Curse of the Kat – ch 11

 Previous    Table of contents    Next


Chapter 11 – The cat at the strategy meeting

Good morning.
Or afternoon.
… or evening?
No, the sun is still up.
I didn’t sleep through the entire day.

After the whole city siege ordeal, I went back to the inn.
I’m pretty sure there were some uncomfortable stares from the other residents and the inn lady, but I ignored them.
I went straight to my room and slept.
I didn’t even take off the dress and slippers as I usually do.

But I can’t keep sleeping.
I promised to meet up with the subjugation party at the guild after I get some sleep.
We are supposed to discuss our strategy against the werewolf.
Or rather, I will listen to what kind of strategy they have and try to adapt to it.
Well, let’s go.

Get up.
Leave the room.
Lock the door behind me.
Walk downstairs.

Hmm, I’m hungry…
It’s not morning anymore, but…
The lodging costs DID include breakfast, so…

“Can I still have some breakfast?”
You don’t need to jump in surprise, inn lady.
It’s not like I’m a ghost.

“Y-yes! We’ll prepare something right away!”

Or maybe I am?
No way.
I don’t remember dying.
But why else would she be so scared?
Ugh, let’s sit down for now.

Hmm?
Hmmmm?
So the inn lady isn’t the only one?
As soon as I look at someone, they avert their gaze.
What’s happening?
Is my hair messy?
Doesn’t seem like it…
Then, what’s their problem?

The ‘breakfast’ arrived.
It’s bread and fruits again.
Whatever, it’s food.
Munch it down and leave the inn as soon as possible.

Mhm…
The sun is right above me.
It’s noon already.
I better hurry up.

Walk through the streets.

No stares.
More like, only subtle glances are directed at me.
Just like at the inn, as soon as I glance over, their eyes wander off.
What’s up with that?
That’s even worse than being stared at!
Did something happen?

Maybe because of what I’ve done yesterday?
They don’t think of me as some genocidal maniac, do they?
I just killed the wolves!
And they weren’t even real wolves!
They were just summons!

 

Finally at the guild.
Let’s enter.

“Oh! Ni…na?”
Yes, it’s me.
What’s with that pause, Harold?

“Did… something happen?”
Yeah, everyone is acting weird.

“Something wrong?”
Answers please.
Continuing to stare is not an answer.

“… well it’s fine, I guess.”
No, it’s not.
Tell me what’s wrong, dammit!
Ugh!
Whatever!

The whole thing ended up being brushed aside and the discussion started.
It seems like one of the members was missing though.
Still asleep?
Well, we fought until the morning, so it can’t be helped.
Even without him, the discussion went on.
It seems like I will be in charge of distracting the werewolf while trying to poison him.
And in case he summons wolves again, I will aid the city defenses while they continue their fight.
That’s a lot of tough jobs.
You seem to trust me an awful lot.
I’m still just an F rank adventurer, you know?
Hmm?
The way these ranks are handed out is really stupid, you say?
Well, I don’t disagree.
If a rank is supposed to indicate strength, it’s way off.
Since I’m an F rank, that ugly old guy should have been Z rank and not C.

The talk went on.
Eventually, the talk shifted to the backup strategy in case the wolves would be summoned.
Since it didn’t involve me anymore, I just sat there, bored.
Out of that boredom, I chanted…
Status.

Name: Nina
Level: 11
Strength: 28/28
Endurance: 29/29
Speed: 38/38
Magic: 24/24

Equipment:
Kat underwear
Kat dress
Kat ear headband
Kat gloves
Kat slippers
Enchanted handbag

Skills:
Cat soul (On)
9 lives

Special:
Blessing of the Kat

Oh, it seems like I leveled up a bit last night.
Hmm…

Wait.
Why does it say (on) next to the cat soul.
Don’t tell me…
It’s been activated from the moment I woke up?
Or maybe even since that siege?
That would explain why people looked at me like I was some dangerous beast…

But why?
It usually turns off after I’m done fighting.
It’s not supposed to stick around.
Well, I should turn it off now…
But how do I do that?
It was always automatic.
Did something break?

