Curse of the Kat – ch 55

Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 55 – The cat isn’t the only one

It took a while, but Cana finally stopped her endless stream of apologies.
Seriously…
Aren’t you overdoing it with that conscientiousness of yours?
Compared to Ignis, who had no remorse at all…
You two are like the polar opposites!
How do you even get along so well?!
I don’t get it!

“And guess what, Nina! Cana registered as an adventurer as well!”
Hmm?
Wait, what?
She’s an adventurer now?
How…?
Weren’t her wolves her main fighting power?

“I-I just took on one easy gathering quest…”
I see…
I guess she’s trying to start a new life, huh?
I don’t know what kind of life she had before the curse, but she probably can’t return to it anymore…
Well, registering as an adventurer is a good way to start, I think.
After all, I did the same thing, didn’t I?

But she doesn’t have overpowered equipment from god, does she?
It’s gonna be a bit tougher for her than it was for me.

“Now then! I think it’s time to think of a party name for ourselves!”
… hmm?
Wait…
Party name…?
You mean…
Us three…?

“I suggest, The ignited maidens!”
Hold on a second!
I see you sneakily including your name in there!
I disagree with this!

“Eh? Er… that’s…”
Look, Cana also has her doubts.
Or rather…
Let’s back up a step here!
Is it really a good idea to let Cana join us on our quests?
She’s pretty much a beginner when it comes to this while we are already taking out ogres!
If she could still summon the wolves then sure, but right now, the skill gap is too wide!

“What? You guys don’t like it?”
Of course not, you blockhead!
Or rather, that’s not the point here!

Hmm?
We have another guest.
But this one is too cool to use doors, apparently.

I stand up from the bed and walk over to the window before opening it.

“Meow!”
Argh?!
Kuro…!
I get that you are glad to see me again, but…!
S-stop it!
You’re messing up my hair again!

“Meow! Meow!”
Yes, yes, I get it!
Sorry for worrying you and all!

“Oh, it’s you! I haven’t seen you in a while!”
Yes, it’s the mafia boss cat, who supposedly has some deals with this city’s officials.
Man…
Who would even believe that?
I mean, look at him!
He’s rummaging through my hair, begging to be cuddled right now!
Is that what you imagine when you say ‘mafia boss’?
I don’t!

“Meow! Meow!”
What is it?
Do you want me to stroke your belly?

“Oh, he probably wants you to go to his base again…”
What?
The base?
Isn’t it supposed to be ‘under investigation’ by the city lord?
Well alright…

“Alright, let’s go then!”
Hmm?
Wait.
You too?

Heh…
Where are the times when that base was a secret one?
Nowadays, everyone can just stroll in like it’s a shopping center.

“Eh… okay…”
Cana doesn’t seem too keen on it.
Well, it’s not like she has to come along, is it?

“Meow.”
Yeah yeah.
Let’s go.

We exited the inn and headed straight for the cat base’s entrance.
It used to be hidden in a dark corner of some unnamed street…
But now…
It looks like a regular staircase leading into a cellar.
That is, if there weren’t those two guards standing in front of it.
I can’t see their expression because of their helmets, but I feel like they are staring at me.

“Meow!”

The guards don’t respond to Kuro and silently move aside.

Huh…
There isn’t even a need to talk?
That’s…
Amazing!
I wish that worked on everyone!

We walk past the two and descend into the base.
There are more unfamiliar people inside.
If my nose isn’t mistaken, there’s about twenty of them all throughout the base.

Wait…
So there ARE some people sent by the city lord.
I guess that even if he doesn’t need to investigate this place, it would be strange if he didn’t send anyone.

We walk toward the prison area once again and pass some of those people on our way there.
Just like the guards, they don’t say anything.
It’s now that I notice their expression looks a little hostile though…
What is this about?

Without getting an answer, we arrive at our destination.
The first thing I notice, is Veras.
He’s also back in his cage…
What’s up with that?
I thought his double agent role is over.
I mean…
Everyone already knows the truth, so it’s pointless to pretend.

Other than him, I see the curse guy lying in the corner of his cage with Spectre hugging him.
All of the other prisoners who escaped that night are making weird moaning and squealing noises as they notice us.
With the exception of the ‘blue cat’.
Her face turned red and she turned to the side without making a noise as she hugged her knees.
Did the poison get removed?
She doesn’t look very paralyzed anymore.

“Ah, you’re awake… perfect timing. I was really getting tired of these guys making noises.”
Oi, Veras…
I don’t know whether it’s because I have never seen you smile, but…
Your expression is a bit creepy right now.

“Meow!”
The black cat jumped from atop of my head and approached the cage Veras was in.

“Hmm? What is it boss?”

“Meow! Meow.”
Veras silently nodded to Kuro’s cat talk, still wearing his creepy smile.

Ugh…
Again, why does everyone but me understand what Kuro says?!
It’s unfair!

“You know I have no idea what you’re saying, right boss?”

Never mind…?

“Meow…”
The wires running along his cage suddenly stop glowing and Veras’ expression instantly changes to the apathy I’m so familiar with.

“Ah, dammit… well, let’s get this over with.”
Veras stands up and looks straight at me.

“So for start, everyone in these cages… except that naked little girl clinging to that guy… is a reincarnator.”
He points over his shoulder at Spectre.

“Well, you already know that.”
I do, but you shouldn’t know that I know it!
Ignis just told me about it earlier today!

“Anyway… there are two things we all have in common.”
He raises two fingers.

“First, we were all granted two skills of our choice…”
Two skills of our choice…?
Nonsense!
I didn’t get to pick anything!
I got one skill that only has drawbacks and one that I would rather never use!

“The second thing we have in common is…”
What’s with that bitter smile?

“None of us were particularly… ‘good’ people in our previous lives…”

What are you accusing me of?!
I’m innocent!

“Sociopaths, Murderers, Pedophiles, Assassins, Mad scientists… you name it.”
No!
I refuse!
I do not fall into any of these categories!

“But…”
He points his finger at me.

“You are the first exception…”

Alright!
I’m clear!

“Not only that… you even got this ‘blessing’ from a god…”
That I do.
Although, sometimes it’s more of a curse…

“In other words, you were chosen to do… something.”

Ugh, dammit!
I knew it wasn’t so simple!
‘I just want you to have fun’, my butt!

“And the rest of us, ‘scoundrels’, were meant to be your obstacles…”
What the heck…
But why?
And what is that goal that I have?!
‘Just having fun’ definitely can’t be called a divine mission!

“Last thing… what’s the name of the god who picked you up?”
Hmm?
It’s Kat.

Wait.
The way he worded it…

“Oh, Kat… same as boss then. For me, she introduced herself as ‘Nix’.”

Another god?
And wait, I heard that name before!
It’s the god worshiped in the church I visited!

“And that’s not all… from what these people said, there’s at least one more god in play here.”
Multiple gods…
Okay, I get that.
But…
What are you getting at?

“… which means, if Kat can have a chosen one, why can’t the other gods have one as well?”


Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment