Curse of the Kat – ch 10

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 10 – The cat and the night raid

I wanted to go and hunt some wolves since I had a way to transport them now.
But as expected, it was getting a little late.
Well, it’s not like I can’t go…
But the werewolf comes out at night.
I don’t want to meet Mr. werewolf.
What if he sniffs out I killed a lot of wolves and swears revenge on me?
That’s how it usually goes, right?
Well, I’m not fighting him!
The subjugation party can take care of it!

I guess I’ll just eat some dinner and then return to the inn.
How about… this place.
I can smell something nice in there…

 

Hmm, I need to make a mental note of this shop.
That soup was really good.
I’ll come again~
Now, back to the inn.

Walk.
Endure stares.

Isn’t that the NPC pervert over there?
Oh, and Harold is with him as well.
Three other people I don’t recognize.
Is that the subjugation party?
Let’s greet them.

Or not.
I don’t mind greeting Harold, but that other guy…
I’ll just avoid them.
Yep, just walk out of the main street and take a detour.
Though, this backstreet is quite narrow.
Moreover, it’s damp and dark in here…
It’s like the perfect place for…

“Heheh, hello there little girl…”
…kidnappers.
Not now, Mr. kidnapper!
I’m trying to avoid social interaction!
Argh, why do you have the same scent as regular people?
If you had a different scent, I could have detected you before this happened.
Oh well…

One on each side.
They are awfully good at cornering people, aren’t they?
I wish you used your talent in a different way…

I guess I’ll just punch them out.

 

“Just come along nicely and-”
Punch.
That knife of yours is useless if you are too slow to use it.
Punch.
You too, wipe off that grin off your face.

Well, that’s done.
I guess I’ll go turn them in for some money…?

“Hey! What happened here?”
Oh Mr. gua-

You are not guards.
You are the subjugation party.
My effort to avoid you was in vain.

“Kidnappers.”
I point at the two collapsed men.
I wanted to leave right after that, but got caught up in a conversation.
Praise for defeating these two.
Warnings to be careful.
And more nagging about my clothes from the NPC pervert.
And then I had to go with some city guards because of the kidnappers.
More testifying…
Please give me a break.

Eventually, I was finally allowed to leave.
I even got four big silver coins for capturing the kidnappers, so it’s alright.
It’s a necessary time spent to earn money.
Just think of it as work.
Some people sit at a desk for a few hours.
I testify for a bit.
We both get paid.
My job title is ‘kidnapper bait’, apparently.

But thinking about it, why are there so many damn kidnappers?
They even act in broad daylight.
It’s ridiculous.
Did I mess up the world settings?
It’s supposed to be peaceful and nice!

Well, I mean…
There aren’t any wars, so technically, it’s peaceful.
But I guess little rats like this will always be around, huh?

 

Back at the inn.
Lying on my bed.
It’s still early evening and I’m not too tired.

I hope they can take down that werewolf.
And I wonder who that werewolf is…
Supposedly it’s a regular human, who transforms at night.
But then, why did it appear for the first time last night?
Did the cursed person arrive here last night?
Or has someone JUST been cursed?
Hmm…

Well, whatever!
I’ll leave it to the subjugation party.
It’s time for me to practice cat soul in case of future finger pricking.

 

 

What was that?
A howl?
Was that the werewolf?
That’s scary.
It gives me the chills.
I bet they have already engaged with him.

They can defeat him… right?

Why am I getting worried now?
I said I would leave it to them, didn’t I?
Yep, I want nothing to do with that beast.

 

Someone keeps shouting outside my window.
Is it a drunkard?
Shut up!
I can’t sleep!
And tell your dogs to shut up too!

Wait.
Dogs?
No, those aren’t dogs, are they?!
Why are wolves in the city?!

Get up.
Dress myself.
Leave the room.
Sprint downstairs.

“What’s going on?!”
Even though it’s the middle of the night, there are people on their feet.
Everyone has a serious expression.

“Wolves are sieging the city!”
Wolves are… what?!

“You should return to your room and wait until it’s safe!”
Like hell I’m doing that!
Not until I figure out what’s going on!

Was it the howl…?
Did the werewolf call for help?
This wasn’t supposed to happen!
The werewolf was supposed to be defeated by the party!

“Let me out.”
I walked toward the door and opened it.

“Wait just a second! It’s dangerous out there!”
Someone caught my arm.
Go away.

Pull him closer and ‘gently’ hit his stomach.
After he collapses, leave the inn.
Ignore the others as they try to say something.

But, what is this?
As soon as I walk outside, I notice a black wolf chasing three people.
I instinctively dash forward and claw out the wolf’s side.

“N-Nina?!”
Hmm?
Oh, aren’t you the adventurer trio?
What are you doing, running away from wolves?
You are supposed to fight them!

“What happened?”

“I-I don’t know! Wolves suddenly came… came from the forest a-and gukch… invaded the city a-and…!”
I know I was the one to ask, but calm down Betty.
Your breathing is ragged.
And seriously, what is up with that?
Wolves are actually sieging the city?
You can’t be serious!

As I talk to them, I notice something strange happening to the wolf I just killed.
Smoke came out of it and the body gradually disappeared.
That… was not a real wolf.

“The werewolf’s summon…?”
My mutters reached their ears.

“The werewolf…”
“Is it his doing…?”
“I heard they failed to kill it but…”

They failed…?
The subjugation party failed?
What does that mean?
Don’t tell me they all…

“I’m going.”

“Huh? Wai-”
I dash out before they can say anything.
My destination is the city gate.
I encountered four more fake wolves along the way and defeated them.
And when I finally got to my destination…

“Gaaaaaah!”
It was mayhem.
Guards, adventurers and even some civilians.
They all desperately defended the city.
Among them…
Was the subjugation party.

“Hey! What happened to the werewolf?!”
I said as I joined the fray.

“Y-you?!”
Yes, me.
I have a name, you know?

Slash.
Pierce.
Stomp.

“H-hey, who the hell is that girl?”
“A beast girl…?”
“So strong…”
Let’s ignore their reactions.
I don’t think we will be able to talk until this situation is taken care of.

But even if I say that, the black wolves just keep on coming!
Just how many of them are there?
And where is the werewolf?
Is he going to suddenly jump at me when I’m off guard?
Well, let’s be on guard at all times then!

 

The last wolf finally falls as the morning sun rises.
The werewolf never came.
I want an explanation.
And then sleep.
Lots and lots of sleep.

“Thanks a lot, Nina. You really saved us…”
No problem, Harold.
Let’s say this is me paying back for the whole poison thing.

“So? What happened?”
Interrogation time.

He glances at the NPC pervert and the other three.
They approach me and start their explanation.

Long story short, the werewolf was stronger than they anticipated.
One of the party members almost died in that fight.
In the end though, with the help of a few other parties, they managed to corner him.
And that’s when he let out that loud howl.
They thought it was just a desperate attempt to intimidate them.
But they were proven wrong.
As the yells and screams originating at the city gate reached them, they realized what just happened.
The werewolf called for backup.
But surprisingly, instead of using that chance to annihilate them, he fled.
Because of the black wolves overrunning the city, giving a chase was out of the question.
The city’s defenses took priority.

“So. The werewolf is still out there.”

“Yes…”
Don’t look so frustrated.
At least there weren’t any casualties.
… which is quite surprising considering what happened.

But, I guess I’ll have to join them next time, huh?
I can’t really refuse at this point.
There go my futile attempts to avoid a mandatory event…
Well, this isn’t a game, but still…


My eyes are drooping.
Let’s go sleep.


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment