Curse of the Kat – ch 9

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 9 – The cat obtains an item bag

Running away because there was a werewolf in broad daylight?
Don’t be ridiculous!
I just wanted to take a break from training and have lunch!
Yup, yup.
Everything according to plan.

But now that my belly is stuffed with noodles, what should I do?
Continue training?
I think I’ve done enough for today…
I don’t wanna overwork myself, now do I?
Hmm…
Oh, I know!
I’ll go to a library!
I’m sure there will be some books about magic!
Maybe I was doing something wrong!

Even though I should know exactly what to do since I pretty much created that system.

Well, maybe Kat messed with those settings!
That’s something he would do.
Totally.
Yes.
Let’s find a library.

 

Five gold coins for a book.

Well, books are expensive.
I should have known…
But even borrowing one is pricey.
And if it gets damaged while I’m borrowing it, I need to pay for that too…
They wouldn’t even let me peek into one…
Ugh…
I’ll save up some money, I guess.
If I borrowed a book and then it got destroyed…
And I had no money to pay reparations…
And then I would go to prison or be turned into a slave…

Okay.
Let’s stop that train of thought.

But what now…
Again, I’m left with nothing to do.
Hmm…
Oh, right!
The item bag!
I totally forgot I need one!
Let’s go to Rennack’s treasures right away!

 

The doorbell rings and I enter.
“H-hello.”

“Wel- Oh, it’s you! Welcome!”
The bearded pile of muscles smiled at me.
I still feel awkward for accusing him of scamming me.
Even if it wasn’t out loud.

“I’m back for an item bag…”
I pull out the two gold coins out of my bag.
Even if I spend both of them, I still have a few silver coins from the wolves.

“O-ho, young lady is rich now, isn’t she?”
I see a huge grin under that beard.

“Let me see what I have here…”
The man reaches under his desk and rummages through there.
After that, he pulls out two items.
A small pouch and a handbag similar to the one I already have.

“Say, how good is your magic, young lady?”
Hmm?
What an odd question to ask.
I suck at magic.
Not even the tiniest of tiny sparks come out when I try.
But how good…
He probably means the status.
Let’s see…
Status.

Name: Nina
Level: 5
Strength: 22/22
Endurance: 23/23
Speed: 30/30
Magic: 19/19

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat gloves
Kat slippers
Handbag

Skills:
Cat soul
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Oh, it seems like I’m already level five.
When did that happen?
Was it because of the kidnappers…?
Never mind.
My magic…
It’s my lowest stat.

“It’s pretty low…”

“In that case, I recommend this pouch. The bag actually has dynamic space based on the owner’s magic.”
Is that so?
But wait…
These ears increase my magic by 300%.
It’s an invisible boost.
Does that count?
Should I risk it?

“So… how much can they store?”

“This pouch here has enough space for a grown cow. And the bag is about equal if you have at least forty magic or so.”
At least forty…
If the bonus applies, I’m way over forty.
But if not…

“And… the prices?”

“The pouch will be two gold coins. The bag is a bit cheaper at hundred and eighty silver.”
And it’s even cheaper…
Ughhhh…

While I agonized over my decision, the doorbell rung again.

“Hey, Rennack! Oh…? Hello there again.”
And in came the cat-outfit-seeking pervert.
We meet awfully often, don’t we?

“Hey Vince… What, you know each other?”
“Hi.”
Please go away.
I’m making a life-changing decision here.

“Yeah, we met a few times. On that note, miss, have you thought about-”
“No!”
Reject him before he even asks.
I’m being rude?
So what!

“… haha, alright, alright. I’ll stop asking.”
Good, now go away.

“I’ll settle for buying any information about that clothing!”

What is this?
Is his AI broken?
I thought he was programmed to leave when I reject him.
What?
He’s a real person?
There’s no way a real person would only have one dialogue option!

“Oi, she’s glaring at you. You should stop that.”

“I just wanted to conduct some business…”
Maybe if I keep staring, he will leave.

“… anyway, Rennack, the reason why I’m here… I wanted to recruit you into the werewolf subjugation party.”
He’s not going away.
And he’s ignoring me.

And what is this about recruiting?

“Vince… You know these old bones of mine are already too fragile to hunt a werewolf. Search elsewhere.”
Hmm…
You used to be an adventurer or something?

Wait.
Don’t tell me he got all of these wares in his adventuring days.
That’s a lot of loot…

“Haha, I knew you would say that.”
A bitter smile.
Since when do NPC’s have emotions?

“Well, I’ll be off then. See you!”
Oh!
He finally left!
Maybe his AI just got delayed?
Anyway…
I can continue agonizing about my decision.

“By the way, why are you having a hard time deciding? Don’t tell me you have around forty magic.”
I don’t.
I have much less or way more.
Depending on if this bonus counts.

“… is it the effect of your clothes?”

“Eh?”
I let out a dumbfounded sound.
How did he know?

“Heh…”
Don’t snicker at me!

“Sorry, sorry… You see, Vince is a magician. He specializes in equipment enchanting, so he can tell if an item is good or not.”
Him?
A magician?
Seriously?

“The fact that he seemed so interested in it gave it away… so? Does it have some magic increasing properties?”

I shouldn’t carelessly give info about my abilities.
I really shouldn’t but…
I think I can trust Rennack.

“This has an invisible boost to magic.”
I point at my headband.

“… invisible boost? Hmm, no wonder Vince has an eye on it.”
He rubs his beard in curiosity.

“Then, how about we try your capacity with it?”
He puts his hand on the handbag.
Oooh…
He really is a nice guy.
Even letting me try out the goods before buying!

“Now then, pour some magic into this so it will recognize you as its owner.”

I’m done for.
Again.
Why is it that I have enough mana to scare a guard by circulating it…
But can’t ever get it outside of my body?
It’s like having a can of food, but nothing to open it with.
Is this a harassment?
Am I being teased by Kat?

“What’s wrong?”

“… I can’t use magic.”

“What…?”
Argh!
Not the pity stare!

“Everyone can use at least a bit of magic…”
Your words are like daggers.
Please stop…

“Sigh… well… Then I guess we can do the blood method.”
A message to my past self: I hate you.
If you learned how to use cat soul properly instead of being lazy, I could use it now to ease the pain.
But nope!
Picking up branches with the tail is more important!

Alright, let’s get this over with.
I take off my glove and Rennack hands me a dagger.
Is that dagger also loot from some dungeon?
It looks really interesting.
The blade is curved and shiny and-

Yeah, I’m stalling.
So what?
Pain is painful.

Ugh, fine.
It will quickly regenerate anyway.

Close my eyes.
Stab that finger.
Ouch…
Open my eyes.

There is no wound.
What…?
I’m quite sure I…

“That’s some impressive regeneration… is that also the effect of those clothes?”
… it instantly regenerated?
Seriously, are you kidding me?
Do I HAVE to do the violent stab again?

The regeneration is the underwear’s doing.
Like hell I’m taking it off right now!
But either that, or even more pain!
What is with this cruel choice?

Close my eyes again.
Stab a little stronger.
Owowow…
Open my eyes.
A drop of blood drips onto the bag and it shines.
… phew.

“Alright, now let’s try to cram stuff into it.”
And so we did.
Two tables and five chairs.
That’s how much fit inside.
I think the invisible boost works.
Well, that settles it.
I’m buying this bag.

I pulled the stuff back out and paid Rennack.
Then, I pulled out the rest of my money and put it in my new bag.
And since I didn’t want to awkwardly ask if I can resell the other bag, I also kept it inside the new one.

With that, I have obtained a way to transport wolves without having to scrub dirty carts.
It’s amazing.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

One thought on “Curse of the Kat – ch 9

  1. I do believe that a property foreclosures can have a important effect on the client’s life. Home foreclosures can have a 8 to 10 years negative impact on a borrower’s credit report. A borrower who have applied for a mortgage or any kind of loans for example, knows that the particular worse credit rating will be, the more tough it is to get a decent mortgage loan. In addition, it can affect a borrower’s ability to find a decent place to let or hire, if that gets to be the alternative homes solution. Great blog post.

    Like

Leave a comment