“Oh…? She’s back to normal.”
I did it.
But I’m still not quite sure what I did.

“Sorry… about that.”

“It’s fine… is that a skill?”

“Yeah…?”
Is it surprising?
Everyone did an ‘Oohh…’.
I’m pretty sure skills aren’t that rare.
Unless Kat changed that too.

“That’s quite amazing… I guess that’s part of why you are so strong.”

“… skills aren’t that rare, are they?”

“No, not really.”

“Then…”

“But transform type skills are.”
Oh… I see.

“Yeah, yeah! It’s super rare! I’ve only seen one other guy with a transform type of skill!”
One of the other party members chimed in.
He seems a little too excited considering I’m the one with that skill and not him.

“What did that skill do?”
I’m curious.

“Hmm, well, it made the guy really sturdy but also slowed him down.”
So, something like a tank mode?
Cool…
Although, I wouldn’t want a skill like that.
I rely on my speed.

“By the way, how did you get that ski- OW!”
He got smacked.

“Don’t go prying like that! You know the adventurer code!”
Well, I wouldn’t tell anyway.
But thanks, magician lady.

“S-sorry… I just got really curious…”
Well, anyone would.
After all, knowing the conditions to acquire a skill is already halfway to getting it.
But I bet the requirements for this skill involves Kat, so…
It’s impossible for you to get it.

“By the way, what is it called? And what exactly does it do?”
Didn’t you say prying is against the adventurer code just a second ago?
Well, I guess it’s fine to tell them…

“Cat soul. It says it turns me into a wild animal… and boosts agility.”

“So that’s why it felt so… never mind.”
Felt so what?

“Yeah! Even though you are a girl, you didn’t look cute at all! OUCH!”
He got smacked again.
Can I do it too?
Something about him ticks me off.

“H-hey I’m sorry! I said too much! Please calm down!”

Cat soul turned on again.
Seriously, why is it so easy to activate now?
Let me turn it off…

“T-thanks…”

Shortly after that, the last party member finally arrived.
It was a woman, who seemed to be a bow user.
So we have:
Two warriors, two mages, one archer and one…
Umm, what exactly am I?
I’m not really a warrior…
Since I rely on speed, I’m something like a rogue or a thief class?
Maybe ninja?
I DO have these gloves, which are amazing assassination tools…
Let’s say rogue, I guess.

So, is this a balanced party?
I have no idea.
I’m a loner.
What would I know about party composition?

The discussion gradually drew to a close and we parted ways.
We agreed to meet up again at the guild before sunset.

So, what now?
I don’t really want to leave the city and go hunting.
And I’m not that hungry yet.
Hmm…
Hmmmm…
How do I kill time…

As I stand outside the guild and glance around the buildings, a thought hits me.
I heard that the werewolf was able to climb houses and jump on top of roofs.
If that ever happens I will need to chase him.
And for that, should try doing the same as him.
That’s right!
It’s not like I’m doing this just for fun!
This is a serious research for the upcoming battle!

With that said, I can’t let people see me.

Once again, I find a dark alleyway without any people.
This time… no kidnappers!
Hooray!
Alright then, activate cat soul…
Hrrg…

Cat soul (on)

Success!
It’s a good thing I realized I can just look into my status to find out whether it’s activated or not.
Why didn’t I think of that when I was training?
Stupid past me.

Now then…
I’ve always wanted to properly use it ever since I have arrived in this world.
Jump!
And double jump!
Yes!
I’m flying!
And jump again!
And jaaargh!

I crashed into a wall and fell back down.
Why can’t I do it even with cat soul?
This isn’t fair!
I want my double jumps to work!
I won’t stop until I can reliably do at least one air jump!


 Previous    Table of contents    Next

Leave a comment