Curse of the Kat – ch 56

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 56 – The cat is curse-proof

Other ‘chosen ones’…?
The implications are…
We’re gonna fight each other to death, isn’t it?!
No!
I refuse!
In the first place, wasn’t it me who decided this world’s settings?
Right!
Even if these ‘others chosen ones’ exist, they have to be just some bootleg versions!
I must be the true chosen one…!

But now that I think about it…
The world isn’t exactly as I made it…
Some details are different…
I thought Kat just made adjustments himself, but…
Could this world actually be an amalgamation of all the chosen one’s settings?

Argh, dammit!
I don’t like this!
I don’t like this at all!

“Well that’s that… I have no idea what kind of mission you have… or whether you are supposed to compete or cooperate with the other chosen ones…”
Compete or cooperate…
R-right!
It’s not necessarily going to be a deathmatch!
Silly me, overthinking everything!

“With that said though… there are many of the regular reincarnators on the loose… just look how many your br- … boss encountered during his life…”
My boss…?
You mean, Kuro?
He’s not my boss!
I’m his boss…!
I think…
Anyway…
Seriously?
Are you trying to tell me all of the prisoners here were encountered, defeated and captured by Kuro alone?
This little kitty is ridiculous…

And…
‘during his life’…
Are you implying that some of these people have been locked up in here for years?
I know that they are bad people, but…
That’s a bit cruel, don’t you think?

“Well… that’s about it. Could you please turn it on again, boss?”

“… meow.”
On Kuro’s command, the wires lit up again and the creepy grin returned to Veras.
With that, he plopped back down.

I really don’t understand this guy…
Why is he so happy about having his skills sealed?

Oh wait…
I think I get why…
If his skill is mind reading and he can’t perfectly control it…
Wouldn’t that mean his mind is constantly bombarded with people’s thoughts?
Of course, you would be happy to have it turned off!

“Oh right… that part got deleted didn’t it… well, whatever you are thinking… mind reading isn’t one of my two skills…”
Oh, stop trying to confuse me now!
I mean, what else could it be?!
You always know what I’m about to say and you can even understand Kuro!

And ‘one of my two skills’…
Don’t think I’ll believe that as well!
You are basically omnipotent!
There’s no way you only have two skills!

“Well…”
He looks around the other cages before looking back at me.

“Believe what you will… now, shall we remove these stupid charms and curses?”
Hey, why can you tell what I’m thinking even with your skills sealed?!

Hmm?
Wait.
Did you say ‘we’?

“‘Energy flow’ is one of my skills… it allows me to… transfer things. Like mana, stamina… and curses too.”
Huh…
Is that so…
So it wasn’t a skill to put someone to sleep…?
You just drained away her consciousness or something?

Wait, but if you say ‘transfer’ things…
That means, someone’s gonna get cursed in their place…
Don’t tell me you are planning on dumping it all on me!

“Hmm? What’s wrong?”

“I don’t wanna get cursed!”

“… but you won’t get cursed… You absorb curses.”

Huh?

“See that girl…?”
Veras points at Spectre, still hugging the curse guy.

“Her curse is almost completely gone.”
Say what?
How did that happen?
I didn’t even do anything!

And why is she still clinging to him if it’s gone?!

“And also… that guy kept mumbling something about trying to curse you but it not working.”
No, wait…
At what point did he try to curse me?
I ambushed him and knocked him out instantly!

“So yeah… I concluded that you somehow absorb curses.”

I’m not buying it!
If you’re wrong, I will be stuck with countless curses on me!
Do not want!

“Oh, so that’s why…”

Hello Ignis.
Somehow, I forgot you and Cana came with me.
You were suspiciously silent for being Ignis.

“Hey, it makes sense, doesn’t it? The longer I spent with you, the weaker my curse became!”
Well, sure…
We already decided I have some sort of hidden curse negating ability, but…
That doesn’t mean I can’t be cursed myself!

“A-actually…”
Cana spoke up.

“Back when we first met… I dropped a cursed staff and you grabbed it… and…”

And I went through a very unpleasant experience.
Yes.

“You didn’t get cursed! R-right?!”
Well…
I didn’t, but…

“I-it was almost like you took over the curse instead…”
What the heck are you talking about?
If that thing really was cursed, I did a very bad job of negating that curse.

“That staff, huh…”
A new voice catches everyone’s attention.
It came from the cage behind Veras.
It’s the curse guy, still lying on the ground unable to move either one of his arms.
I expected him to either be angry or scared in his situation.
But for some reson, his voice didn’t show signs of either…
Only apathy and indifference.

When did he wake up?
His eyes were closed when we walked in.
Did he pretend to be asleep?

As everyone’s gaze landed on him, he turned his head to the side.
“… the curse on that staff was supposed to melt down the wielder’s body into tar, turning them into a black slime… and it clearly didn’t work on you. So, the vampire’s right.”

It was supposed to do WHAT?!
Melt me down into-?!
What the hell?!

“YOU! Y-you sick jerk! What did you give Cana to carry around?!”
I very much support your feelings, Ignis!

“Jerk? Who’s the jerk here, you traitor?”

“Gh…”
In response to his words, Ignis clenches her teeth and fists.

“I gave her a way to protect herself without having to summon anyone… is that why I’m a jerk? Not the woman who punched me as soon as I removed her curse?”
This guy…
Has a seriously twisted personality!
I mean…
What an excessive way to protect somebody!
Why didn’t you just give her a remote controller to a nuclear warhead?!

“T-that’s! I… ugh…”
Cana…
I don’t think you have to make excuses to that guy…

“… well anyway. You absorb curses. The end. Yeah… The first boss hard counters me. Thanks a lot, god.”
I really don’t know what to think about this…
Or rather, did you just call me ‘the first boss’?
What is this to you?!
A video game?!

“I-I’m sorry! I didn’t mean to punch you! I just… it came down all at once and I… couldn’t hold myself…”
You don’t need to apologize to him, Cana!
That guy’s head is messed up!

“Yeah… sure… whatever you say… it’s my fault for being so naive… for believing we could be friends and all that crap…”
You know, if you want someone to trust you, maybe you shouldn’t curse and charm everyone you meet!

“Hey, you! Stop that already!”
Holding Cana, who couldn’t stop biting her lips and staring at the floor, Ignis shouted at him.

“What is it… milady? Shouldn’t you prepare for your engagement with a certain old man…?”
These few words made Ignis back up and clench her teeth.

Milady?
Engagement with a certain old man?
The heck…?

“I… I’m thankful you pulled me out of that!”
Ignis burst out again.

“B-but… that is that and this is this…!”

“Oh is that so…? So favors have a time limit…? Is that how women work?”

“No… I… Just…”

“Whatever… why don’t you kill me already? I bet you would enj-”

“Master! Don’t say that!”
The last person still on his side clung to him with tears in her eyes.

“… you’re the last one… but you’re also going to betray me sooner or later.”

“N-no! I would never do that!”

“Sure you wouldn’t… that’s what they said too.”

“N-no! I really-”

“AHAHAHAHAHA!”

Our attention is once again drawn elsewhere.
It’s the ‘blue cat’, laughing hysterically.

“Ahaha… ah, man… you are such a loser…”
Everyone was stunned by her words.
Even the curse guy.

Wasn’t she charmed by him?
Why did she call him a loser?
Something’s off here…

“This is so funny…”
She glanced at the curse guy with a smirk.

“You cursed yourself, didn’t you? Ahahahah!”
Only her laughter echoed through the place as everyone fixated their stares on Matoto.


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment