you and all the prisoners and even mas-… the curse jerk are weird ‘reborn’ people or something…”
Umm…
Yeah, ‘weird reborn people’, I guess that’s one way to label us.

Also, did you just say ALL the prisoners?
Seriously?
I had my suspicions with some of them, but…
All of them?
That’s…
Kind of ridiculous…
And also quite suspicious…
It’s been not even a month since I came to this world.
And I’ve already met so many fellow reincarnators.
Is it really that common?
It can’t be…

“And Mable also told me you are… err… even weirder… the weirdo among those weirdos, she said…”
Yeah, thanks…
A weirdo among weirdos.
That’s a title I always wished I had.

“I-I’m just repeating what she said! I don’t think you are a weirdo!”

Yeah, sorry.
Cat soul turned on.
It’s a reflex at this point.
I wish the variants were as easy to turn on and off as this.

“A-anyway… is that really true?”
Hmm?
Yeah, yeah.
Of course it is.
I’m the queen of weirdos.
It’s true.

“Erk… umm…”
Don’t worry about it.
Look, it’s the inn we stayed at.
We can continue our little weirdo discussion inside.

By the way…
Didn’t you blow this place up?
Why is it still standing?
Or rather, why is it in perfect shape?

Oh…
I see…
The planks on that side have a slightly different color.
They must have patched up the hole you made in it.
That was really quick, wasn’t it?
I was out for…
Four days?
Four days to fix that giant hole?
Dang.
Good job, whoever did it!

After showing some admiration toward an unknown person, we entered the inn.
And as soon as we did, many surprised gazes were thrown at me.
Naturally, this happened on our way here as well, but I ignored all of them.
And I don’t plan on changing my strategy now!
Quickly!
Grab Ignis and sprint upstairs!
I can’t even imagine what these people want to tell me, but if it’s anything like the adventurers at the guild, I don’t want any of it!
I had my today’s fill of being thrown into the air, thanks!

“Gyhaaa?! Wha-”
Shush.
Don’t open your mouth.
You’re gonna bite your tongue.
Just shut up and enjoy the ride.

Here we are.
Our beloved inn room we had reserved.
Now let’s enter and continue our conversation about weirdos.

After Ignis stops shaking again.

“Wha-why did you do that?!”

What?
It’s not my fault!
Those people downstairs were going to talk to me!
Of course, I would run!
That’s only natural!
And I wouldn’t leave a teammate behind, now would I?

“Ugh… you are seriously just…”

“… a weirdo?”

What’s with that deep sigh and a facepalm?
You should know that talking is my weakness!
Stop judging me already!
Argh!

After a little while, we finally continued our conversation.
I ended up telling her about the whole reincarnation business.
Well…
I know that in a lot of stories where the protagonist is in a similar situation to mine, he will keep it secret at all costs.
But I don’t really see a reason why…
Just like Deliah, Ignis didn’t even seem to fully understand the concept of other worlds.
And even then, it’s not like I need to be ashamed of who I was in my previous life.
… unlike a certain someone who was probably some sort professional assassin or mass murderer in her previous life…
Or a certain cat, who continues his mafia business even in another world…

Well, anyway.
Ignis’s reaction to the fact that I set the parameters for this world was quite weak as well.
I’m guessing she didn’t get the implications…
Well, it’s fine!
You don’t need to understand!
It spares you an existential crisis like Deliah had!
All is good in the world.

As we talked, I noticed a familiar scent coming up to our room.
I looked at the door, which prompted Ignis to do the same.
The door suddenly flung open and in came the other roommate we had.

“I’m back! I heard-ugh…”
Hello Cana.
I get that we don’t really know each other very well, but there’s no need to make that kind of face as soon as you see me.

“Oh, welcome back! Look who decided to wake up!”
Don’t poke my cheek.
It’s not nice.

“Y-yeah… erm…”
Well, how is this gonna develop…?
We met a bunch of times as enemies.
And we haven’t really interacted much after her curse was broken.
So…

“I-I’m really sorry! And thank you very much!”
Wha-?!
Hey, no need to bang your head against the floor!
It’s not a big deal, okay?!
You were charmed!
Stop it already!
What am I supposed to say in this situation?!

Hmm?
What is this?
A pat on my shoulder?

“Let her do this at least… she should at least be able to atone for what she did…”

Ignis…
Your words would carry a lot more weight if you apologized to me in a similar fashion.
You are guilty of the same thing, you know?

“A-anyway… Cana’s been with that guy since the beginning.”
So she was the first one…?
Huh…

“She’s also the one who kidnapped me and-”

“I’m so sorryyyy!”

How do I resolve this situation?


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment